Trusty 1st Gear October 16, 2008 Share October 16, 2008 any must-go place, must-buy stuff to intro while in melbourne this month end? then if travelling to adelaide by GOR, by coach or by self drive better to enjoy scenery? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear October 16, 2008 Share October 16, 2008 Buy milk. Lots of milk. No lah, see if you can buy property there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ldawn88 2nd Gear October 16, 2008 Share October 16, 2008 Rent a car there. Over at Melbourne, the scenary is better when you drive and enjoy at your own pace. Stop and take pictures along the coast and stop for fish and chips. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trusty 1st Gear October 16, 2008 Author Share October 16, 2008 im concern with the accomodation if i were to drive along the way. any nice and safe ones? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marquee Clutched October 16, 2008 Share October 16, 2008 Rent a car and drive. Get one with GPS and I am sure you can get around pretty easy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ldawn88 2nd Gear October 16, 2008 Share October 16, 2008 well, do you have any in mind? If not, most of those motels are safe. over there, you are mostly on the move most of the time. According to my experience, I did not book any motels prior. I simply stopped by at the major towns like clayton, caulfield, franskton when I travelled. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yc86 Clutched October 16, 2008 Share October 16, 2008 If you're into Nike, Adidas, New Balance and other sporting brands and outdoor stuff/apparels, check out the factory outlet stores at Smiths street, just a 10-15min tram ride from the city central. Can get quite a good bargain Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gs300999s Clutched October 16, 2008 Share October 16, 2008 any must-go place, must-buy stuff to intro while in melbourne this month end? then if travelling to adelaide by GOR, by coach or by self drive better to enjoy scenery? Melbourne to Adelaide at least 7-8 hours if you drive. Roads are easy and signage are clear, no worries, no need GPS definitely, I have done it at least 5-6 times. For Melbourne, nothing much to buy. If you are into sheepskin and stuff, its a good bargain compare to Singapore. Big shopping mall like chadstone has got everything under one roof, but its like a Takashimaya with modern stores. Melbourne Central (the mall not the area) has got pretty much most of what shops have to offer in Melbourne. Have a meal in China Town, thats Little Burkes Street, pretty HK style but good food at reasonable prices. I suggest you go to Chapel street or high street for more local australian fashions if that is what you are looking for. Driving around everywhere is easy and parking is quite easy as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modykoh 1st Gear October 16, 2008 Share October 16, 2008 get a big cc car..the difference between a 1.6 and a 3.6 is very small. check out the hand over car policy from state to state. some smaller car rental dont allow to hand over at diff state. Also seem that the car rental at airport is cheaper then in the city... for adelaide, adalaide hills , good winery kangerro islands mersing beach ... a nudist beach. summer time is eye opening. a must for me.jhee hee china town,, try the chines rest on the xiao long pau try the steak...some rest sell, 500 g streak at only less then 25bx..really value for money..fresh and tender. for wine, try the brand 555, white wine.. casino at the city main station. for melbourne.. is like sg, shopping and shopping.. go out for country tour... Buy a X platinum calling card to call back sg...super cheap...10bux for 1,000 min.. remember to refresh the call by dialling *# to keep calling..no need to pay a second charge... btw: wat is GOR?? for me take the domestic flight..better,, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear October 16, 2008 Share October 16, 2008 any must-go place, must-buy stuff to intro while in melbourne this month end? then if travelling to adelaide by GOR, by coach or by self drive better to enjoy scenery? melbourne nothing special in particlar leh... but there is just a sense of calmness about that place that i cannot explain.. even in crown casino.... just sidtrack abit... the town/village surrounding blue mountain (sydney) is quite special.... worth taking alook. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trusty 1st Gear October 16, 2008 Author Share October 16, 2008 no experience in this and no plans in mind. how about caravans? are they convenient as in getting to places and parking or sleeping in the nite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trusty 1st Gear October 16, 2008 Author Share October 16, 2008 im not into sporty goods but i will check that out thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trusty 1st Gear October 16, 2008 Author Share October 16, 2008 great info thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trusty 1st Gear October 16, 2008 Author Share October 16, 2008 i was informed airport rentals comes with taxes. bigger cars like the Audi a6 cost like 100aud per day. GOR is the great ocean road im planning to do going to adelaide. domestic flight thou they are cheap but i wont be able to enjoy the fullest of the trip already. wanna take tons of pictures where can i get the calling card? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modykoh 1st Gear October 16, 2008 Share October 16, 2008 the calling card can get from those shop selling phone card wan...so far i had try this X platinum..very clear... i toke a mit 3.6 for 100 plus come in insurance.. my friend toke a 1.6 yaris at 80 plus... check out the info: http://www.southaustralia.com/sg/ enjoy your trip.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear October 16, 2008 Share October 16, 2008 For shopping, you may like to check out HabourTown while you're at Adelaide... Branded stuff at factory prices. http://www.harbourtownadelaide.com.au/ The Melbourne HarbourTown is opening in a few days too. http://www.waterfrontcity.com.au/Retail/Ha...93/Default.aspx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ldawn88 2nd Gear October 16, 2008 Share October 16, 2008 There is no need to get caravans. No problem getting parking most of the time, unless in the Melbourne city. no experience in this and no plans in mind. how about caravans? are they convenient as in getting to places and parking or sleeping in the nite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear October 17, 2008 Share October 17, 2008 (edited) Mel to Ade is a long route. Especially if u go by GOR. Self-drive will be better. U stop as & when u like. I drove the whole GOR starting from the ferry from Sorrento to Queenscliff. First time i see wild dolpines!!! Then stop over every single GOR towns all the way until portland. Nice sleepy towns. Enjoy the sea-view while u drive along the cliff-roads. Quite an experience. Apollo bay had the best sea scenary. Can stop over @ Otway tree-top walk or the lighthose. There are penty of lavender farms in the portland area too. I wonder why they call it 12 apostles when i can only count 6-7 big rocks there. i think 1 big rock recently collapse liao. Adelaide wise i cant advise much cos didnt go. Actually from portland onwards to adelaide, not much to see liao. Just endless road like the NSH. I drove up north to halls gap. Hell a lot of wild deers, koala bears, kangroos there, then ballarat and back to mel. Choose a nice big car for comfort. I drove a 4ltr Ford Terrority that time. Just enjoy the drive, and dont rush. btw Edited October 17, 2008 by Hiphiphoray ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...