Ford Mondeo

Samshio

i love estates, but sadly no market in our country

who knows in 5 years again, every model have estate version.

Wonder if the AD will bring in the 1.6T Ecoboost engine.

Perhaps at a later date but somehow I'm sure the 1.6T Ecoboost will find it's way into the 2012 Ford Focus which is due for our sunny shores soon.

Edited by ShroomieChi

Went test drive the Ecoboost last wk, really nice car and usuable power range. But whole test drive session was saddened by SE who served us who is really really cocky and rude. So i really think that Ford SE must be making hell lots of money.

can share who is that SE?

it is good to know not good SE right?

quite surprise to hear it as the sales volume of Ford has not been good for the past few years.

Had another flare-up of the "Leng Kee showroom" sickness... this time, the symptoms involved an urge to try out the new turbo Contis on the market = the Citroen C5 and the Ford Mondeo Ecobbost.

Both cars are quite similar in size and price (C5 exquisite and Mondeo are both 140++K, the cheaper version of the C5 is 20k less) but the Citroen is a Cat A car and the Ford a Cat B.

In terms of style and toys and super-duper cushy ride, the Citroen wins, but overall the Ford is a plainer but more complete driving package with enough go and space -- more legroom, better rear seats and a huge boot to swallow stuff...

The C5's 1.6L engine is OK but since they are both 1.5 tonne cars, the extra power and pull from the mondeo's 2L engine makes it more fun and more effortless to drive and the ride is very decent, even compared to the C5's hydraulic suspension.

Funny thing is that while the Ford SE was very eager to promote the new Mondeo, the Citroen guy actually made a case for the C4 Grand Picasso MPV after learning I had a kid!! The Picasso is cheaper at 124K with the same engine and gearbox as the C5.

Of course this will probably end up as yet another window shopping thing, but honestly in today's car market, who would still buy a Japanese or Korean car in this class when there are Conti rides like these priced so close or cheaper than the equivalent Camry or Accord or Teana??

Had another flare-up of the "Leng Kee showroom" sickness... this time, the symptoms involved an urge to try out the new turbo Contis on the market = the Citroen C5 and the Ford Mondeo Ecobbost.

Both cars are quite similar in size and price (C5 exquisite and Mondeo are both 140++K, the cheaper version of the C5 is 20k less) but the Citroen is a Cat A car and the Ford a Cat B.

In terms of style and toys and super-duper cushy ride, the Citroen wins, but overall the Ford is a plainer but more complete driving package with enough go and space -- more legroom, better rear seats and a huge boot to swallow stuff...

The C5's 1.6L engine is OK but since they are both 1.5 tonne cars, the extra power and pull from the mondeo's 2L engine makes it more fun and more effortless to drive and the ride is very decent, even compared to the C5's hydraulic suspension.

Funny thing is that while the Ford SE was very eager to promote the new Mondeo, the Citroen guy actually made a case for the C4 Grand Picasso MPV after learning I had a kid!! The Picasso is cheaper at 124K with the same engine and gearbox as the C5.

Of course this will probably end up as yet another window shopping thing, but honestly in today's car market, who would still buy a Japanese or Korean car in this class when there are Conti rides like these priced so close or cheaper than the equivalent Camry or Accord or Teana??

C5 is nice but its design pales in comparison to K5 in my view.

There are still the i45 and K5 which appeal to those seeking stylish sedans priced competitively with all the specs.

I would get the Ecoboost Mondeo for its drive and huge space if my budget is about 170k.Insignia would be a close second in the less mainstream conti segment.

hi all. love to hear more comments about the new mondeo vs insignia. in terms of durabilty, which is better? maintainance wise which is more economy? thanks.

was thinking of getting a ford mondeo of year 2008 to 2010? do you all think is a good buy. I read review on it and it seem was quite highly recommended.

haven't got a chance to test drive it

SE is Ge****?

cant remember her name. cos very TL after the testdrive .. didnt bother to get her namecard also. Surprisingly.. the SE at Peugeot was much more friendly. thro they under same coy.

I driven old ford xr3 / xr2 / mondeo / escort / Grandae in UK during my stay there, and my favourite car there is a Sierra Cosworth. So was quite excited that they launched the Ecoboost Mondeo. Knn happily got test drive, then LC SE so cocky and XL. Didnt even ask us abt the test drive. Straight tell us the price and trade in package, then non nego liao (we havent start nego yet).. take it of leave it. I also asked abt the Focus ST. Then she ask me what car i driving, so i told her i drive a WRX. Guess what is her reply ..?? "HOW CAN WRX COMPARE WITH FOCUS ST ??" "IS HEAVEN AND EARTH THING lei ..." Knn .. would anyone be not angry if u were me, my WRX very lao kui meh ?? regretted that i didnt raise my voice and bang table there.. really hope that Ford would close down in SG due to poor sales becos of SE like her.

Anyone face the same treatment as me before ..?? or just i'm the only unlcky one ?

cant remember her name. cos very TL after the testdrive .. didnt bother to get her namecard also. Surprisingly.. the SE at Peugeot was much more friendly. thro they under same coy.

I driven old ford xr3 / xr2 / mondeo / escort / Grandae in UK during my stay there, and my favourite car there is a Sierra Cosworth. So was quite excited that they launched the Ecoboost Mondeo. Knn happily got test drive, then LC SE so cocky and XL. Didnt even ask us abt the test drive. Straight tell us the price and trade in package, then non nego liao (we havent start nego yet).. take it of leave it. I also asked abt the Focus ST. Then she ask me what car i driving, so i told her i drive a WRX. Guess what is her reply ..?? "HOW CAN WRX COMPARE WITH FOCUS ST ??" "IS HEAVEN AND EARTH THING lei ..." Knn .. would anyone be not angry if u were me, my WRX very lao kui meh ?? regretted that i didnt raise my voice and bang table there.. really hope that Ford would close down in SG due to poor sales becos of SE like her.

Anyone face the same treatment as me before ..?? or just i'm the only unlcky one ?

no leh...............i went test drive twice...............with the same SE............both time did not buy..............but he still sms me very often with price updates, offer and promotions.............i have already decided if i change new car...............sure buy ford ...................and buy from him...........

No leh. My buying experience (Mondeo Ecoboost) 2 months back was very good. In fact, I got quite a hefty discount after nego.

Maybe telling you this is a baddest time to buy car. I remember reading the news few days ago that one conti dealer boss (who did not want to be named during interview) commented that this is not the time to buy car!!!

as of what other replied to u with totally good experience, i would like to add on to their good after sales service. thumbs up for their service. i did not buy first hand mondeo from thrm yet due to their negligence i was given a free servicing n warranty. their service attitude is just that good.

TS. maybe u can send an email thru their website regarding this n see what they can offer u. i guess it might just b misunderstanding? how can a se make such unprofessional statement. u shd clarify with them. let us knkw their respond in due course ya?

Maybe the SE got menus that day .. or we are just unlucky went on a wrong day on the mth. After so long, write email got effect meh ?? Got a friend who bot a Smax few mth back. Told him the same story, but he got a service from his SE and bot the Smax. Some SE are verry persistent... I still receiving SMS from Opel SE after one test drive long time ago .. Did anyone compare Opel Insignsia and Mondeo Ecoboost here ???