Gearoil 1st Gear October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 If you REALLY want to discuss issues that would shame Sillypore ...there would be many..like banning chewing gum, speaking only at Speakers Corner where there is really no corner ...blah..blah..blah But you should also understand one thing. Different countries have their weird laws and rules. Noboby says you can't leave here if you so don't like it. But if this was the case, why would so many ppl from other countries prefer to flock here other than to stay back in their country? Don't tell me the other countries laws and rules are even worse than here? So if you were to look at issues more widely....suddenly, you'll find that you're so lucky to be here than in other places! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lv3338 Clutched October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 (edited) what is the definition of "public places" when they are not meant for public.. or..these are state land parks / garmetn places....a new word to add into your dictionary... or maybe "ah gong secret garden" Edited October 15, 2008 by Lv3338 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ginx Neutral Newbie October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 All i can say is that this is f**kin ridiculous.. Maybe they should start fines for farting in trains too, unproper use of public trains.. Sounds ridiculous but hey this is Singapore.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 nope. so are u telling me that u choose to believe the political news but not the rest? or u choose to take things which paint the authorities in a negative light, with a pinch of salt? do explain to me . u seems to be generally pro-gahmen (nothing wrong with that), so i took it that u among most pple wud believe the press more than the avg person. of course seems that my assumption was off in this case, IMHO, quite simple, so i took it at face value. but as u pointed out, it may have mistakes. just like how most articles written about opposition members are not worth the paper they are printed on Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 (edited) no need to think so much. we are all human. there's such thing called "honest mistake", and have u heard of "first, 2nd, 3rd>> strikeout"? ok, in SG a bit too hard to ask for 3 strikes and u are out. but at least 1st strike which is warning. nvm, let's see how the story unfolds. and in case u have been misunderstanding me all this while, i'm definitely NOT 666 club Edit: this reply is for gearoil, not u Edited October 15, 2008 by Boyboy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic October 15, 2008 Author Share October 15, 2008 bro, you seem to be quite "approving" of what has happened .... well, of course every coutry has laws, every home got rules etc, but this is really .... No point comparing with other places, I live here.Leave here, brother .... you think go watch movie ah ?? dun like can leave anytime ...... For a fine to be imposed, something(law) must be broken or something negative results in an action ..... For eg. many traffic offences could cause accident, thus bodily injuries or even death .... never put coupon kenna fine , because they clearly stated rules of parking .... for thefts, assault, rape -> these are clearly in the statutes/law ..... Tell me , how does sleeping on a bench constitute an offence ?? misuse ?? abuse ?? which son of a gun ever state that one cant rest/sleep on a bench ?? If I bring my family to play in the park, then my little one tired and slept on the bench, this is wrong ?!?! I'm utterly disappointed with our authorities in this case ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 1) i read everything with a pinch of salt, political or not. 2) Would it be an honest mistake if there was money being passed around? 3) It seems there are some you take at face value and some as propaganda..... bias you say? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 if it isn't written by "political correspondents", and isn't on local politics, i'd think the papers are generally reliable. the problem is, many things are indirectly political, e.g. use house brands, singapore "won't be in recession".. etc etc anyway, are u bias too? based on one incident where ur friend is misrepresented, u do not even trust a simple news story anyway, what do u mean by money being passed ard? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xmenfreak2 Neutral Newbie October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 Well now maybe they will put this sign in our car parks too.. phew.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 the key word is misrepresented. If it is misrepresented is fine.... but when there is money being passed around then it is not a simple case of misrepresention... Which is why i do not just dismissed the news but take it with a pinch of salt. And i had never dismissed the 'propaganda' that some people have been saying. Got difference you know..... Once you encounter you will know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoongf 4th Gear October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 The land above Orchard MRT is not a designated park. It is considered state land, under SLA. Therefore, Nparks Act do not cover such properties. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 bro, you seem to be quite "approving" of what has happened .... well, of course every coutry has laws, every home got rules etc, but this is really .... No point comparing with other places, I live here.Leave here, brother .... you think go watch movie ah ?? dun like can leave anytime ...... For a fine to be imposed, something(law) must be broken or something negative results in an action ..... For eg. many traffic offences could cause accident, thus bodily injuries or even death .... never put coupon kenna fine , because they clearly stated rules of parking .... for thefts, assault, rape -> these are clearly in the statutes/law ..... Tell me , how does sleeping on a bench constitute an offence ?? misuse ?? abuse ?? which son of a gun ever state that one cant rest/sleep on a bench ?? If I bring my family to play in the park, then my little one tired and slept on the bench, this is wrong ?!?! I'm utterly disappointed with our authorities in this case ...... Maybe if I try to explain to you in an more 'exceptable' manner. There are examples of ppl who sleep and loitier around parks, street, alley, void decks etc... and these set a bad example for others to follow. Moreover, you must understand that there are a lot of unemployed FTs who can really sleep around for the whole day. This can be seen in the Jalan Besar and Little India area where they literally sleep everywhere. Maybe the authority is trying to tell these 'sleepers' that certain parks are being patrolled and they can't sleep around in them like what they do in those areas above. Rules written or even placed as a sign are useless. To handle certain types of ppl, you need to hang a couple of them as examples, so that the intended message is sent out loud and clear and the deterrent so set, will benefit other genuine park users. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 yes u need to hang them to warn recalcitrants for pple like u and i, proper signage will do just fine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic October 15, 2008 Author Share October 15, 2008 while I agree with you on the deterrence part, this then boils down to the innocents being sucked into their silly little games ?? The random application of rules is not healthy .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 This is not totally the case. The offender has a avenue to appeal which he chose NOT to. The intended effect is to have him brought to notice that such offence can be taken to task and with due consideration by the 'upper' to have a intended effect on the public, once news of such an event took place...is all that is needed and intended. But the bugger is so 'complacent' even to save his own skin ( in this case his pocket) that he rather just paid the fine. If the fine had been $2K which is rather steep instead of $200, I think such a complacent person would also borrow to pay such a fine. This case was similiar to one that involve feeding the monkeys, which had the fellow fined initially to the tune of $4K which made him appealled, not because of the 'sense of injustice' but soley becos of the amount that he was fined. On appeal, his fine was reduced much. So what conclusion can you draw? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic October 15, 2008 Author Share October 15, 2008 (edited) Tio Fine bo-pah-kay ? Ok, now I see your point, but boy what a hassle and merry go round method .. 1 only layman, 1 day eat 3 meals, 1 week cum once enuff liao ...... --> just give me the damn signage !!! but really, there are many who will kuai kuai go pay any OR GONG they get, not that they are complacent. Edited October 15, 2008 by Othello Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 Some are plain complacent...most are spineless and will obey when BOSS in white issues order to them! Which is not surprising, being the climate and culture created here. But the most surprising thing is, amongst themselves ( the peasants) they will readily 'take on each other'. Hmm...so they are selectively complacent and selectively spineless! like being grown, nutured and lab cultured to know 'Who you can risk fighting with' and 'who you can't do so! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged October 15, 2008 Share October 15, 2008 Aiya, don't go to parks lah ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...