Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 30, 2003 Share June 30, 2003 (edited) While some of the brudders/Sisters went to PG. A couple of us decided to head further up North to relax and some sun tanning session. Having to sleep only at 1:30am after returning from our Regular Friday Meetup. I had to wake up at 4:30am (but alarm didn't work). Lucky thing was, Sparrow gave me a morning call at 5am. At 6am, I reach Tua West Road. Waiting for another 2 fellow to join the Convey, But one of them decided to wait at another place. At about 7am, we are on our way to Ayer Hitam - Mersing. A total of 8 cars. I was kind of disappointed with Gadie, cos she only managed to clock 180.... Scooby have done it better than her. Anyway, Princess managed to took a snap on the meter (after trying for 5 mins).... P.S: Picture is blur. Edited June 30, 2003 by Gadgeter ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 30, 2003 Author Share June 30, 2003 while I sorting out the rest of the pic. Here's an story extract from Rainbowsix. (I hope he don't mind) ************************************************************************** Field report from rainbowsix Woke up early (4plus am) and went to gf's house to fetch her. Had two cups of coffee, one at my place and one at hers. Filled with caffine and my car filled with 3/4 tank of petrol, proceeded to the meetup point in Tuas. Got lost cuz turn left instead of right. Had to make a long U-turn and was the third car to arrive. Ate breakfast of bread and waited for 45 minutes before the last guy (well, second last actually) to arrive at the designated meetup point. No names will be mentioned to protect the guilty btw. *lol* Met up with the other guy who waited at the wrong place and thus had to make another long u-turn. Deja vu. Checked the time and realised could have slept for almost 1 hour if meet straightaway at Tuas Checkpoint instead. Got lost at the first turn and end up with PTP with another person. Tried calling the other person but got a sleepy voice instead. Dun believe and called again and got the same voice. The person I was trying to call contacted me instead and gave directions to meetup. The mystery was solved after I realised I didn't add +65 to the person's number. Missed the first petrol station cuz got lost and had to detour to PTP. Tank reading was slightly below 3/4. Crossed to the other side and Sparrow flew past. Tried to catch up but missed him and end up going wrong turn again. Fortunately, Cool followed behind thinking I knew the way. A classic case of the blind follwing the blind. Got lost and phone calls and furious map reading followed. Finally went back to the toll booth that is the start of the NS highway with Cool's help. Thanks Cool! Really appreciate u being around. Dun kill me for getting us lost hor? *lol* Started attacking the NS highway with Cool and we overtook many cars including a wedding car with two cars in escort. Halfway through, received calls asking how long were we as the main group reached the first checkpoint already. During the drive, got to max out in my third, fourth and fifth gear. My gf took note of my tacho and speedometer readings as I was concentrating on the road. Reached the first checkpoint and we proceeded to Ayer Hitam for duck noodles and wan tan mee... (To be continued) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 30, 2003 Author Share June 30, 2003 Field report from rainbowsix Part 2 After a good breakfast kindly sponsored by myself, and the last two guys who arrive last and made us u-turn in Singapore, we proceeded to Tanjung Leman. The traffic in the towns were quite tricky as there are always slow traffic in front of us and fast oncoming traffic on the other lane. To prevent me from getting lost again, I stick closely to DL's black butt. Soon, we left the towns and hit a series of winding curves and bends, upslopes and downslopes. Traffic was light and the group proceeded to drive at a faster pace. I think I like this part of the drive best as NS highway rather boring to me. And also, there are no exits so just keep driving and driving, turning and feeling all the G-forces while negotiating the many bends. Good thing about manual cars is downshifting and I had fun shifting up and down to tackle the curves. The drive was longer than expected and we reached Tanjung Leman around noon. By this time, my petrol reached 1/4 tank. Having no comms access and a lack of preplanning as well as the earlier detours means I did not get a chance to top up my fuel tank. I also forgot to check my mileage so cannot give any mileage figures. After paying RM$145 for the deluxe room, was really disappointed at the state of