What can be done to a VQ23DE?(2.3 NA V6)

Failali

i never take the cefiro out for joyrides and have never done anything other den revving, starting and putting it in Parking.

I will only start driving after i've got my license, and even then i will wait a few years before modding.

Just to clarify.

who in the right mind,when doing an illegal engine swap,would swap back a same cc or same engine...it defeats the purpose of swapping.. [hur]

u got a long way to go kiddo..

the engine i'm recommending to u has a similar platform n setup,hence its easier to swap,then say a 2JZ-GTE..

those engines u recommend are NA engines,so it still lacks the extra omph,an adding a turbo to an NA engine is like back to square one wif the VQ23de(reliability issues). so for NA best is go for something wif bigger cc like the vq35 or vq37

Thanks. yup.

im also looking at brakes.Probably Brembo 6 pot? What is a powerful car if u know how to handle but with stock brakes,tires etc.

Hmm brakes wise, IMHO, its not always about the number of pots. Look at STI and Evo, they easily output 300++bhp, but the front 4-pot and rear 2-pot can cope just as well. Sometimes the brake balance is important as well, and not the number of pots.

If i get caught how? [sweatdrop] Sure kena chalet leh[laugh] +there goes my project

unless i leave the bodywork stock and just mod the engine+internals and leave the exo stock.I wonder of the 2JZ-GTE can match the Cefiro's engine bay with space for future mod?

great to see ur passion for automobiles!!

Just sharing some experiences, it applies to everything you do..its good to have acquired a lot of theories and research..seems like you are doing a good job..

However, nothing in the real world works on theory, in short, nothing in life is simple but complicated.

I hope its not too "chim" for you..

Without a proper exhaust system, your engine will never be able to unleash the full potential. And I strongly believe that the 2JZ-GTE will NOT be a good fit, because its an I6 not a V6. Besides, its fundamentally wrong to fit a I6 into a car which was meant for V6, it does not make any sense, economically and technically (and not realistically achievable), to do an engine swap of different configurations!

Besides, where the heck you gonna find a 2JZ-GTE anyway nowadays? [rolleyes]

do to the 2.3V6 what Honda has done to the CTR 2.0L NA...

2L, 200+ bhp is no joke..

Haha yes the K20A, the heart and soul of all Type Rs (and Euro Rs). Still, the most legendary engine of them all is the B16B - where else can you find a stock 1.6 NA engine today that outputs more than 180bhp?

2JZ-GTE is from the supra if im not wrong. or Mark X?

I guess the most suitable engine swap would be the VQ35DE+ CAI, etc.

Guess it should be worth it, for it is barely half its lifespan of ten years.

Intending to use this car until its lifespan and from then on, i think its time to say goodbye, or transfer it to the 250XV? [sweatdrop]

stock rims weighing 13.5kg(no tyres) is not unheard of. just to give u a rough idea, an 18inch forged rims weigh 7.8to 8plus kg (no tyres).

to really mod (and i dont mean cosmetic) ur dad's car would be an uphill task. that is becaz there isnt a market in singapore n many places around the world as the cefiro is not meant to target the aftermarket enthusiast; its targeting the mature market. (for a refined point A to B drive) so hence, there isnt much aftermarket parts available.

now if u want to go to the dark side, a proper swap would be from VQ23DE to VQ25DET found in the 2001-2004 nissan stagea 250tRS FOUR V and RX FOUR (M35).that stock engine produces 280 PS (206 kW) @6400 rpm and 300 ft

Mm. If i stay with the 23DE there is nothing much i can do, not even supercharging/turboing the engine?

VQ35DE is quite a tad. err.. race spec. im sure LTA has said that engine cc must be the same n same model of engine. Unless.. u mean illegal? sweatdrop.gif

of cause it is illegal lah laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflipsrsealed.giflipsrsealed.giflipsrsealed.gif

there are plenty of Subaru 1.6TS running around with J25, looks the same as the J16 under the hood sly.gifsly.gifsly.gif however, when it comes to de-registering the car, then may have problem, unless the "number" on the J25 was also "changed", if you know what I mean Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

Thanks. yup.

im also looking at brakes.Probably Brembo 6 pot? What is a powerful car if u know how to handle but with stock brakes,tires etc.

unless you intend to mod the engine power output to the high end of 200BHP & above, else no need to have a Brembo 6 pot, it's over kill shakehead.gifshakehead.gifshakehead.gif

Edited by Vtim

ah boy... im having so much fun reading all your post. [laugh] guess u're in school now so cannot read this until u reach home.

ok... changing engine is confirm illeagal! unless u're whole engine gone, but den again u must change back to the original one!

improving the pickup not necessary have to change engine or t/c the engine. simple mods like changing the exhaust manifold, operating the exhaust, open pod filter and lighter rims can surprisingly improve the pickup significantly. in sg how fast u wanna go???

u're only 16 and there is a freaking long way to go. it better to be humble. just my opinion, many things that u've written is not feasible unless u have like $20k to spend. which i dont think u have unless u're parents sponsor u! if that happen then shame on u!

u will only be able to take your license 2 yrs later, or worst 5 yrs later if they decide that u can only take ur license when u're 21 and as many bros here say, there car might not be around anymore.

and as wad many bros here say, u've played too much need 4 speed. in reality things are many much different from the virtual reality. so i suggest wad u can do is prepare well for your O'lvls get into a good JC or poly, study hard and when u graduate u can find a good job and earn well for your first car and mods. im not saying studying hard will make u rich and land up in a high position. but at least that cert will land u somewhere and how high u climb will depend on ur capablities.

good luck and i must stress again. study hard for ur o lvls and stop dreaming so much for now. and of course, open ur heart to learn and listen, instead of saying things like so wad if u're older. no matter wad majority of the peeps here have take more salt than u're taken rice. [thumbsup]

Wow! U are up to date! smile.gif

there are plenty of Subaru 1.6TS running around with J25, looks the same as the J16 under the hood sly.gifsly.gifsly.gif however, when it comes to de-registering the car, then may have problem, unless the "number" on the J25 was also "changed", if you know what I mean wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif

I wonder if there are any tracks other than Sepang .

Pasir Gudang johor circuit [sly] chill chill ah boy, study ur O level then say, take one step at a time.

juz a friendly advice [;)]