Donut Supercharged November 10, 2008 Share November 10, 2008 hi anyone done transitions lens recently? i asked ard few optical shops.... cheapest is $180 for lens only. any shop to recommend? i think the new transitions lens is better than the older one. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged November 10, 2008 Share November 10, 2008 i paid $380 for transition plus airwear 2nd generatn n that is just LENS only. wait till i collect my specs then give u FR Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic November 10, 2008 Share November 10, 2008 go novena II. i tink at 4 th or 5th floor where the food court is. There is a optical shop there. The boss is frendly and he charges 180-200 for lens & frame Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear November 10, 2008 Share November 10, 2008 the boss quote me 100 for lens only.. but then the design is really limited here for the specs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged November 10, 2008 Author Share November 10, 2008 $380??? why so ex??!! what's airwear 2nd generation? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged November 10, 2008 Author Share November 10, 2008 where's this shop that quoted $100? i can re-use my current frame for the transition lens. frame is still new. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged November 10, 2008 Author Share November 10, 2008 novenan II? ok, bro. thanks!!! gonna to check it out is it the latest transition lens? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear November 10, 2008 Share November 10, 2008 Lee Meng at queensway. my transitions cost $140 for normal index. got some shops at queensway selling china-made photochromic lenses (transitions is a BRAND of PC lens) for as low as $90. but i'd go with the $140 ones not sure if it's as good as the more expensive ones but my transitions can last over a yr no issues. over 2 yrs they do not get as dark, and do not fully clear up. also take longer to perform the "transition" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adawang 1st Gear November 10, 2008 Share November 10, 2008 (edited) Quote hi anyone done transitions lens recently? i asked ard few optical shops.... cheapest is $180 for lens only. any shop to recommend? i think the new transitions lens is better than the older one. Just got back from the optical shop transition lens is $240 - lens only I spent $1,890 for 4 pairs. Frames 1-Oakley frame plus tinted lens with degree, multi coated, high index $690 2-Sting frame plus tinted lens with degree, multi coated, high index $450 3 Emporio Armani frame plus transition lens with degree, multi coated $460 4 normal frame plus lens with degre, multi coated, high index $290 Edited November 10, 2008 by Adawang Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pes70 Neutral Newbie November 10, 2008 Share November 10, 2008 I got a question...does it work inside the car, meaning does the lens turn dark, bcos I suspect if the car window block UV, then there may not be enough UV to make the lens change color. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adawang 1st Gear November 10, 2008 Share November 10, 2008 tints according to the amount of uv light present. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gs300999s Clutched November 10, 2008 Share November 10, 2008 mine does not turn dark in the car, but then again my car film quite dark, dunno that is the reason or not. Even super sunny it does not turn dark at all! I sort of regret doing transition lens as it will never go back to total clear. Its always slightly dark even in darkness no light at all, so look a bit HEOW IMHO ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged November 10, 2008 Author Share November 10, 2008 wow... $240 sounds ex leh... u did 4 pairs, shld have press for more discounts!! hee Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
M5m3 1st Gear November 10, 2008 Share November 10, 2008 no it does not work in the car. was informed by an optician when i was considering making a pair too. i always look out for those frame that comes with clip on shades - limited range. I ever looked all over singapore just to find such frames.one common brand is 'Plus Minus' from japan. the clip on shade fits nicely Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adawang 1st Gear November 10, 2008 Share November 10, 2008 didnt compare, dunno if cheap or not thing they have different lens brands with different prices Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged November 10, 2008 Author Share November 10, 2008 u shld be happy that yr lens can't change colour in yr car. this will prove that yr window films are doing its job by blocking out the harmful UV from you imagine u pay $$ for the films and realise tat its not doing a good job?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adawang 1st Gear November 10, 2008 Share November 10, 2008 I dun wear specs, for my family Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear November 10, 2008 Share November 10, 2008 Quote where's this shop that quoted $100? i can re-use my current frame for the transition lens. frame is still new. its at this small optical shop at teck whye. Its opposite the cck community center... on the same row with the kopi tiam there. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...