2011 may come earlier than expected

Shull

At first, i didn't really bother about the above news..until i saw this..

PM Lee says S'pore's Budget to be brought forward to January 2009

By S.Ramesh, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 16 November 2008 1232 hrs

SINGAPORE: Singapore's Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has announced that the country's Budget statement will be brought forward to January next year. The budget is usually delivered by the Finance Minister in February.

Mr Lee said the government is working out the best combination of measures for the coming Budget with the aim of not just helping Singaporeans with the present downturn but also to build up strength for the future.

He was speaking at the People's Action Party conference on Sunday.

Mr Lee who is also the party's Secretary-General noted that the present economic situation will last for some time and it cannot be cured with a singe dollop of medicine.

He added that there is a need to watch how it unfolds and a need to measure out Singapore's response and adjust policies accordingly.

Mr Lee also gave a glimpse of the measures that would be announced by several ministries in the coming weeks to help both individual and businesses tide over the current economic climate.

He noted that the government has already suspended land sales to curb over supply in the property market.

Tripartite partners comprising employers, unions and the government , have also come up with a new programme called SPUR or Skills Programme for Upgrading and Resilience which will capitalise on the continuing education and training programmes and job matching.

There will also be financing help for Small and Medium Enterprises.

Mr Lee stated that many companies are basically sound but banks are tighter with loans in the current climate.

Mr Lee said the government will enhance its financing schemes to ensure there is continuous access to credit and ministries will announce details this week. - CNA/vm

Source: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin.../390194/1/.html

early budget day so that can announce the giving out of the sweetener for erection? [lipsrsealed][rolleyes]

Edited by Shull

same tactics as during the last 90s downturn. but don't forget people are also different now, better educated and more internet savvy. They better be prepared to face the backlash for what they unleashed on the common folks after the last GE

will we see a similar outcome to our northern neighbours? [sly]

rebate or angpows or not..i made up my mind to switch to the 'dark side' liao.. [sly][sly]

Edited by Shull

sure have one lah. else how to guarantee the votes of the 66.6%?

since its given, take first loh. u never know when the electricity and water tariffs are going up u know? [sly]

this one hard to say lah ... to get more economical of scale to combat the pending recession, we may even see 8 or 10 member GRCs in the next GE. [laugh][laugh]

Edited by Xefera

there is absolutely no need to; they don't need an "increased mandate" to do what they want to do;

in terms of absolute vote counts, that is irrelevant, and in any case, they will not better their results the last time, it will probably be worse. in terms of seats, hougang will not change hand; and in potong pasir you let Chiam vote again when the man will probably be a lot more frail come 2011.

it's also a big waste of resources and energy.

the only reason why they will call one now is unless they really foresee 2011 to be seriously seriously bad., which means if they call for the election, we are probably going to see really really bad times for a while....

early budget day so that can announce the giving out of the sweetener for erection?

No lah, they just wan to do it before end Jan, so that they can get to enjoy the CNY [laugh][laugh][laugh]

It will be more of package to address recession, ie to business rather than personal handover. Dun foresee election sooner, after all the recent price hike.

rebate or angpows or not..i made up my mind to switch to the 'dark side' liao.. sly.gifsly.gif

ahhh running dog.... ang pao take liao vote otherslaugh.gif

[lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed]

dun even know can vote onot..last erection, my side walkover..

Edited by Shull