Drive up Genting

Friendstar

hey, we are on the same wavelength here thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

It's the journey that counts, not the destination and for me, it also apply in the way I live my life nod.gifnod.gifnod.gif

strange. The link you gave me is more expensive on the same hotel same day. There's a 888deal which bro friendstar mentioned above. Cheaper.

My wife also researched based on the 888deals few weeks ago....check it out if you are going....me probably try to go on 31st oct? hmm see how first.

yo bro,

I'll be driving up to genting on the 31st Oct also with wifey maid and 2young kids. U wana buddy buddy up to genting 2gether? at least got 2 cars can look out for each other.

PM me if you're keen. =)

wah lao.. u supercharge-ded liao leh [;)]

driving up is safe if ur ride is not a luxury ride. if it is, i feel it's not safe but i bet most luxury car owners would disagree.

toll ah.. i think RM70-80 one way. i think...

lanslide risk is there. u are bound to see it on ur way up. but chances of landslide blocking your way are slim, and chances the landslide HITS you are remote [;)]

OPC is for singapore gahmen to earn $$$ la.

anyway i'm no expert. and better to ask question and look a bit silly than to live in fear and doubt on ur drive up [thumbsup]

9 hours is doable for those who are used to it.

personally i drove from penang to SG and only stopped for toilet, meals, and petrol. i was shagged out [dizzy]. but i'm not a frequent flyer along NSH [laugh]

but then again i think my on-the-road time for that trip was probably at least 9 hours [sweatdrop]

Going up to Genting Highlands is definately a nice thing to do. I as one has been guilty of speeding in excess of 160KMPH. It is dethdefying to do that at a breakneck speed upon boosting my Supercharger at 0.3bar.

I do need to re-tuning my charger and CPU upon reaching back to singapore

160 only? how come i also could reach 160? my speedo hit close to 180 even, once! ridiculous, i say.

must check under my bonnet. maybe a snail crawled in and is screwing with my 1.1 liter engine [mad]

btw, the last i knew, my engine had no t/c, s/c or toy fan like adm air charger

oh ya. Almost forgot. Can use the TouchNGo lane also. But is there any lane at the tolls that allows you to top up? Should have right? I just got my TouchNGo card this year. I've been topping up RM50 each time at petrol kiosks. $0.50 each topup.

ah Tambah Nilai...ah....confirm remember seeing that at Tolls. Thanks.

Tambah is "add" in malay, I know. Nilai is in chinese for "you come", everyone knows.

So...understand now. It means..."If you want to add money, you come.".

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

If driving with buddies, it is recommended for all to use the same mode of payment, instead of some Touch 'N' Go, some using cash.

Otherwise, the TNG driver, immediately after the toll, have to filter all the way to left roadside, and wait for other buddies. May be a bit risky becos cars will be rushing out from the left hand cash toll lanes . And this will be repeated at every tolls.

Run out of luck at First World. No more rooms on the day I want to go. Now found still got rooms at Awana.

Any brothers got idea regarding Awana hotel? Think they have double deluxe there. More expensive than First world and from memory I think they are at half mountain?? So have to drive up/down if my kids are asleep?

I stay at Awana Genting last year when i cannot get any room at mountain top..

Room condition is better than either Genting or Highland Hotel. I think is 5 star. Room is definitely bigger than any of the hotels at the top, taking account the same room type.

They will give you a 2-way complimentary cable car ticket to go up to win money and shuttle bus to the cable car station is available every 1/2 hour or 1 hour, depending whether is peak hour. Basically, it is a mountain resort with golf course..