Wheeler Neutral Newbie June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 Went around 6 years back . . . . its one of those ' go once and forget about it place '. . ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic June 28, 2010 Share June 28, 2010 I stayed overnite a couple of yrs back. Really nothing much to do at nite. Boring... As mentioned before, a half day would be just fine for some photo shoot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched June 29, 2010 Share June 29, 2010 Actually can go there for a one-off experience lah.......... Go there see see look look and take some pics for memories. Anyway, KL and Genting is just nearby Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 29, 2010 Share June 29, 2010 true also......maybe next time i go genting, will frop by there for 1/2 day for photoshoot, bunny feeding...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged June 29, 2010 Share June 29, 2010 i actually shoot a complaint letter to them the last time i went. alot of places not opened and i was not informed prior to the trip. in the end stayed in the hotel for the whole day. they didnt even reply my letter. poor management Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Puteh Clutched July 2, 2010 Share July 2, 2010 actually can give this place a miss. nothing much happening, expensive and not maintained well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged July 2, 2010 Share July 2, 2010 actually can give this place a miss. nothing much happening, expensive and not maintained well. and the service sucks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greyminswift 1st Gear April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 I was there with 3 friends over the Good Friday for a 3D2N stay. Thought I should give a short review General - This is a resort with a French castle-like theme, but the "french" feel is tacky and falls short of expectations. The French feel only extends superficially to the exterior looks of the hotel as well as the names for some of the restaurants and stores. Layout - Colmar Tropicale is the resort - about an hour's drive after exiting the highway (near Genting), with a 30-mins winding drive even after passing the first guard post. Facilities like a 18-hole golf course, sports club (bowling, archery, etc), japanese village, adventure park (for rock-wall climbing and canopy walk), rabbit/animal farm, horse-riding, organic farm, etc. Front Desk - not a long wait for check-in with up to 4 counters open, but the process was a bit longer than we would have liked. Rooms - booked 2 superior rooms with twin beds. For mine room, it was a corner unit so the layout was odd, and not optimised for a twin bed set-up, so there was limited room to walk around in. Bed was hard, so no plus point there. Basic amentities - old TV, basic flask to boil water, simple toiletries, toilet feels aged with old style mosaic tiles. Room was recently painted, so the smell of paint was annoying, but not enough to overwhelm/poison the guests (i hope!). Only good thing was that it wasnt located on a capark level. Room service plates often not cleared promptly - so in morning will see dirty plates outside ur neighbour's doors - thumbs down for lack of professionalism. Food - Breakfast buffet - simple mix of Asian and Western, but no dishes that makes u want to jump of bed. decent egg station. on second day breakfast - spotted a big bug savouring the vegetarian curry, but the staff were quick to clear the curry after drawing their attention to the bug. Breakfast buffet ends rather early at 11, but the bad thing is some of the more popular stuff (e.g. yogurt) gets depleted early without any restocking. at the very least when buffet is about to head, the staff makes the effort to inform each table. French cuisine restaurant - their flagship "french-feel" restaurant, but food was only so-so, with prices that only a Singaporean/foreigner can stomach at the good exchange rate - try up to 55RM for the most atas dishes. Decent service, but english fluency of staff was average. Good thing was the fresh hot piping bread they were kind enough to prepare each time we asked, even after we finished the main course. Japanese cuisine at Japanese village - this is located at the japanese village nearer to the peak, so a climb up there solely for the Jap cuisine is not for the faint-hearted. Driver wanted to have dinner on the first night there, but we climbed the peak only to find that it was closed (a later check with the front desk we found that the restaurant was closed for the day...). Went there the second day for lunch - prices again were okay only due to the good exchange rate. The lunch sets were quite filling, defying our low expectations. Can try the chawamushi and green tea ice-cream. Be sure to check with front desk beforehand on their opening hours before making the climb up there. Attractions/Facilities Japanese village - nothing much to see here, unless you are into plants (Botanical gardens) or enjoy plonking down cash for a tourist trappy Japanese tea demo/kimono photo-op. A good view of the valley (plus the japanese restaurant) might justify the climb (two ways up from the carpark / shuttle drop-off point - a semi-completed and narrow staircase versus a treacherous ~60degree 200m slope climb), but a thing to avoid with old folks and young kids. Rabbit/Animal Farm - good entertainment for young and old. features a enclosure when you can get it to pet and feed the rabbits. (although the pet-lover might squirm at seeing how other kids run, scream and try to manhandle the rabbits). Also features some deer, including a friendly young deer allowed to roam the grounds and ever so willing to feed on the animal feed brought from the reception. Golf Course / Sports Centre / Adventure Park - Never tried the golf course - as the min no for a flight