Motul V300 5W-30

Yewhiong

I think maybe the motor version better.. Think about it, motorcycles normally rev more harder than cars, especially big bikes, so they have to formulate it to compensate this even though it might be the same W figures. I am not sure but this is how I figure it out.

Went there once to do my servicing as well but not with the 300V. Went for the normal Motul instead. Still a fantastic oil! Can't imagine what the 300V will feel like, but am determined to try it out next time!

How much is their 300V servicing package eh? Problem is my ride needs servicing every 5k, so am on cheapo mineral oil (still Motul though) [:(] If I get addicted to 300V...DIE lah!! [knife]

their motul 300v package is $150 exlcuding wheel rotation, $160 inclusive wheel rotation. inclusive of all the standard checks, believe u shld know the way they do servicing liao.. :D

motul for motorcycle and cars the oil are diff..what diff i dun noe , but if no diff they wont have come out with 2 diff packing one for car and one for bike.. :D

Refer: https://www.mobiloil.com/USA-English/MotorO...rcycle_Oil.aspx

Motorcycle oils and passenger car oils are very similar, with the exception of a couple of areas that are key to motorcycle operation. The first area concerns common sumps, or the use of motor oil, to lubricate and cool the transmission. As you know, in a passenger car the transmission is lubricated by an ATF fluid, which has frictional properties required for transmission operation. In a motorcycle, where the transmission may be lubricated by the engine oil, an engine oil that does not have the same level of friction modification (for fuel economy) of a typical passenger car engine oil will provide better transmission performance in terms of transmission lock-up and slippage. So motorcycle engine oil does not contain the friction modifiers of a passenger car engine oil. The second area of concern for motorcycle engine oils is that they tend to shear (breakdown viscosity) more quickly than a typical passenger car. Mobil 1 motorcycle oils are designed to provide exceptional protection against viscosity loss.

I also hear due to much higher additive in motocycle engine oil, it may damage car's catalytic converter.

Refer: https://www.mobiloil.com/USA-English/MotorO...rcycle_Oil.aspx

Motorcycle oils and passenger car oils are very similar, with the exception of a couple of areas that are key to motorcycle operation. The first area concerns common sumps, or the use of motor oil, to lubricate and cool the transmission. As you know, in a passenger car the transmission is lubricated by an ATF fluid, which has frictional properties required for transmission operation. In a motorcycle, where the transmission may be lubricated by the engine oil, an engine oil that does not have the same level of friction modification (for fuel economy) of a typical passenger car engine oil will provide better transmission performance in terms of transmission lock-up and slippage. So motorcycle engine oil does not contain the friction modifiers of a passenger car engine oil. The second area of concern for motorcycle engine oils is that they tend to shear (breakdown viscosity) more quickly than a typical passenger car. Mobil 1 motorcycle oils are designed to provide exceptional protection against viscosity loss.

I also hear due to much higher additive in motocycle engine oil, it may damage car's catalytic converter.

Motorcycle engine oil are designed for much more extreme condition then normal car engine oil, that's why it's loaded with tons of anti-wear additives and is extremely shear stable. If your engine is not consuming any engine oil then you shouldn't worries abt your catalytic converter.

We do have some customers that specially buy motorcycle oil for their car during track usage aka cheapo race oil, so there's still some use for MC oil. The type of application is the key.

Edited by Trex101

any chance of you selling OWS oil? it seems quite popular

Nah, not at the moment but we are talking to one Motul supplier on bringing in Motul, we see how's the price negotiation goes but hopefully it goes thru.

hi,

was using Shell Helix Ultra done at C&C. Am driving a Lancer EX 1.5L. For my 50k, used Motul 300V. It seemed ok in the first 5k. After that, the engine seemed be a bit "tired". Not too sure if it is my imagination or not.

Changed oil at 55k, now using Mobile or BP. Cannot remeber. picked it from a list at riverview. seems to be doing ok leh.

The car can ram hard, and react well. Not too sure if that time when i was using Motul, i was using Malaysia Esso 95 quite often. Now using Esso 97 (JB oil, obviously).

Some UOA of various brand of engine oil, taken from:

http://my350z.com/forum/engine-and-drivetr...nd-info-44.html

Interesting to note that Motul 300V did not gave the best results. i thought for the price its selling, should have performed better. [gossip]

The same goes for Redline. I would expect better protection for its reputation. Looks like Amsoil is still the best! Cheap and good. Castrol is a little too epxensive.....