Elixir 1st Gear October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 Is Equatorial a good hotel? whats there to do at Cameron Highlands? Thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoongf 4th Gear October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 pluck strawberries. Got many farms, try selecting those away from towns, and try go in mornings. Got more stock left. Go see Boh Tea plantation. (got good strawberry + veggie farm further up the ulu mountain. 1 place plant many types, so good to explain to kid) Eat steamboat, with tons of veggies. (dunno. is inlaw's idea) Go see nursuries, got many cactus/roses to see. Got pasar malam. that place rain a lot, so.. need to juggle plans often. Equatorial is most modern hotel there. Rest are low rise built long time ago. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aachuah Neutral Newbie October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 Just came back from Cameron Highlands.........Equatorial Hotel is at the tp most of the area(on the map, it says 1260+ m above ground or sea, i cannot remember) and got to be careful if you are going up from Tapah(OLD route)............IMHO, better to use Gopeng route, but careful of big trailers / trucks over-taking. I personally had a close shave with one in broad daylight at 11am Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 dont think there's any better hotel there. its a oneoff destination, dont think u wanna go back after u have visited the place cause nothing much to do except visiting those plantation Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siewss 1st Gear October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 If you like cottages, why don't you try aloha's Cluny Lodge? http://www.aloharesorts.com.sg/ Lakehouse is really great except it's located quite some way from the top http://www.lakehouse-cameron.com/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear October 27, 2008 Share October 27, 2008 I JUST DROVE UP FROM S. BUOLH SIDE (NEW ROAD) N DOWN THE OLD ONE AT TAPAH. F#$%ING CROWDED, DONT KNOW WHY SO MANY PEEPER GO THERE YESTERDAY. GOT MATA CHIA ALONG TAPAH>>KL. OPEN YOUR EYES WHEN YOU DRIVE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear October 27, 2008 Share October 27, 2008 Is Equatorial a good hotel? whats there to do at Cameron Highlands? Thanks. pics better. we stay equatorial as well.... http://idobaby.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=21844 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear October 27, 2008 Share October 27, 2008 long weekend mah..... in my family, at least 2 cars went up on sat.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic October 27, 2008 Share October 27, 2008 (edited) All, Cluny is almost fully booked during the school holiday, the last time I checked. I rather like Century Pines, the early morning prayer call from a nearby mosque helps to ensure an "early bird catches the worm" routine. Seriously, I think it is way ahead of Equatorial with its stuffy 3-star room but 4-5 star pricing. Miss the steamboat, Highland restaurant @ Brinchang in particular. The weather should be good with all the rains recently. For research, check out the below forum: http://www.cameronhighlands.com/option,com...oard/Itemid,53/ Thinking of trying out Strawberry park next time round but heard it is very rundown, true? Edited October 27, 2008 by Voodooman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoongf 4th Gear October 27, 2008 Share October 27, 2008 Yep.. was at Strawberry Park in Mar this year. Stayed at the 3bedrm apt. I doubt I will stay there again for the following reasons. due to raining season, tons of clouds. when wake up, whole apt was wet from dew. Imagine.. timber floor wake up is soaked, and whole day is perpetually damp, like after wet mop. This also means towels do not dry even after 1 day! Apt fittings is like those in the 70s, and no reno since. Wood framed windows that dun shut tight. Is so ulu on top of a mountain, unless drive down, got nothing much to see and do. So far been to Equatorial and Strawberry Park, both no aircon. Really need the AC to bring down the humidity. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flying_genie 6th Gear October 27, 2008 Share October 27, 2008 I really doubt you will find any accomodation in Cameron Highlands with air-conditioning installed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic October 27, 2008 Share October 27, 2008 Thanks for the update, guess I will rule out Strawberry Park then. I did not encounter the humidity issue you mentioned during my previous CH trips. A fan in the room would be great (maybe only at the super upmarket Cameron Highland Resort), especially during mid year, which can get a little too hot and stuffy. I usually visit Cameron during the Nov-Jan period these days, for the weather basically, nothing much to do or see after a while. Just bring a couple of good books, laze around, have the occasional steamboat, scones and maybe drive to Ipoh for the famous curry chicken noodle, bean sprout chicken, etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siewss 1st Gear October 29, 2008 Share October 29, 2008 You're making the right choice. Strawberry Park is not as sweet as its namesake. The whole place is decrepit and rundown. Coupled with one certain surly front desk staff that kept us waiting > 2 hrs despite having ready rooms really made my holiday a memorable one for all the wrong reasons. The only saving grace then was the steamboat dinner at the basement restaurant (or outdoor if you wish), which was huge in portion and downright delicious. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched October 29, 2008 Share October 29, 2008 Is Equatorial a good hotel? whats there to do at Cameron Highlands? Thanks. I stayed there before, not bad lah. typical 3*+ hotel. Don't expect things like good homely ambience. got plenty of things to do - hiking - visit tea plantation. acres and acres of tea plantation and fresh air - take pictures. - visit vegi plantation, strawberry farm.. there novelties are probably are the fact tht u can pluck strawberry at a price. don't expect the standard that u can find at supermarkets back home. also there are many many things that are made of strawberrries. - at the hotel, they also organise day trips to near by towns. if u are lazy to drive, u can follow the tour. price wise, i don't find it attractive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic October 30, 2008 Share October 30, 2008 Siewss, Planning any northern run this coming Nov/Dec period? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched October 30, 2008 Share October 30, 2008 I had good experience at Strawberry park though Few years ago when I was there, I enjoyed my stay there. I think ours was one of those..."apartment in bungalow" style. Not the hotel rooms at strawberry park. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Irene Neutral Newbie October 30, 2008 Share October 30, 2008 The apartment looks a bit scary from outside... Anyway i loved the strawberry park although its not sweet. There is a butterfly park somewhere is it? Nice place to visit too. All kinds of insects to see. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched October 30, 2008 Share October 30, 2008 Hmm? Cannot be leh. They are clustered together and they look like ang mo style....no isolated.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...