Lightbringer 6th Gear October 25, 2008 Share October 25, 2008 Hey folks, dunno why suddenly have so many wedding invitations for this Nov and Dec. Any of you know what's the current ang pow rate for the following? (1) Wedding dinner (hotel) (2) Wedding dinner (restaurant) (3) Solemnisation (hotel) - first time I heard of such thing (4) Church wedding Tks in advance. 25 One of my best buddies wedding dinner was held recently, I gave him $288 + a 25 year Chivas Regal from my duty-free collection, even though I wasn't working back and still living off my savings. Guess what? Before the dinner ended, each of us got an ang pao from him thanking us for our help with the morning activities and our attendance. And the amount inside nearly matched my red packet Moral of the story - give what you're comfortable with, what you're happy to give, depending on how good your r/s is with the groom or bride. it's a happy occasion, don't need to think so much about market rate or worry about whether you're giving enough or too little. Between true friends, such small amounts of money isn't something worth losing sleep over. Of course, the flip side to this is that I rarely attend weddings of people I'm not close with - I usually decline politely citing work commitments ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 i feel the morale of your story is ... no need to give since they offset each other ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 (edited) Quite a while ago, a local newspaper had a page on this . They suggested that S$100 is the minimum rate for a hotel. Depending on which hotel you step into and your relationship with the couple, you probably have to pay more . Anyway, I don't like to attend wedding dinner especially weekdays one, unless it is really really close/good friends or fellow colleagues from the same team then I will show face. Whether or not I go, I will still give at least market rate or more depending which place I'm being invited to and my relationship with the couple. Regards, Edited October 26, 2008 by Kelpie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacf Neutral Newbie October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 hotel depends which one, st regis one table $2400. my dad attended recently and i thought 1k paer table is already ex.. now got 2.4k one!!! .. either the guests are all rich ppl or the hosts got to be rich loh!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 $80 for hotel is on low side ... I ever pay $60 for 5star before. Becos last time I marry they also give $60. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modykoh 1st Gear October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 your face value big meh that why so many red booms..kekekeke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modykoh 1st Gear October 26, 2008 Share October 26, 2008 hahaaa.. i like your post..... "i c the chinese tables eat roast chicken,sharks fin etc..i eat briyani set..haiz.& pple can say the briyani set cost more. " dont worry, u will be blessed with many good friends la.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 22, 2014 Share April 22, 2014 Pai seh digging out a super old thread! But wanted to find out anyone knows the market rate for wedding ang pow if attending wedding dinner in hong kong? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged April 22, 2014 Share April 22, 2014 Moral of the story - give what you're comfortable with, what you're happy to give, depending on how good your r/s is with the groom or bride. it's a happy occasion, don't need to think so much about market rate or worry about whether you're giving enough or too little. Between true friends, such small amounts of money isn't something worth losing sleep over. Of course, the flip side to this is that I rarely attend weddings of people I'm not close with - I usually decline politely citing work commitments If there's no need to catch up with other old friends at the wedding dinner or do so-called networking, unless the couple is close to me, I would rather either excuse myself from the dinner or give an angbao but wont spend my nite attending the dinner, rather spend time with family or on something else. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic April 22, 2014 Share April 22, 2014 Pai seh digging out a super old thread! But wanted to find out anyone knows the market rate for wedding ang pow if attending wedding dinner in hong kong? How well you know the couple? Around HK$800 to HK$2000. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged April 22, 2014 Share April 22, 2014 I normally just give whatever amount I want. Just because they chose that hotel for their wedding doesn't mean I can afford a dinner that costs that much ma. Better than I don't show up right? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear April 22, 2014 Share April 22, 2014 (edited) Rationalize yourself. You attend a wedding a give the couple your blessings, you give within your ability and/or amounting to your relationship with the couple, you act of giving ang pao is not to buy a dinner voucher. Edited April 22, 2014 by Rayleigh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged April 22, 2014 Share April 22, 2014 I normally just give whatever amount I want. Just because they chose that hotel for their wedding doesn't mean I can afford a dinner that costs that much ma. Better than I don't show up right? During my Army Days ... No money, ever gave $20 ... Not proud of it, but really no money leh ... No choice, only way was to skip the dinner and let the couple make money from other guest ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 22, 2014 Share April 22, 2014 During my Army Days ... No money, ever gave $20 ... Not proud of it, but really no money leh ... No choice, only way was to skip the dinner and let the couple make money from other guest ... How can you not have $$$? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear April 22, 2014 Share April 22, 2014 During my Army Days ... No money, ever gave $20 ... Not proud of it, but really no money leh ... No choice, only way was to skip the dinner and let the couple make money from other guest ... During my wedding, I allocated two tables for my friends who were still in army. The ang pao collected were certainly not able to cover the cost but that wasnt the consideration. The joy, the fun and the memories still linger even today. Many years later, we together with the then young soldiers still joke about it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged April 22, 2014 Share April 22, 2014 How can you not have $$$? I have ... $20 lor ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged April 22, 2014 Share April 22, 2014 I have ... $20 lor ... You spend too much money on Jasmine lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic April 22, 2014 Share April 22, 2014 During my Army Days ... No money, ever gave $20 ... Not proud of it, but really no money leh ... No choice, only way was to skip the dinner and let the couple make money from other guest ... You stingy lah. My army days I also give $30 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...