Felipe 3rd Gear August 31, 2010 Share August 31, 2010 On 8/31/2010 at 9:43 AM, Corrochan said: You forgot one, very impt. Seat warmer. Yes, in SGP. So if buy w/o warranty, means anything wrong is own problem right? A bit risky for an Alfa right? You probably didn't read the earlier posts? It's probably more risky to buy with warranty considering the issues raised. Anyway, i don't remember actuators costing 8k. To my knowledge, the previous gen of Alfa actuators cost 2-3k. That's why the selespeed system is considered more economical in that sense compared to the torque converter box which cost a lot to replace. 8k is more likely the price of the gearbox than the actuators. But then again, that was the previous gen. The 159 gen of actuators may cost more. That would actually make the 159 a pretty costly car to maintain as the actuator is one of the more sensitive parts to look out for. I also agree there's no point going legal on such things. However, when it comes to warranty, there's no excuse for any dealer, big or small, not to go by the book. There are some issues where we can just close one eye. But others are just plain obvious where it needs to be dealt with. In the case of actuators, i still can't believe it's under wear and tear. In fact, i've never heard of it, even from past alfa owners, actuators are replaced, either with re-con sets or new ones. I've more so never heard of fixing actuators. Being only a reseller rather than a factory, i doubt it is possible to fix it. But credit to the owner, he made it easy for EA. Very few would part with 8k. My suggestion to Xeryh is to ask for a quote on the hood problem too. As for the bleeder issue, i think it's unavoidable some defects come from the factory. More importantly is the agent here honors the warranty and replaces the part. In this case, i see no reason to fault EA. However, it may also be a lot cheaper to replace that bleeder part. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Corrochan Neutral Newbie August 31, 2010 Share August 31, 2010 I scanned the posts, though I may have missed some points. Actually, I'm looking at chances of occurrence. Meaning if most times, 159 problems are well taken of by EA - then maybe buy warranty better but if most times, EA blames wear/tear, the sky, sea and election, and owner end up paying for defects - then maybe don't buy warranty. I just don't have a sense of likelihood of either, hence my qns. happy to hear alternative views. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Felipe 3rd Gear August 31, 2010 Share August 31, 2010 (edited) On 8/31/2010 at 10:22 AM, Corrochan said: I scanned the posts, though I may have missed some points. Actually, I'm looking at chances of occurrence. Meaning if most times, 159 problems are well taken of by EA - then maybe buy warranty better but if most times, EA blames wear/tear, the sky, sea and election, and owner end up paying for defects - then maybe don't buy warranty. I just don't have a sense of likelihood of either, hence my qns. happy to hear alternative views. at the moment, based on the current posts, it seems to be cheaper parts will be warrantied. But to be honest, if the actuators (8k) are not warrantied, there's no way you should buy an Alfa (with warranty) unless you buy a stick shift. Or more so, if 8k means little to you. Edited August 31, 2010 by Felipe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frenzzsg Clutched August 31, 2010 Share August 31, 2010 Hey guys, will be driving into Muar again either this thursday nite or early friday morning! Anyone keen in joining me? btw mr. yatto? when ur house warming?? gonna bring some otah back again...heehee... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear August 31, 2010 Author Share August 31, 2010 On 8/31/2010 at 2:06 PM, Frenzzsg said: Hey guys, will be driving into Muar again either this thursday nite or early friday morning! Anyone keen in joining me? btw mr. yatto? when ur house warming?? gonna bring some otah back again...heehee... just came back from melaka sis... On way back, i was on right lane, ard 190-210 all the way. very clear traffic, and all cars very considerate.. see me far far coming, all filter left... until.. I spotted a TP waiting on shoulder. See me coming, on the siren and blinker, started to drive out. He got onto the left lane and i was still approaching from the right. As he reached my 10 oclock, he wound down window, stuck out hand and gestured me to pull over. I wondered for a moment if i should obey. By time i was beside him, i was slowed to 140 or so. And.... I dropped 2 gears and floored. Heart beat darn fast then, kept looking at rear view mirror to see if he gave chase. At that point in time, he kept blinking his high beam. I tot siao liao... then... The police saw that i was fast away, he switch off siren, drove back to shoulder, and waited for nx victim... I drove to Sg without any problem there after. Phew. