DBS High Notes 5 confirm = $0.00

Ncss

what u mention here is a company's 'social responsibility' which unfortunately, something rare in sg.. which is probably we can easily get screwed by errant/bochap companies.. ie. they can operate everything swee swee legally on paper, but is still socially irresponsible.

in other countries already see protests cow peh cow bu everywhere leow.

i suspect if not for the hk side protests, sg investors may not even get a blink of attention at all thumbsdown.gif

the way they operate biz is obviously different.. can't bring their biz ethics overseas or else they'll fail miserably

u think he'll tell? even if its true, the guy would choose to be quiet.. such whistle blower sure tiok pok one... he's taking on a mammoth giant leh.. nothing to gain, everything to risk, and very slim chance of winning cos no evidence. mas bother to investigate? dig email servers for info? i doubt..

remember uncle durai's gold tap @ nkf? boh concrete evidence suayx2 kenna sue till pants drop how? lipsrsealed.gif

can forget about finding another job in banking sector for the rest of his life.dead.gif

I don't think the banks will compensate much one lah. First of all, these structured product distributors only earn 1% as commission (Fact). The 99% goes to the product manufacturer.

Secondly, Banks are not afraid of losing your confidence in them because there are only 3 local banks around, even you not happy also LL have to put money there. aka like SP services, you unhappy, lose interest or confidence in them, also no choice when they raise the tariffs.

Again to compensate $400 mil, the banks must be mad as I had earlier said that they only earned 1%, that's $5 mil only. to earn back $400 mil, how much suckers do they need ? Sell another 40 billion worth of structured products?

drove past speakers corner ... it was really crowded with protesters tongue.gif

wah, today i read sunday times, got one 25 yr old guy lost 50k, said he wldn't claim, but more imptly, says the loss is only a few percentage point of his portfolio!

i seriously underperforming man [bigcry]

....i suspect if not for the hk side protests, sg investors may not even get a blink of attention at all

the way they operate biz is obviously different.. can't bring their biz ethics overseas or else they'll fail miserably ....

I agree with you on this. S'pore investor should thank HK for making the banks 'listen' to their grievances.

What strike me is the scanned pics in Straits Time showing the 1 page of the contracts. They clearly wrote in bold that that principal is not guaranteed and you can lose all your money if one of the listed companies go bust. Why would anyone put in so much $$ and not read at least the few lines on first page printed in bold? Unless you are illegible or not shown the document, right?

the old retirees who didn't pass psle lor... those who thought they were depositing money instead of investing money got a good case i think.

but the law does impose a duty on investment advisers to assess the suitability of

investments to cutomer's objectives and risks appetite. the educated retirees can try to argue this, esp. those that dumped everything in. but the bank's argument that it was a suitable product at the time of sale, is probably a strong argument too.

the rest, basically got swept away in the tsunami. was phuket a safe place to visit in Dec 04?

it's a spiral effect ...

CEO needs to score point, set high ROE > Top Managers need to set a higher budget > RM needs to meet higher quota > More high risk products introduced to the consumers ??