the room. (Sorry if I am being critical). The door was so flimsy and the lock is those bedroom kind of lock. Meaning if a serious intruder were to barge in, there is little security. And a screwdriver is all I need to open the lock anyway. *shakes head* The aircon in our rooms have a tendency to shut itself off. Maybe it is some energy saving feature but I dun like to get up and turn it on. Also, the thermostat control was missing in all our rooms. Good thing my room temperature is not too low though my gf complain it is very cold. *good excuse to hug her though* My two wall lights do not have proper switches to turn them on cuz already some previous occupant(s) decided they would make good souvenirs. Good thing DL's room has two and one of them not working so he gave me. I went back to my room and found that only one of the two lights working. *shakes head again* The toilet door cannot be closed and there is no heater so the water is cold. Good thing my skin is thick though. *more excuse to hug my gf* The toilet seat was undone and we had to sit on the cold marble (argghhhh!) to do our big business. The wardrobe door came out the minute I tried to open it so I left it alone in case the wardrobe dismantles itself next and I have to pay for room damages. The floor seemed rather dusty and thus, we kept our footwear on and also, someone else room had a centipede as an unwelcome guest. That person might like to identify himself later on and even share his jacuzzi experience if he so desires. The food service at the "restaurant" at the resort is so-so and I intially ordered fried rice for my gf while I took the mee goreng. Good thing I saw the fried rice which someone aptly described it as plain rice sprinkled with some green peas. I quickly changed the order to two mee gorengs instead and fortunately, the mee goreng tasted better and they cost RM3.50 each. Fried rice also the same price btw. After lunch, me and DL went to look for a petrol station but only found one without any brand. Better not to take the risk so we returned empty and my tank dipped below 1/4. I estimate I can travel for another 100 or so km before I have to siphon petrol from other forumers, some of whom will charge me a hand and leg for their service. *lol* For dinner, the group decided to venture to Mersing and thus, we left in 5 cars. Myself and gf hitched a ride in DL's car cuz my fuel running low. Also, I always wanted to ride in DL's car cuz I like Preseas and I like a fast driver. Petrol was pumped for the other cars and we went to an air-conditioned chinese seafood restaurant for dinner. The bill for each couple came up only RM23 or about S$5 per head. Super cheap, man! Some of the folks decided to get supper and breakfast as well cuz not too impressed with the mee goreng and fried rice experience at the resort. So we happily stock up the food and even went KFC to celebrate someone's belated BD together. Interestingly, it seems KFC Malaysia got more variants than SG's ones. Went back to our rooms and the drive back was dark and I am glad to be in DL's car with him driving and me and my gf enjoying the ride. I hear him above the music of Initial D playing in his car complaining they are going too slow (60km/h to be precise). For the last leg, DL was the lead car but a blue Proton taxi overtook the whole convoy going top speed all the way. I guess they must be really used to the road and darkness and all. It was a pity I didn't drive my car but to have my gf resting her head on my shoulder in the back of DL's Presea is even better... (To be continued) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 30, 2003 Author Share June 30, 2003 Field report from rainbowsix Part 3 The next day, we left the resort early at 10 am. Before that, myself and a bunch of hungry folks went further down the beach for breakfast. The prices here are RM2 for mee goreng/nasi lemak. All of us agree the food tasted much better than yesterday's. We set off again, this time towards Kota Tinggi for the waterfalls. My car fuel tank reserve light flashed and I decided better to top up my tank lest I get stranded. Top up BP RON 97 (the other choice was RON 92). With my tank full, feel so much better and started to know my car's potential as well as mine on the twisty roads. Unfortanately, heavy rain forced us to skip Kota Tinggi and we went JB for car accessories. I got myself a can for inflating flat tires for RM4.50 Maybe I can chuck away my spare tire and gain 3 bhp in the process. *lol* Also got some air fresheners at $1 each. Having tried the SG kind, not too impressed really but then again, maybe the M'sia one could be better? Anyway, the low price makes it so