Are you using Portable Harddisk? If yes, what is the capacity?

Guyver

Are you using Portable Harddisk? If yes, what is the capacity?  

127 members have voted

1. 1.

• 200GB & above
    • 101GB to 199GB
    • 100GB & below
    • No, I currently do not use portable harddisk

Dear all,

Just wondering how many of you are using Portable Harddisk and what size.

Those that don't have .... pleas share why.

Thanks.

yap..

using 2 ..

bought few year back..

80 Gb and 160 Gb respectively...maining to backup and store pohtos and mp3 and videos,,,and some basic backup.

Hmm ...not sure which cat i am in ...

I got a 20 GB HDD for storing system files, drivers and application .. (In case my laptop need to reformat)

Another 60 GB HDD for storing MP3 files

80 GB HDD for my PSP Games

160 GB for storing all my Videos and Download

320 (3.5 inch) for dumping everything in ...

Eventually still run shortage of diskspace ... Time to get a 1 TB storage i think .. [laugh]

i have a maxtor 250GB, use for data storages.

if u get any HDD at less than 200GB, it would not be as cost effective as those that are more than 200GB as usually 200GB and above is less than $1/GB whereas if for those less than 200GB, it would cost more than $1 per GB

just my $0.02

Edited by Nonetheless

Portable HDDs are meant to be small and slim as they tap power from the source they are attached to. Unlike their cousins, the external HDDs which have their own power adaptor.

For a start, you can look at Western Digital Elements series.

Capacity depends on what u need to store inside.

The most common portable HDD is based on 2.5" HDD usually used by notebooks.. the max capacity of 2.5" HDD is now up to 500mb.. but 320mb & 250mb are the better priced models.

yap..

using 2 ..

bought few year back..

80 Gb and 160 Gb respectively...maining to backup and store pohtos and mp3 and videos,,,and some basic backup.

Hmmm .... how much did you get them for?

I got a 20 GB HDD for storing system files, drivers and application .. (In case my laptop need to reformat)

Eventually still run shortage of diskspace ... Time to get a 1 TB storage i think .. [laugh]

Wah ... so many .... [sweatdrop]

I got a few 20 GB HDD . (Company laptop condemning) so i reused them

My 60 GB HDD is taken out from my previous faulty laptop

My 80 GB is after upgrading my current laptop to 120 GB

Bought my 160 GB for storage initally. Then bought the maxtor (320 GB)3.5 inch basic backup.

Cost wise for HDD is now relatively compare to a few months or years back as it is dropping fast . Maybe due to improving technology or market demand .

I got my 160 GB with external casing 1.5 yrs back at around 160 ++

Last comex show i went to (In june). A 320 GB or 250 GB Western Digital is selling aroung 120++ or 99 ++ (If i remember correctly.

Giant is selling a brand called Slix at around $130 for 320 GB

Slim or thick i don't there is much difference. I got about 5 - 6 various shape and branded external Casing . The difference is negliable. So far non failed on me . (Touch wood)

Unless you are in IT line . With the need to change the HDD inside often . Maybe a screwless casing would help .

But what i discover is to best get the same type of HDD with the laptop you are currently using. (Eg . Sata or IDE ) Although latest laptop now should have come in Sata . (At least when your laptop HDD failed on you . You can just pop the external one over) Save cost . [laugh]

i'm using external hdds. but not very portable (chunky and need AC power source).

reason being that i use my laptop as the portable HDD [laugh]

the external ones are for my data. one maxtor onetouch 500gb and western digital 640gb.

the onetouch is for backup of my lappy. the backup software rocks and is damn convenient. just set the folders u need to backup and from then on, either auto backup or just press the button in the HDD [thumbsup]

the western digital is to backup the maxtor every few weeks. in case both maxtor and lappy go kaput. so it's a bit like a RAID system just that i am the "controller"

used to have a portable HDD but donate to my sis liao. making do with 2GB thumbdrive.

if u want to backup and don't need the portability, i feel that proper HDD with own power supply is much better. portable HDD sometimes get very hot.

The most common portable HDD is based on 2.5" HDD usually used by notebooks.. the max capacity of 2.5" HDD is now up to 500mb.. but 320mb & 250mb are the better priced models.

Alamak... u still live in the 80s huh? Should be GB lah... [:p]

I have a Seagate Free Agent. It's a usb drive and plugs in direct to the PC, no extra power supply needed.

It's 250GB and cost $100 +

was at challenger funan last weekend... many portable & external HDDs on sale. saw a maxtor onetouch 4plus 1TB combo (with automated back up software) on sale too. can't remember the actual price but it's like $240+ or something like that; for non-member price. not sure if this is a good price...

Edited by Zeee

last time had a 20GB HDD for backup purpose..but after that failed..i didn't get any to replace..furthermore, now thumbdrive are so cheap..less than 30 bucks can get an 8GB liao..and solid state storage have lesser chance to fail compared to HDD with moving parts..

I believe to most people ... Having a HDD that is reliable and trustworthy is more important than anything else...

If a HDD company can guarantee you lifetime no disk failure. I am sure a lot of people would take up the offer even if the price is 2X the price of another with the same capacity.

As Mastercard advertisement say it .

Price of a HDD = $240

Photo and memories of yourself with your love one or exs = priceless ...

that's why, always keep periodical backups..

currently i have 3 HDD in my PC.

Master - 250GB

Slave1 - 500GB

Slave2 - 300GB

All the impt stuff such as photos etc are in Slave1 with weekly backups into Slave2..