Best way to destroy viruses ?

Droozy

Hi all...

I have a persistent virus that whenever I plug in the thumbdrive .the virus has been there for 1 day + . Format my laptop already. Scan all removable hdd including thumbdrive - no virus. Then awhile later plug in my thumbdrive , again the same virus pop out. Irritating . Forget the virus name rt now . Anyone can help ?? [shakehead]

if the virus is still there now, then perhaps u can try to find out the name and put it here so it's easier for us to help..

normally virus should be remove when the entire disk is formatted.. so based on your desc.. the virus most likely reside on your thumbdrive if u have not formatted it too.

However, there are three ways you might still have the virus on your computer after reformatting the hard drive.

First, if you just use the FORMAT command, then maybe the virus isn't removed, because the virus isn't in partition C:. FORMAT simply puts empty file systems into partitions, while the virus resides outside all partitions, in the Master Boot Record.

Second, if the virus is running while you try to repartition your hard drive, the repartitioning will pretend to work, but won't really. You must have clean system diskettes to boot from, and be sure the BIOS CMOS is set to boot from a diskette in A: if it is present.

Third, and most common, unless you are very careful, it is very easy to reinfect the computer at some point during the whole reformatting process.

So my guess is that you have kenna the boot sector virus.

BTW,there'a a few websites that are good in virus removal.. try Symantec and McAfee Antivirus.. you should find all your answers at their sites. [nod]

Edited by Jacf

Like the guy said, it's on your thumbdrive. What anti-virus software are u using?

I've been using AntiVir for years and it never failed to catch stuff. Best thing about it is that it's FREE and it updates VERY frequently.

Runs fast and quietly in the background. No frills.

Install it, update it and scan every drive you have on your laptop, and every thumbdrive u have too. See what u can find.

http://www.free-av.com/en/download/1/avira..._antivirus.html

It served me well. Should serve you well too.

if u wan clean format.. you should download all the latest updates first... save to a clean thumbdrive... UNPLUG ur internet then start to format... patch back the updates, antivirus s/w then connect back ur internet... by ur comment.. seem like ur thumbdrive is the problem leh... y u never format the thumbdrive leh confused.gif

i got another idea. depends on how old is ur thumbdrive and how much it cost to replace similar one..

throw it away, or better yet, pass it to someone u dun like [lipsrsealed]

anyway, i was kidding abt the 2nd option. do give the bros' suggestions a try, but if the virus is some frigging hardcore one, then u might just save some headache by throwing it away. [laugh]

anyway, i use AVG and find it better than norton or mcafee anytime. used to pay for genuine norton or mcafee until someone told me abt avg. boy, how stupid did i feel [blush]

AVG is free btw, for the basic version. works well enuff for me [thumbsup]

some mindef computers also use AVG. [sly]

I think u did not update your anti virus. At one point whenever I plug in my portable hdd the antivirus identify my hdd's syn software as some sort of trojan virus. But actually it's nothing one lah.

I have formated the thumbdrive already . scan no virus . Then paraniod again scan one more time the virus reappear !!! I update my norton antivirus quite frequently actually.

This am try again got the virus in the lappy at c:/restore/... then norton manage to quarranttine it and then I manage to delete away . Scan the full system again. no more virus.. now dun know whether is the virus still there ? Or shall I format my lappy for the third time ..stress [shakehead]

Now I cant find the name of the virus liao. I read that it attaches to all removable drives and spread thru this way too [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

I encounter b4. Damn pek chaik. Have to download and try a few anti virus to get rid. But I did not format my drive cos too troublesome. That time I using Norton also after that no more, waste my money. Free download one is so much better.

Thanks . I already read this and tried before posting this thread. No use .some of the links which are supposed to be deleted cant find too [sweatdrop] ..but thanks bro [thumbsup]

Thanks so much bro.. writing down all this and hope can download this to another partition D drive before attempting to format the lappy again tonight. stress . They are real powerful !

The Best and Easiest way, GET A MAC...

www.apple.com

Hi all...

I have a persistent virus that whenever I plug in the thumbdrive .the virus has been there for 1 day + . Format my laptop already. Scan all removable hdd including thumbdrive - no virus. Then awhile later plug in my thumbdrive , again the same virus pop out. Irritating . Forget the virus name rt now . Anyone can help ?? [shakehead]

I once found a worm much like W32.Ircbrute called AdobeR. It is also spread by usb drives.

These kind of virus install themselves everywhere so even when you thought you clean up and reboot...it comes up again.

Check Symantec removal instruction:

http://www.symantec.com/security_response/...2448-99&tabid=3

For many virus:

Check the processes it is running. Find and stop those processes.

Look at any Services that it attempts to install: Start> Run> services.msc

Or just use Codestuff starter

http://codestuff.mirrorz.com/

and look at the 3 tabs: Startups, Process and Services

Check and delete those that are installed by the virus. You need to do a bit of work and check out all the processes using Google.