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frenzzsg Clutched August 31, 2010 Share August 31, 2010 On 8/31/2010 at 2:37 PM, Chrispie said: just came back from melaka sis... On way back, i was on right lane, ard 190-210 all the way. very clear traffic, and all cars very considerate.. see me far far coming, all filter left... until.. I spotted a TP waiting on shoulder. See me coming, on the siren and blinker, started to drive out. He got onto the left lane and i was still approaching from the right. As he reached my 10 oclock, he wound down window, stuck out hand and gestured me to pull over. I wondered for a moment if i should obey. By time i was beside him, i was slowed to 140 or so. And.... I dropped 2 gears and floored. Heart beat darn fast then, kept looking at rear view mirror to see if he gave chase. At that point in time, he kept blinking his high beam. I tot siao liao... then... The police saw that i was fast away, he switch off siren, drove back to shoulder, and waited for nx victim... I drove to Sg without any problem there after. Phew. hahaha... actually i went back on sat late nite (reached Muar ard 2am) and came back on sunday nite. was on 170-200 all the way too. think becuz it was at nite already, so no "kopi money" collection stop... until i reached 2nd link. since Hari Raya is coming, decided to switch on cruise control and set it at 110km. all the way cleared until the exit to gelang patah R&R. They blocked off the whole road and left 1 lane. saw many many cars (esp sg plate) been pulled over, but i was lucky to be waved to go. so gentle reminder to all the bros in here... do take note a bit as the MY TPs are all out to collect kopi $$ at this period of time.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arwen Clutched August 31, 2010 Share August 31, 2010 On 8/31/2010 at 2:37 PM, Chrispie said: just came back from melaka sis... On way back, i was on right lane, ard 190-210 all the way. very clear traffic, and all cars very considerate.. see me far far coming, all filter left... until.. I spotted a TP waiting on shoulder. See me coming, on the siren and blinker, started to drive out. He got onto the left lane and i was still approaching from the right. As he reached my 10 oclock, he wound down window, stuck out hand and gestured me to pull over. I wondered for a moment if i should obey. By time i was beside him, i was slowed to 140 or so. And.... I dropped 2 gears and floored. Heart beat darn fast then, kept looking at rear view mirror to see if he gave chase. At that point in time, he kept blinking his high beam. I tot siao liao... then... The police saw that i was fast away, he switch off siren, drove back to shoulder, and waited for nx victim... I drove to Sg without any problem there after. Phew. You reminded me of an incident a few years back. My friends and I were travelling on ns highway when we spotted a few TPs on the road shoulder, beckoning us to stop. Knowing they were stationary, and we were all riding 1000cc bikes and above, we simply ignored them and sped off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear August 31, 2010 Author Share August 31, 2010 (edited) On 8/31/2010 at 3:12 PM, Arwen said: You reminded me of an incident a few years back. My friends and I were travelling on ns highway when we spotted a few TPs on the road shoulder, beckoning us to stop. Knowing they were stationary, and we were all riding 1000cc bikes and above, we simply ignored them and sped off. i have a friend who always go up north with the EVO convoy.. whenever tp wanna stop them, they always speed off... but if its road block.. boh bian lah. Edited August 31, 2010 by Chrispie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear August 31, 2010 Share August 31, 2010 On 8/31/2010 at 2:06 PM, Frenzzsg said: Hey guys, will be driving into Muar again either this thursday nite or early friday morning! Anyone keen in joining me? btw mr. yatto? when ur house warming?? gonna bring some otah back again...heehee... i love hot otah with bread :) errr sometime next