Power steering rack leaking

Garlic

Hello everyone,

Found a small reddish oil patch on the car porch tiles this morning. [:/]

Dropped by workshop during lunch and was told the power steering rack is leaking, an entire replacement unit cost in excess a thousand bucks. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

As I'm planning to scrap vehicle in 3 months time, mechanic advised me to perform a check every morning and top-up if necessary.

Is there any way to plug the leak temporally? Was told leak will get worst over time.

More importantly, are there any safety issues to be worried about?

Thank you. [:)]

Edited by Garlic

my last vehicle,power steering pump leak,whole container(powersteering reservoir) was near empty. if get parts from agent will cost 700plus,so my mech send it to somewhere in tuas where they do high pressure piping/fittings to fix it.end up cost only 160.but was advise that oem parts have a tendency to make small noises when steering(compared to original from agent),but it wasnt that bad.

My previous company got a COE company car (Honda Accord) the power steering leaking badly. Just park for a while (few hours) and can see a puddle of power steering fluid on the ground. The driver also don't bother to get it fix cos will be scrap soon, so he always having a tin of power steering fluid in car booth, just top-up before driving off. tongue.gif

I think STP has something to fix power steering leak. Last time my friend used it and it stopped leaking. But it think it was a small leak means that it requires topping up about a week interval. After that I think it only requires topping up once a year. Quite suprising for a moving seal.

Dun have to go tuas lah. If it's the flexible hydraulic hose is leaking Ubi have liao. Can do on the spot.

where the shop in UBI?

Thanks