Bugsbunny Neutral Newbie October 27, 2008 Share October 27, 2008 Hi Bro, Today when driving along still road with my pregnant wife, at the traffic junction with the traffic light showing red and my car completely stop. This SMRT cab just bump to my car. As it was raining heavy, when i go down, cant see any big dent. Ask the cab driver for his handphone number, he just say call his company if want to make claim. When back at home to check my car backside, see few tiny dent. Should i claim against him as the damage is not to obvious? What i not happy is his dangerous driving as my wife is in the car. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear October 27, 2008 Share October 27, 2008 under the new MCF, u're supposed to file a report within 24 hrs ? If the taxi play punk and file a report, u're toast man ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jiayong 3rd Gear October 27, 2008 Share October 27, 2008 Claim him. Dont give them chance. I bumped into a few taxis before. Nothing at all and they extort money from me. Dun give them chance. Just go claim and report the taxi number. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bugsbunny Neutral Newbie October 27, 2008 Author Share October 27, 2008 How to claim him? report to police? Have make a complain to SMRT. Is that enough? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swiftboi Neutral Newbie October 27, 2008 Share October 27, 2008 yup, bro try_conti is right now must report any accident with/without injury or minor accident to the insurance co. within 24hrs. Another thing is the taxi uker can play punk oso if u nvr report yr case to insurance co. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear October 27, 2008 Share October 27, 2008 well, do you have the taxi number to start with ? If you have, go to one of those approved workshop according to your insurance policy and file a report 1st. The rest is secondary. If you didn't and the taxi driver file a report, you jialat man ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bugsbunny Neutral Newbie October 27, 2008 Author Share October 27, 2008 Do you think will the workshop entertain me as the dent is not obvious? Just 3 tiny dent. May be report to my insurance next thing in the morning. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear October 27, 2008 Share October 27, 2008 its not so much of whether the dent is obvious or whether you want to repair, its to COVER UR REAR ! If the taxi cook up a story and claim u, you're in for a long nightmare ..... get yourself covered 1st. Repair or not is another story. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic October 27, 2008 Share October 27, 2008 Yeah, you must claim against taxi driver...even for a bumper change and respray also good. Going on the offensive is better than seating down passively, then you might get claim chialat chialat. Taxis are notorious for making up stories. They are on the road a lot more, and they know all kinds of dirty tricks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bugsbunny Neutral Newbie October 27, 2008 Author Share October 27, 2008 Noted. Tomorrow will report to my insurance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear October 27, 2008 Share October 27, 2008 never ever let those taxi drivers take advantage. report all details and avoid whatever private settlements with them. cunning ppl need the law to take care of them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shawyz Neutral Newbie October 27, 2008 Share October 27, 2008 (edited) Hi Bro,Today when driving along still road with my pregnant wife, at the traffic junction with the traffic light showing red and my car completely stop. This SMRT cab just bump to my car. As it was raining heavy, when i go down, cant see any big dent. Ask the cab driver for his handphone number, he just say call his company if want to make claim. When back at home to check my car backside, see few tiny dent. Should i claim against him as the damage is not to obvious? What i not happy is his dangerous driving as my wife is in the car. i agree with the bros who asked u to go report. really have to beware him to claim against u... call up your insurance agent to report the accident. if the taxi wan to play punk, u can play punk also. can say your wife stomach pain, go hospital check up and claim against him... i mean on the spot, bow cannot already la... lol Edited October 27, 2008 by Shawyz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beng2 5th Gear October 27, 2008 Share October 27, 2008 It seems that you are not familiar with the MCF (not mycarforum hor). You need to inform your insurance company. Call the 24hr hotline to ask for advice. Claim or no claim, it makes 100% sense to report. The MCF FAQs alsready say that regardless of any claim or damage or injury, policy holders should report to the insurance companies as failing which the latter might not provide compensation (they use some legal jargons which I can't remember). Back to your accident. If the situation was the other way round where you were the one who hit a taxi, I can imagine that one or more of the following would happen: i) Taxi reports the accident ii) Taxi driver has whiplash injury - see specialist/doctor, MC don't know how many days iii) Taxi suffers extensive damage to bumper and whatnots. iv) Taxi driver suffers loss of income from loss of use and medical leave (don't know how long they will need to "rest" at home due to the "injury"). v) Taxi driver has witness(es) Since there is presumably no witness, the taxi driver could claim that you hit him from behind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bugsbunny Neutral Newbie October 28, 2008 Author Share October 28, 2008 Today have make my claim. For few very very tiny hair line dent, the workshop ask me to change the whole bumper. As today very busy, will change later of the week. Now I know why our insurance keep going up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear October 28, 2008 Share October 28, 2008 huh .. u claim your own insurance ah .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bugsbunny Neutral Newbie October 28, 2008 Author Share October 28, 2008 No. claim against the taxi Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Try_conti 2nd Gear October 28, 2008 Share October 28, 2008 that's the way ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swiftboi Neutral Newbie October 28, 2008 Share October 28, 2008 yes~ report to yr insurance and claim loh at least u r at the safe line liao ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...