Modeldriver Neutral Newbie June 28, 2003 Share June 28, 2003 Yo MCF bros.... noticed lately my car has been having a rather rough idle (more vibration especially when aircon is on). Any ideas why ? (Did a compare, Andrewkb mentioned his car doesn't idle as rough) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie June 28, 2003 Share June 28, 2003 maybe compressor problem...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie June 28, 2003 Author Share June 28, 2003 But aircon cold enough leh... how to tell if really compressor problem ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear June 28, 2003 Share June 28, 2003 It may be the idle control value at fault. Get it checked. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie June 28, 2003 Author Share June 28, 2003 Where's that ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Armored_Saint Neutral Newbie June 28, 2003 Share June 28, 2003 How old is your car? The problem might be with worn engine mounts. I had this problem before; replaced the mounts and the vibration was reduced greatly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear June 28, 2003 Share June 28, 2003 bro, if u want...i would love to have a look at your TB....most of the time, it's the TB that is having the problem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie June 29, 2003 Author Share June 29, 2003 Car's about year and a half old. Will take a look at the engine mounts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie June 29, 2003 Author Share June 29, 2003 Sure... U are welcome to look. Assume you mean timing belt. But thought usually those take at least 60K before they start acting up ??? Anyway, let's see how things go this week's meet up - see if I can make it, and U can be earlier (me older than U lah, plus 2 young kids can make U age a lot faster... cannot stay up so late, must koon). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear June 29, 2003 Share June 29, 2003 eh, paisay....not timing belt, but rather your throttle body...this can be the most likely cause for rough idling....have u done any grounding? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie June 29, 2003 Author Share June 29, 2003 OIC.... grounding done... but not the super thick grade sort. Sure... welcome to look. Uh... if got problem... does that mean full replacement ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie June 29, 2003 Share June 29, 2003 Huh ... dun tell me same problem as mine !!! IF IT IS, then probably the entire batch (or model) got problem after 1+yr liao ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie June 29, 2003 Share June 29, 2003 maybe you need to clean your throttle body... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turtlekar 2nd Gear June 29, 2003 Share June 29, 2003 no lah, what i will do is just take out the TB for u and do a cleaning up job....very simple....workshop will cost u probably 70-100 bucks.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear June 30, 2003 Share June 30, 2003 Where's that ? It is a solenoid that controls the idling, when a/c cuts in then solenoid will be activated to pull throttle cable and increase idling. This part differs from car to car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie June 30, 2003 Author Share June 30, 2003 Shouldn't be lah.. (I hope)... since U problem was more this 'cluck' when U shifted, but I didn't get that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie June 30, 2003 Author Share June 30, 2003 Actually that's been cleaned not that long ago, when I got this little problem with a dislodged Cyclone that jammed @ full trottle Was also checked then to ensure that there was no damaged to the TB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Modeldriver Neutral Newbie June 30, 2003 Author Share June 30, 2003 OIC... well... let's see how things go lah. When U free ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...