Now China egg also got melamine..

Shull

What??!!!! What can i eat now...

Buy chicks from local farm. Rear them in your toilet. When they grow up, they will lay eggs daily. Then hosay, you have fresh eggs everyday.

Reminds me of the 70s when many people living HDB flats keep chickens in their toilets. [laugh]

Aiyo, how can possible to avoid all China stuff? Now even electronic stuff made in China......wonder if QQ got poison or not [laugh]

Poison maybe dun have, but melamine sure have since so many plastic parts.

Don't blame me for China bashing hor..after all the crap with tainted milk, toxic paint and allegedly cover-ups so as to look good for the Olympics..they really deserved to be bashed..

Not that I disagree with you, but I don't see you bashing the US with the tainted derivatives, toxic financial products, lies, lies and more lies and alleged cover-ups within the highest echelons of banking and finance on Wall Street so as to look good for the whole world to see? The top bankers have all resigned and retired and laughing at us with their ill-gotten billions of $ in their bank accounts. Now the whole world is in trouble, middle class going to be poor, poor is going to be homeless, and homeless is going to tiao lao or jump MRT track. So do you think the Americans deserve to be bashed?

Apparently not. It is only the top few bankers what. Just so happened that they are American. The country of USA, the majority of its people are not at fault. And apparently you can see that well enough, but when it comes to China, it becomes the entire China, all China people, everything Chinese is at fault. Just letting you know of your own prejudice. Anyway most of the people who died were Chinamen's sons and daughters, so if anything, they should hate their country and people more than you do.

And back to the Olympics issue, there were many examples of Olympics organisers in Western countries covering up their own Olympics presentation as well, lip synching by Pavarotti, the whole orchestra miming in Sydney, etc. The Olympics is a production, a show. I don't see the problem with that. Anyway European soccer always got kelong and corruption, especially Italy. I am used to that liao. It is a show, a spectacle. You want honesty and truthfulness, you go to church. (and now, church also got scandal)

Edited by King_of_abalone

nope..just that as of now, i am not directly affected by the US financial crisis..

wait next time i play stock market etc etc..and US there farked it up..and i'll curse and swear the fxxkers there..

but everyday, i buy china products..which may or may not put my health in danger..that's the reasons i am more concerned with this piece of news..

bro, consider the tens of thousands of China men and women whose children were badly harmed by the milk scandal. you (or I) are not the only ones, or even the worse-hit ones. anyway i trust our AVA to screen these food from China. Singapore is one of the safest countries in the world for food and legal drugs, because of our high standards of enforcement and regulation.

that's one of the reasons why i am 'bashing china' so to say..right?

they don't even bat an eyelid when they put chemicals into food which will ultimately end up in their countrymen's children..what else can i say?

Edited by Shull

Maybe the method is different, but I can also say that the elite of this country are slowly killing their own countrymen as well...

The problem here is not Chinese or Singaporean or American or whatever. The problem here is the big rich politically powerful elite (controllers and producers of products and services that average people rely on, be it banking products or milk powder or ERP) profiteering and harming the common man. And that happens in every country.

in a way..yes..

but for sure the scale in china is alot more than any other major country..

That is one major advantage Singapore has over big countries such as China and USA. The ease of enforcement and regulation of business practices and laws.

Oh they have laws in China as well, as they do in the USA, but when a country such as China is so big, so corrupt, and so money-minded, it becomes very hard for Govt to enforce, however good the Govt's intentions are.

China should learn from the USA in this regard, each state govt is responsible for the going-ons in their own state, but ultimately accountable to Supreme Court law and the Govt.

Then again, the USA had many abuses and scandals too that went below the Govt's radar. The latest being the most high-class of them all... prestigious investment banks on Wall Street that destroyed the lives of a hundred times more people around the world than melamine milk powder.

Edited by King_of_abalone

no leh..the k1ng will heil MIC products..esp his A168..

wonder does his ADM Charger also MIC? or it's a ADN branded fake?

its proven that driving MIC cars will make the driver [hur]

driving MIC cars is alright..we have our bro Minzmaster here..he's perfectly alrite driving his Hafei Minz..

it's just when one gets delusional up to a point that he thinks his 'tin can on wheels' can beat a Rex..the rest is history..

bro, we have to take the news we get with a pinch of salt. The news we read in English are all syndicated from the big Western news agencies: AFP, Reuters, etc. If you have been taking note of the news from these agencies, you will find that many pieces of news that don't fit into their agenda / world-view tend to be slightly biased in word selection and writing intent.

Not only China ah, the Muslim world has got it worst whenever they get written up by AFP/Reuters et al. Russia also a victim of these Western agencies whenever Russia-related news get written up.

When I attended a Journalism elective class in uni, the first thing we were taught was that news articles are rarely objective, and always seek to convey a slant or an agenda behind it. We were urged to look beyond news from one singular source, and try to look for alternative sources and backgrounds for a more complete picture.

In the US, where political journalists always have sides to take whether Dem or Rep, the difference in wording and intent could be night and day pertaining to the same piece of news!

Last time when Michael Fay was caned in Singapore, the NYT columnist William Safire all but convinced his readers that Singapore was the devil incarnate, barbaric demons who had the gall to mete out such brutal and inhuman punishiment to an "innocent" and playful young boy. NYT articles on this incident were complete with graphic details of the whipping and likened it to "torture".

Of course, we Singaporeans had a different opinion regarding that incident, because of our background and understanding of the situation. Americans didn't understand it and neither did they bother to find out.

My point is, before condemning something, at least try to find out more about it and look at the issue from all perspectives. Otherwise we will be just as guilty as those brainwashed Americans believing Fay was innocent, and believing that Iraqis are the Satan Spawn hiding nuclear weapons seeking to destroy America, their freedom and liberty.

Melamine in food is bad, but I personally feel that this issue was blown way out of proportion by the media (Western, who else?) Just like the Olympics lip-synching incident. Let's be thinking people, and not be brainwashed by the media. It is hard, I know, growing up in Singapore, where we are used to being brainwashed.