Need help! My friend's car knock into a cab.

Haha

Hi need some help here. My friend knock into a cab's bumper. But is just a slight knock. And both cars has no physical damage or anything. But the cab driver insist on getting my friend's particulars. So they exchanged and my friend took the picture of both cars showing there is no damage. The cab driver said his company will check the car thoroughly to see if there is any damage and stuff. So now should my friend call the cab company to inform them of this incident first before he cook up some story? Or inform the insurance company and affect her NCD? Thanks alot for the help!

your friend MUST report the accident within 24hrs to protect herself. when she finally decides whether to pay cash or claim, is up to her.

accidents with taxis are always headaches ... if they knock u nevermind - just claim. but if u knock them ... sigh ...

Can do both. If I remembered correctly, the new rule from the insurance companies says that have to inform them of any accident.

Edited by Firefly968

yea better ask your fren to cover herself. hey this scenario possible? I mean can the cabbie CHOOSE NOT TO REPORT and settle himself?

1) Cab tie up with some crap workshop

2) Replace whatever story they can replace

3) Bill to ur fren's insurance.

4) Workshop cash back some to cabbie

normally cab shld go back to their own workshop... knocked into a cab b4... and the cab went back to the cab company to repair... if big co like comfort... dun think they will cheat pple ba...

but there might be a possibility for them to make up stories... like... alignment.. internal parts of the car.. so on...

but since she took a photo.. itz already a safeguard... so she can wait for the taxi to claim then check the invoice with her insurance co.. see what the taxi claim lor...

so in whatever way, it will affect her NCD? [:/]

so for now shd just report to IDAC so as to have a report to back her up? is there a need to inform the insurance co. also? cos im thinking if in the end the cab driver didnt report and we report to the insurance co, it might affect her NCD. Just pondering over this questions..

Must report no matter what... If never report... the insurance co would not bear the cost.. and if.. touch wood.. the cabbie claim... a lot of $$... then she would get into trouble... Itz an offence not to report I think..

But if the cabbie claim liao.. then the amt is v small.. she can pay off herself.. and NCD would not be affected... so if the amt is more ex than her NCD... then dun bother to pay lo...

For my case... the cabbie also a little dent.. ended up 900+ claim (I made a mistake by not taking down the damages la..)... itz more than my NCD.. so to avoid trouble.. in the end I let AIG settle it.. then the next year change insurance co... [flowerface]

End up my insurance premium this yr is 1k less than my last yr premium... [:|]

Hi need some help here. My friend knock into a cab's bumper. But is just a slight knock. And both cars has no physical damage or anything. But the cab driver insist on getting my friend's particulars. So they exchanged and my friend took the picture of both cars showing there is no damage. The cab driver said his company will check the car thoroughly to see if there is any damage and stuff. So now should my friend call the cab company to inform them of this incident first before he cook up some story? Or inform the insurance company and affect her NCD? Thanks alot for the help!

Get your friend to report to her insurance company ASAP.. pretty sure the cab will file a claim of repair and loss of earning.. [:|]

i will suggest you ask your friend to pay the cab driver $500 (even if nothing wrong) $1000 (if need to respary) go outside to repair and not report to the cab company.

Once cab go back to company report accident, then sure claim more then $3000 or more!

cost all taxi is under 3yr old... and is replace all part! and with their lawyer surely more then 3-4k, so just pay the driver $500 and tell him not to report, and sign a letter with date & time say $500 to cover the accident, and he will not claim, then keep the letter & photo.

But bro...most taxi driver CCB one...they will claim loss of use of job, claim whiplash, claimnew bumper and take a holiday to Maldives...KNN....my friends kena before...furious.giffurious.giffurious.gif

so best is not to let taxi go back company report!

if is just a small dent, just them to go to your workshop to repair, then pay then $200 for a day income, total less then 1k which will be cheaper then they go back to their company! which every claim will be at least $3k or 5k!

so you can save your NCB which will be gone if they claim!

wah piang. even if the picture obviously show theres not even a little damage at all?! this is sxxt. [dizzy]

they will say alignment out, internal parts of the taxi gone...

this is taxi company can earn from here, that's why they have their workshop, even they never change new, also report say change new bumper!!! and each bumper cost $1500 and they workshop need $1000 to fix if up! just don't let driver report to the company!

then they help driver claim loss of income (see how much the driver report, if that driver report earn $3000 or $5000 a mth) then you also got to pay... then they use their lawyer and cost you $1500 also...

for those had accident with taxi know all these... and learn! if you in the wrong just pay them and let them sign DO NOT go report to their company!

Try talking to the taxi driver again. See if he's willing to do a private settlement or not.

I once knocked into a taxi rear bumper when changing lane. It was also a slight knock at his rear right corner. Had a discussion with him and in the end, he only went to my workshop to repair. Total cost $80. Say my thanks to him after that. Perhaps we are both Hainanese helps. [laugh]

But frankly, only 2 out of 10 taxi drivers are nice people. No harm trying though. Good luck to your friend! [nod]

Edited by Fcw75

yup NCD will be affected definitely. Now no need to report to IDAC. Just report to ins coy workshop to filed report. You are right in a way to state that if cab didn't claim her insurance, her NCD might be affected because there is claims reserve being created. There is a way to go around it which the ins coy will get your frd to sign a declaration form allowing her the NCD if she renew the insurance with the same ins coy. If there is any claims occuring, she will have to top up the differences in the premium. If she go to other insurance coy and wants her NCD, she will have to sign another form of declaration form to take over the conduct or claims of the cab. I will advise to sign this kind of declaration form unless you are confident that the cab will not filed a claims against your friend. To negotiate private settelment with cab is difficult cos they always claim loss of income, rental of the cab, etc..