attractive. Went to Taman Sentosa for lunch, ate wan tan mee again cuz highly recommended by the "ti tou she" or "underground snake" and drank lime with honey. Both are very good! The group then spilt into two with one going for more shopping while the second going for car wash. Since my car rather dirty and I am lazy to wash myself, I went with the second group. Cost me RM8 to have my car washed and while the car was being washed, went to Holiday Plaza for some quick shopping. There was a jam as expected on the causeway and I got back SG in about 1 hour. On the way back, gf remarked that 80 km/h seems slow compared to the speed we travelled in M'sia and this morning on the expressway, I feel exactly the same thing. It is as if everything is now in slow motion. Also, my car feels so much responsive now and it is like a new car, or rather, better than a new car. Looking forward to the next M'sia trip with great anticipation. End of rainbowsix field report. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 30, 2003 Author Share June 30, 2003 From Gadgeter Part 2. At around 8:00am, we reached Ayer Hitam, after waiting for 1/2 hour on the NS highway for 2 members whom decided to head towards J.B instead of KL. At 8:20am, we managed to find some makan place where 7 of us managed to park (1 decided to park at the road oppsite). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bleuzone 1st Gear June 30, 2003 Share June 30, 2003 Nice story! Sounds like you guys had fun... Now I feel like going on a road trip too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 30, 2003 Author Share June 30, 2003 Here's a pic of some hungry Singaporean.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 30, 2003 Author Share June 30, 2003 (edited) From Gadgeter Part 3. At 9am, we decide to continue our journey towards Mersing. while on the way, I happen to saw a Cefiro drifted unintentionally.. we travelled an average of 130km/h on some roads... At 11:40am, We reached Mersing. Edited June 30, 2003 by Gadgeter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 30, 2003 Author Share June 30, 2003 From Gadgeter Part 4. At 12pm, we checked into our rooms, nothing fanastic for RM145!!! At 12:30pm. We had our lunch at the only Restuarant in the Resort. At about 1pm, most of us have headed for the sea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 30, 2003 Author Share June 30, 2003 (edited) From Gadgeter Part 5. At 4:25pm, we are ready to head towards Mersing town for our dinner. The journey to town took about 1/2 hour at an average speed of 120km/h. Edited June 30, 2003 by Gadgeter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 30, 2003 Author Share June 30, 2003 (edited) From Gadgeter Part 6. Had our dinner at a local seafood restuarant.. Food was okie. After Dinner, we went to KFC to have some desserts. Something which we used to have in Singapore KFC. After the desserts at KFC, we decided to head back to Base camp. Sparrow was the lead, but due to the fact that the car in front of sparrow refused to give way and we were doing 60km/h for 15mins.. I (2nd car in convey) was going to fall asleep, and then I made an decision.... I decides to overtake the lead car and head for the darkness (I can't see clearly at night).. I managed to overcame my own barrier for night driving when I was doing a average of 110km/h on the small roads.. It was fun! End of my report. The rest was well covered by RB6 report: http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi...t=257158#257104 Edited June 30, 2003 by Gadgeter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 30, 2003 Author Share June 30, 2003 Picture taken on the way back (by the roadside) while waiting for the other 3 cars to join back the convey. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 30, 2003 Author Share June 30, 2003 Nice story! Sounds like you guys had fun... Now I feel like going on a road trip too... I was too tired . Else, could have taken more picture. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 30, 2003 Author Share June 30, 2003 (edited) Here's some picture taken by Presea. Edited June 30, 2003 by Gadgeter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 30, 2003 Author Share June 30, 2003 somemore: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 30, 2003 Author Share June 30, 2003 more from presea Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sins Neutral Newbie June 30, 2003 Share June 30, 2003 Hey Sun Tanned, thanks for letting me cut in yesterday at Marina. Hee! Hee! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 30, 2003 Author Share June 30, 2003 No problem.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...