at a weekend was 3 pax, and we only had two golfers in the group. Friends also enjoyed the canopy walk/flying fox. Wanted to try horse-riding but didnt get around to it. Other observations: Colmar had a pond with two pairs of swans. can try swan feeding with feed bought from the sovenir shop. Transport to the various facilities/attractions is available by a shuttle bus, but means your time is dictated by the bus frequency. if have a car, better to use it to hit the various attractions. (usually <5mins from the resort) Service and english fluency generally satisfactory, but the guys manning the information counter for the adventure park/horse-riding were horrible - all didnt know the information we wanted to know. Better to ask the front desk. Wifi - 15RM for one hour or 30 RM for 24 hours. Okay speeds. Massage - Decent massage place at the resort - prices are ard 10-20% lower compared to Singapore's. Entertainment - 3 funfair stalls are open at night, but tucked into a corner, with odds stacked in the stalls' favour. Also features a small arcade and a small kiddie-ride place. There's entertainment performances scheduled throughout the day, but most are dances to contemporary popsy music by a group of 6 Eastern European ladies. The dance routines are the same, but just set to different songs! ;-) And one look at some of the outfits worn and you wonder why the Malaysian authorities were so testy about the outfits for a ballet performance. Overall verdict - good for a novelty stay, but a once-off visit is good enough. Overall execution could have been better. The lack of satisfactory good food and entertainment led the group to head to Gohtong Raya and Genting resort for dinner and a movie on the second night. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 I was there with 3 friends over the Good Friday for a 3D2N stay. Thought I should give a short review How much is the room rate there? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ENG61043 Neutral Newbie April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 Agreed! Nothing much to see. Went for a night stay few years back. End up drove down for dinner at old Bkt Tinggi Town near Genting's Mac:) Good for a day trip only lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greyminswift 1st Gear April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 How much is the room rate there? 204 RM for a Superior Room 282 RM for a one Bedroom Suite. If willing to spend more, go for the one-room suite. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greyminswift 1st Gear April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 Agreed! Nothing much to see. Went for a night stay few years back. End up drove down for dinner at old Bkt Tinggi Town near Genting's Mac:) Good for a day trip only lah. Yeah, Gohtong Raya zhi char for dinner was one of the high points for our trip. 4 persons 100 RM, or 10+ Sing dollars. shiok! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 A lot of people complain nothing to do at night, service bad.. if you imagine yourself to be somewhere in New Zealand, out in the hills where motel service closes after 7pm. How is it different ? It's a highland resort, you are supposed to enjoy mostly the serenity and nature, away from city lifestyle for a while. Agree! Just go to pub for a few drink and enjoy the beautiful morning the next day...I will Only take it as a stop over to genting... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear April 16, 2012 Share April 16, 2012 Errr... can watch fireflies at night..... or try to spot them as they're not in swarms but scattered about. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skyiet27 Clutched April 17, 2012 Share April 17, 2012 agreed! wiser to stay at genting then make a day trip there it looks nice on photo, but due to lack of maintenance, the room was indeed in run down state those who went there a stay should know what i meant theres makan there, pub that shows football matches, arcade, etc got things to do lah but too small a place to be for 3days 2 nites my advise is if u gng up GH then make a trip there to see see first before deciding whether to stay there in future jus imo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greyminswift 1st Gear April 17, 2012 Share April 17, 2012 agreed! wiser to stay at genting then make a day trip there it looks nice on photo, but due to lack of maintenance, the room was indeed in run down state those who went there a stay should know what i meant theres makan there, pub that shows football matches, arcade, etc got things to do lah but too small a place to be for 3days 2 nites my advise is if u gng up GH then make a trip there to see see first before deciding whether to stay there in future jus imo They were revamping some of the rooms on my floor during our stay, but the room i stayed in was definitely showng its age, plus wasnt optimised for a twin bed layout. Cameron would be a better choice for a 3D2N stay - more things to explore, more food, a town and night market. A lot of people complain nothing to do at night, service bad.. if you imagine yourself to be somewhere in New Zealand, out in the hills where motel service closes after 7pm. How is it different ? It's a highland resort, you are supposed to enjoy mostly the serenity and nature, away from city lifestyle for a while. Yeah i suppose that's the pull - good for those who like the outdoors, enjoy the view and air and nature. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged May 5, 2013 Share May 5, 2013 Hi, anyone been to this Colmar place lately? Is it still in bad condition as of late? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged February 14, 2014 Share February 14, 2014 Hi, anyone been to this Colmar place lately? Is it still in bad condition as of late? Anyone? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...