Wt_know Supersonic October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 (edited) i know reporter like to publish controversial story but what about miss lin, the student. what's in her mind when she do this interview ? can't believe she study in ntu, she must be a 'genius'. Mum and dad will provide... Miss Lin says she has never once run out of spending money. -- ST PHOTO: CHEW SENG KIM For 20-year-old undergraduate Agnes Lin, the recession could just be academic. The Nanyang Technological University first-year student has never been in need: She carries a $2,000 Louis Vuitton handbag to school and uses only Shiseido cosmetic and skincare products. She carries around the latest mobile phone and goes on overseas vacations with her friends where she would bust $1,000 on shopping alone. Twice monthly, she shops at her favourite stores - Topshop, Zara and Forever21. Mum, a private tutor, and Dad, a businessman selling polythene bags, pay for her expenses. Miss Lin is aware that Singapore faces a recession but the news does not bother her. She said: 'I think it is okay for me to maintain my current lifestyle. I may be spending a little bit more than my friends but I don't think I'm overspending.' At the moment, she has her eyes on the latest mobile phone in the market, the HTC Touch Pro, which costs about $700. Although her mother has said 'no' to her buying yet another mobile phone, Ms Lin has an inkling she will still get it. 'I think my mum will still buy it for me. My birthday is coming up!' she said with a giggle. She confessed that since young, she has never run out of cash. Her parents give her money whenever she asks. Since she was 16, her monthly pocket money has been $500. She has an older brother, also an undergraduate. The family live in a four-room flat in Marine Parade. She thinks a friend of hers, who is left with $20 to last until the end of the month, is silly to consider taking up a part-time job to earn some extra cash. 'I don't understand why she cannot just ask her parents for money,' sighed Miss Lin. She will enter the working world only after three years but she is already planning ahead. With her first pay packet, she will buy a $4,000 Chanel bag. 'After that, I will probably get more bags and watches,' she added. Edited October 26, 2008 by Wt_know ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 ..this age..and does not noe the value of money .... and um..wads wrong with taking up a part time job to earn extra cash at least her fren noes the value of money...and will keep some for times in need Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 marry her and get squeezed dry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheesey74 6th Gear October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 Sigh... another gone case youngster. Typical case of parent indulging too much comfort on their kids. DC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 I'm sure she'll get lots of happy flaming... But if this is what she really feels/believes, maybe she deserves it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gylgyl Neutral Newbie October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 Heeeheehehe that is what the children in this times thinking about... so learnt from lesson... when u have your own kids... remember to educate them... do not be afraid to let them go throu doing part time jobs in vacation etc and earn their hard earn money ... then they will understand why not to spend so easily and blindly... when they spending their hard earn money to buy things they want they will learnt to treasure it as well.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gylgyl Neutral Newbie October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 BTW, she dun look pretty to me at all... who marry her must have alot of $$$$$$$ to support her... or will faint when see the bill.... hahahaha i dun have these kinda of money .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 With her first pay packet, she will buy a $4,000 Chanel bag. 'After that, I will probably get more bags and watches,' she added. Aiyah.. can see she will earn at least 4k per month liao, already said so above. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 i think most normal guys..see gals like her will run .... her one bag alone...is wad most of us earn in 2 months Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnoikj Neutral Newbie October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 maybe she will be employed by her father...so the pay more or less confirmed... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kanchelsk 2nd Gear October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 she is not pretty leh... if still can consider supplyin her some LV la... kaoz.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic October 26, 2008 Author Share October 26, 2008 (edited) i always wonder when a child is spoilt, whose fault is it ? 100% parent or 50-50 parent and children ? but, a young children is brought up by the parent right ? so the children is innocent ? beside, it is the parent who spoil the children with $$$ Heeeheehehe that is what the children in this times thinking about... so learnt from lesson... when u have your own kids... remember to educate them... do not be afraid to let them go throu doing part time jobs in vacation etc and earn their hard earn money ... then they will understand why not to spend so easily and blindly... when they spending their hard earn money to buy things they want they will learnt to treasure it as well.... Edited October 26, 2008 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacf Neutral Newbie October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 well.. parents rich..there is nothing wrong with her spending on material stuff if her family financial conditions jolly well permits her to do so. in fact we do need more ppl like her who can afford to spend to spend.. so as to stimulate our economy now! .. i think at least she uses cash to pay for her stuff..better than those who uses credit cards.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic October 26, 2008 Author Share October 26, 2008 (edited) agreed with you on the 'economy boost' part ... hehe ... need these spoilt kids to spent $4K on a handbag and $10+ on a ice-blended coffee and a cheese cake to get the economy going. well.. parents rich..there is nothing wrong with her spending on material stuff if her family financial conditions jolly well permits her to do so. in fact we do need more ppl like her who can afford to spend to spend.. so as to stimulate our economy now! .. i think at least she uses cash to pay for her stuff..better than those who uses credit cards.. Edited October 26, 2008 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Getzoooom Neutral Newbie October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 maybe this is one of the reason why couples nowadays dun like to raise kid... grown up to be come 败家仔, only knw how to ask for money.. this type of younger generation is zero in value. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacf Neutral Newbie October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 ya..parents busy making money so no time to spent those earned $$$... so i think these kids should get as much pocket money from their parents to help them spent it.. so we will see our economy walking out of recession asap! else if those earning $$$ never go and spend, all those retail merchants will close shops faster.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 She is still living in her world of illusion that money will still be coming to her, without any decrease. Just makes me wonder if she ever stepped into her father's office to learn and see what's actually going on. It will either take a long time or a very harsh reality to wake up her idea to what the real world is. People are working hard to fight for their survival, yet she just sticks her hand out for $$$. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic October 26, 2008 Author Share October 26, 2008 hmm, i'm in dillema now. so should we have more spoilt kids ? without spoilt kids a lot of shopping centres and its value-chain-business (ie: the high end coffee & pastry shops) will close down and sg economy will be in trouble is spoilt kids a necessary evil ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...