Hoggers think he is right

Hoppie24

Agree with you. Some are really $#$*@#*@( pushers and seem to take a lot of glee in making the car in front nervous and hence, more prone to making mistakes.

The last straw for me, though, is that it is simply not enough that I obey traffic laws and quietly put up with people breaking them. I'm now so harassed on the road that I have to break them myself.

Take, for example, a common experience I have on expressways. I have been tailgated, "high-beamed" and even honked at when I was travelling at the stipulated speed limit on the extreme right lane of expressways.

In short, I'm basically harassed and taunted for obeying the law.

once again... taking quotes from articles out of context [rolleyes] at first I did think the writer was in the wrong trying to propagate "i'm at the speed limit, so i ought to stay in Lane 1." but on reading the full article, it does show a different story!

she did qualify immediately after that (which was obviously ignored by some people here):

Actually, the only reason why I even travel on the extreme right lane is that I am forced there by road hogs on the centre lane.

These include lorries packed to the gills and huge gravel-transporting trucks travelling at a mind-numbing 60kmh on a highway with a 90kmh limit. These vehicles are supposed to be travelling only on the left lane.

we've all been there. if it's a crowded highway, and you are on Lane 1 but you can't get out onto Lane 2 because heavy vehicles or slower vehicles maintain very close distances between themselves. so in reality, she is overtaking the "road hogs on the centre lane" - which is technically the correct thing to do.

what she is griping about is that even in such situations, tailgaters come up and high-beam/horn/etc to ask her to do the impossible. if it's fairly smooth flowing traffic, then she should certainly be sent to the gallows. but otherwise, it's the tailgaters who should be punished for such uncalled aggressiveness.

it's sad and true, but there are many arseholios who are like this.

Edited by Kyojin

No need to tap ur brakes, just on your headlights, no brainers will thought you are doing ebrake and will ebrake as well. By the time, u are far far away liao, good luck to the ones behind her...TAT'S WHY NEVER TAILGATE SUCH DRIVERS! CUT THEM OFF FROM THE LEFT INSTEAD!

I dun tap my brake if there is a chain behind her, cannot sabo others too. This kinda hoggers, they will not switch lane even if you tailgate. They are too busy thinking to themselves that they are at the speed limit and others are breaking the law. They think they are driving "Expressway Patrol" and enforcing the law. If I need to overtake, I will do it my own way lor.

yes there is truth in what you said.

but let me draw up a scenario for you. what if the left and middle lanes are occupied by trucks, lorries, vans like you would imagine the female writer wrote about? and then if she were to overtake on the extreme right at 90kmh. But all the other vehicles on the middle lane are already at or near 90kmh. that would mean she is only a good 10kmh faster at best, and we know how much faster that is.

also, many know how poor female drivers are at lane changing. assume she dare not change lane back unless there is a 5 car length gap at the very least and will do so slowly. and she is a P-plater right? that would really cause slow traffic.

although i condemn her attitude due to the above assumed reasons, my reason is that she should really avoid the overtaking lane if her driving skills are not up to scratch to change lane confidently and safely.

Actually, she is hitting at both tailgaters and road hoggers with a single salvo.

Give her a break man. At least she is "Man", or "Lady" enough to write on national papers about road hoggers, and still get published.

I'm sure hundreds have written to ST about road hogging, but their articles being deemed not serious enough for national concern, whereas tailgating gets most of the limelight.

Road hoggers are always the winner, be it during TP speeding crackdown, E-brake crashes, and spoiling people's day, and killing sons and daughters in ambulances with their nonchalance driving.

The author did a public good this time. I really hope there will be a shift in TP's focus to our road network efficiency levels. Surely, efficiency ain't at the top of the hoggers' mind

Edited by Sturtles

Aiya, there will always be self-righteous newbie driver like her. Cos they are fresh out from driving school, they like to point out this and that on the roads.

For a reporter she is an airhead.

20081107.102650_road_bully_speeding.jpg

for your infor, picture of the ROAD HOGGER!

next time see her on expressway, time to CLAIM NEW BACK BUMPER

Btw, she has claimed many lives on the road beware!!! Even TP can't stop this woman from killing innocent people,dying patient young and old, rushing parents, sons and daughters attending to what god knows....she has forced and drove many drivers into frustration causing them to either follow or overtake her. "Careful" she claims as one wrong risky overtaking maneuvers will sent them to eternal hell. She likes lane "1" as she wants to be the number "1" road hogger of Singapore [shakehead]

talking about road hoggers, ytd afternoon i was travelling on ecp towards changi. There was this lady driver on lane 1 doing about 90-95km/h. i was in lane 1 behind her and her front was clear. so i waited behind for quite some time, from about the entrance of AYE to ECP until near the erp coming up. i on right signal to tell her to let me pass but she like no reaction. then sometimes for no reason when reaching mild turn (the left turn after the entrance to ECP) she will tap brakes and can see her car very jerky.hur.gif sometimes she even brake hard when there's no reason to. its like when got mild turn she will brake, then let go, brake etc.

i flashed my headlights at her still no reaction, then decided to overtake from left just before sheares bridge, saw she like holding the steering quite tight, and there were many people in the car. after going down the bridge then she took lane 2.furious.gif

think the lady driver is too engross in her driving. These are inconsiderate drivers, perhaps hext time you can horn her to give her a wakeup call [smash] ...

How to tell between a hogger and tailgater ?

You are a hogger when pple are able to overtake you from the left. If there is enough space for pple to take u on the left, there is enough space for u to move in the first place.

You are a tailgater when there is no way for the car in front of you to move to the left but u still push the car forcing him/her to drive faster.

I agree with you [thumbsup] Good definition,

However, what happens if everybody is traveling on the rightmost lane at the speed limit? and some idiot tailgater comes behind you up close when obviously you have no space to maneuver? I meet this sort of idiot everyday more than the road hoggers. Most of them when opportunity arises they cut to the middle lane, and then try to overtake you, when the space in front of you is so little already. I never give chance to such idiots.

yo, bro, i agreed with u [thumbsup], and doing the same thing too [;)] whenever I'm on expressway on lane 1 (right most lane), if i'm cruising at the speed limit (90 kmh), and some idiot try to tailgate me, or high beam me, i will ignore them, becos traveling at the right speed limit is not consider as road hogger.

but if behind me is taxi uncle, then i will siam far far, cos they are very dangerous [lipsrsealed]