week? saturday evenings are best lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Le_Stig Neutral Newbie August 31, 2010 Share August 31, 2010 Order is officially closed! I will revert the quotes soon. Thanks. Order Updates (Order will close 1st Sep): **Following which i will revert on quotes before actual order UK Parts Order - By Air (May Pack in Single Pellet for Freight) 1. Novitec Exhaust dual oval end pipes (159/2.2JTS) - Topgun 2. Ti Side Skirts (159/2.2JTS) - Topgun 3. Ti front and rear absorbers only (159/2.2JTS) - Topgun 4. Front Emblem (159/2.2JTS) - Chrispie 5. Front Emblem x 2 (156 SS/2.0JTS/2005/2003) - whitecvt/Boooon 6. Clutch Kit (156 SS/2.0JTS/2005) - whitecvt 7. Throttle body (156 SS/2.0JTS/2005) - whitecvt 8. MAF sensor x 2 (156 SS/2.0JTS/2005/2004) - whitecvt/Blgetz 9. Fuel Injector (156 SS/2.0JTS/2004) - Blgetz 10. Coilpack (156 SS/2.0JTS/2004) - Blgetz 11. Catalytic converter (156 SS/2.0JTS/2004) - Blgetz 12. Pre-cat lambda sensor (156 SS/2.0JTS/2004) - Blgetz 13. Rear Emblem (156 SS/2.0TS/2003) - Boooon 14. Cadamuro Alfa Scudetto Front Grille (156 SS/2.0TS/2003) - Boooon 15. Aircon CARBON pollen filter (159 2.0JTS) - Topgun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AFV_V200 3rd Gear August 31, 2010 Share August 31, 2010 On 8/31/2010 at 2:37 PM, Chrispie said: just came back from melaka sis... On way back, i was on right lane, ard 190-210 all the way. very clear traffic, and all cars very considerate.. see me far far coming, all filter left... until.. I spotted a TP waiting on shoulder. See me coming, on the siren and blinker, started to drive out. He got onto the left lane and i was still approaching from the right. As he reached my 10 oclock, he wound down window, stuck out hand and gestured me to pull over. I wondered for a moment if i should obey. By time i was beside him, i was slowed to 140 or so. And.... I dropped 2 gears and floored. Heart beat darn fast then, kept looking at rear view mirror to see if he gave chase. At that point in time, he kept blinking his high beam. I tot siao liao... then... The police saw that i was fast away, he switch off siren, drove back to shoulder, and waited for nx victim... I drove to Sg without any problem there after. Phew. U are damn lucky. I kena similar incident too when came back from KL. Police car center lane. I 1st lane 160km, over took him and cut into his lane and slow to 140km. Saw the car pull over and i thought siao liao. They must have radio their kaki in front to watch me. I hack care and 180-200km all the way since I think i will kena why not just fly all the way. Lucky reacedh check point without sweat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AFV_V200 3rd Gear August 31, 2010 Share August 31, 2010 On 8/31/2010 at 2:06 PM, Frenzzsg said: Hey guys, will be driving into Muar again either this thursday nite or early friday morning! Anyone keen in joining me? btw mr. yatto? when ur house warming?? gonna bring some otah back again...heehee... Do Sat morning I join u! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matt156c 1st Gear August 31, 2010 Share August 31, 2010 (edited) Looking for a shorten anttena or folding antenna for my 159. Anyone come know where I can find it? Locally Edited August 31, 2010 by Matt156c Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AFV_V200 3rd Gear September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 On 8/31/2010 at 2:06 PM, Frenzzsg said: Hey guys, will be driving into Muar again either this thursday nite or early friday morning! Anyone keen in joining me? btw mr. yatto? when ur house warming?? gonna bring some otah back again...heehee... Sorry sorry, forgot i have an appointment Sat morning. Enjoy your ride back to home town! Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 On 8/31/2010 at 6:25 AM, Matt156c said: thicker steering wheel thinner wallet Lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matt156c 1st Gear September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 Not sure if you guy seen this. For those that don't http://www.arocsingapore.com/phpbb3/viewto...?f=51&t=506 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 Just went to see the 159QV nice now waiting for them to clear discount requests not very good leh the pricing, but I can always wait... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spikey Clutched September 1, 2010 Share September 1, 2010 what are the latest pricings for the QV? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...