Burberry or Coach for purse - price difference?

Elixir

Long time din log in. Thinking of getting a purse for my gf for her birthday. Anyone of you bought wallets for your gfs before or ladies here can give some opinions? or any other brands? any big price difference? which is more worth it? off hand thinking about max. SGD 250.

or any other brands? not an expert in these luxury items so looking for some ideas here.

Thank you.

if u haf frens going overseas maybe u should ask them to help u buy one of those rare pieces there. ur gf sure like it.

or how about..a wedding ring? [sly]

I travel a lot, but mainly to AP region. One of my friend said buy Blue label for Burberry in Japan but I don't go japan often.

Thinking of getting at Changi Airport, should have less 7% cos of GST?

ring is tooooo...early.

Spent it on a posh dinner instead. Nowadays ppl like to steal branded purse or small handbags. My wife's colleagues leave their branded purse/handbag on their desks during break/lunch time, one by one kenna stolen.

My wife told me not to waste money when I suggested to buy a branded bag for her birthday. She dun want her things to be targeted by thieves. [:/]

blue label is the lower end compare to London..but i prefer the black label wallet for guys..the design is more simple and nicer overall..

overall Burberry still nicer compare to Coach imo

why dun get Longchamp??around ur budget and v swee

Edited by Freestylers09

never heard of longchamp. let me surf and see.. I think pampering once a year on such things are ok. IMO, its to pricey to spend hundreds or 1000s of thousands on a bag or wallet. MIne is barun buffel and I got it with Taka vouchers and credit card points hahhahah...

The rest of the year just a lot of free TLCS..hehahahaaa...

Lately I just saw a lot of ladies carrying Burberry or coach, esp coach, maybe its very popular lately..

if u frequent KL often can try Juicy Couture also..in singapore their branch opening soon at taka...nearest is KL..its from US..

sometimes the unique of the bag is even better than spending so much on the other brands...just like quite rare here

I just came back from Hokkaido group tour. So many ppl bought blue label burberry. Almost every women bought a bag or something. My wife and I are the blurberries. Walked out and went shopping at Donki.

Coach was allegedly cheaper in japan than in singapore? Many also bought coach bags there. Really high spenders in my group. But I think I spent the most cos I bought another Nikon D80 there. Unfortunately not much discount this time. Probably same price as singapore as Singapore now clearing this as old stock.

hmm..i guess when one goes overseas, they just shop lah, its normal. The feeling is different even though u can buy the same thing in singapore.

I think burberry should be much more expensive than coach. Need to ask my gf which one she likes.

dun buy coach in singapore. It is really much cheaper in US, like half priced and less. Burberry is better priced in singapore especially if there is a sale.

if u haf frens going overseas maybe u should ask them to help u buy one of those rare pieces there. ur gf sure like it.

or how about..a wedding ring? [sly]

a georg jensen fusion ring would be nice :)

At $7500 it is surely "rare" and not easily copied by imitators.

http://www.georgjensen.com/English/Collect...ons/Fusion.aspx

Edited by Mnphosis

Wow, din know there is blue/black label for burberry wallets, what about the HAYMARKET WALLET? is what label?

anyway is burberry considered branded?

Was looking at de Coach at Ngee Ann City 2 weeks ago. Most of the ladies purse, newer ones ard 400. Smaller and sales item ard 200.

If u want 2 shop at Changi airport, got to go there early. Not sure if they give discount for those PPS.

Go to airport T3 the inside area got Mulberry...It is a good brand but not popular in Singapore...Their things are nice and can withstand the test of time...But usually I will get them from factory outlet in London where they are selling with good discount for off season designed...Coach...As per what others say...US is almost 50% discount...I got myself a leather sling bag for about USD400...It was selling for nearly a 4 digit number in Singapore just for the canvas version which was much cheaper compare to mine...

Burberry wallet models <$250 are made in China factory.

The UK-made ones are >$500. Checked with their Hilton Hotel outlet liao.

Similarly for their handbags. Know this, if you want to avoid China-made Burberries (still the original thingy though).

Similarly, Coach - even if bought in the USA. Some are made in Korea.

So really depends on your satisfication level in putting money on such things, not made in the 'original' country of manufacture.

Even for LV handbags. Not all are made in France.

I usually check for the "Made In France" label inside, before buying any LV product.

One brand that has most of its products still made in France is Hermes.

But then a classic Hermes handbag can cost you >S$10,000.

Bought a small Hermes coin purse once for my wife and paid $1,750.

Lower down scale, brands like Prada still has wallet models made in Italy for <$300.

Braun & Buffel mostly now made in China.

About 15-20 years ago, all their product had "Made In Germany" stamped proudly inside.

Still have one of those in my car.

Same argument on Gold Pfeil .... but still can get some "Made in Germany" models today, though not much.

Loewe - only some models (e.g. deer skin) still made in Spain. The rest Made in China - cow leather.

So it all depends on your gf.

For my case, my wife does mind.

Edited by W210k