Shocked! Car owner rams car backwards!

Spade

Today whilst visiting my relatives, I was stunned for words when at a multi-storey carpark, I was waiting for a car lot, the car in front of me moved out of his lot and was blocking my way. From that position, he engaged reversed and floored the accelerator, causing the Suzuki Swift Sport to wheel spin and ram straight in to the metal barricade behind. "CRRACCCK!!" That's what I heard. I was so freaked, I reversed away from the scene of madness.

I parked my car in another lot and went to observe what happened, the owner was an old guy about 45-50, and he was observing the damage... didn't seemed to be bothered about what just occurred. The damage was a back wheel bent out of shape (there goes the chassis!) along with a huge indentation on the side of the car next the the brake lights, there were bit of orange coloured paint from the metal barricade on the car.

I was freaked because in an instance it had reminded me of a scene in the movie, "The Happening" where the driver killed himself on intention accelerating into a tree. I thought it was happening right in front of me like in the movie.

Edited by Spade

wow..i came across one similar incident too last yr.in my case,luckily the car was on the first floor.coz the driver reversed all the way till it went into the big deep gutter.if it was any further level up,confirm car drop till 1st level. [sweatdrop]

i think he don't want you to park beside his SPORTS car.so he purposely did that to scare you away. [lipsrsealed][laugh]

Btw, he was in front of u (tats y blocking ur way?), he reversed and missed u?

Uncle invested his entire CPF money in Minibonds ar? [:p]

I was freaked because in an instance it had reminded me of a scene in the movie, "The Happening" where the driver killed himself on intention accelerating into a tree. I thought it was happening right in front of me like in the movie.

I remember the scene in that movie! hmm.. can imagine.. [laugh] i will be freak out also..

Unker first time driving auto car lah. At his age he's been driving manual cars all this while. Didn't knew that for auto just engage reverse, step and release brake pedal to control speed. Too used to throttle quite a bit (inorder not to stall) and release clutch slowly.

wow..i came across one similar incident too last yr.in my case,luckily the car was on the first floor.coz the driver reversed all the way till it went into the big deep gutter.if it was any further level up,confirm car drop till 1st level. [sweatdrop]

i think he don't want you to park beside his SPORTS car.so he purposely did that to scare you away. [lipsrsealed][laugh]

[laugh][laugh][laugh] but rather let bro Spade scratch the sports car and pay $500 to repair then to ram till like that..... smelly need $5000....

Some driver i see i also blur..... when they do a reverse parking.... they like to reverse very fast into the lot..... like to pattern..... this might be the cause....

There was once i saw a SSS.... saw my car coming...try to show me his car very powerful.... reverse parking in a very fast speed.... end results..... he never saw the metal pole (somemore at the driver side) and scratch the side.... of his car..... i horn at him...he blur and brake.... then carr on reverse...and scratch even further...haha.. i was telling my wife...WTF is he trying to prove???? the scratch is at least 2 feet long and even dented his side...very badly damage..... then at one moment i blur..... and carry on to park a few lot away from the stupid SSS..... then the best thing is.... he just alight his SSS, and walk away....very SAT SAT BO CHIO...Hahahaha....must be damn Pai say.....

Morale of the story is.....WHAT THE F@RK IS THERE TO BIAO YAN OR HAO LIAN WHEN YOU CAN PARK AT HIGH SPEED REVERSING??? NO PRIZE.... BUT IF KANNA....THEN WILL BE LAUGH AND POST IN MCF. [laugh]

If you make a mistake and cause your own accident all by yourself... of course, will appear calm. What u going to do? Freak out? All by yourself? The most you can do is to step out of the car, curse under your breath [furious] , and think about the repair bill and work and how u going to settle it.

Most likely as another posting here mentioned, he was not used to driving auto car and step on accelerator to reverse [rolleyes] . It happens!

TS mentioned the uncle got wheelspin la bro....be it reversing into a lot or coming out of one, one also wont slam the gas rite...but of cos your scenarios are also possible la....wink.gif

I have seen a similar accident but only the aftermath few years back.

a picnic reversed into the MSCP middle lot where the sloping railing was.

The car was stuck because it went up the kerb and it was resting on its side skirt.

Back top portion (corner of tailgate and roof) totally smash in. 2 guys was inspecting the damage.

Happened to know the owner of the car and ask how was he. He was alright.

here's the unbelievable part that he explained.

The car was a month old and he was showing his friend the car and offer to let him test drive.

His friend eagerly accepted and eagerly tried to drive out of the lot and instead reversed and crashed the car.

After that incident , I still see him with the picnic. not sure if it was repaired or 1-to-1 replaced from insurance or did his friend compensate for it.

More or less, he wants to hit you with his car as you are blocking him.

Cannot be shifting into the wrong gear for manual transmission. Unless that's a MRS 6MT then it's different. The reverse gear is next to the 1st gear.