Alfa 159 Part II. (any alfa discussion welcomed too)

Chrispie

  On 6/25/2010 at 4:01 AM, Chrispie said:

im just thinking, with the extra money u pump into these mods that doesnt really make significant difference, why not just get a heavier right foot and car will go faster and prob cheaper too.

Hahaha. With kind of money some of us (I'm guilty too with my earlier cars) spend to mod the car, we should've just bite the bullet upfront and buy a faster car [laugh]

  On 6/25/2010 at 4:16 AM, Frenzzsg said:

erhh....dude, very "cold" leh... [laugh]

Errr...leg warmers won't work, cos any drivers would know that heat is the enemy of engine performance [laugh][laugh][laugh]

  On 6/25/2010 at 4:15 AM, Frenzzsg said:

I kinda agree.. [rolleyes] but already have my novitec airfilter installed. [laugh]

It's very easy, you now hop into a 2.2l JTS (preferably another brera) and tell us whether the novitec air-filter makes a difference.

[:p]

Edited by Topgun

  On 6/25/2010 at 4:13 AM, Chrispie said:

nx time i can put an ad 'Plug and play Mod for any car, go faster and cheaper than any other mod out there. GUARANTEED!'

And it looks like this :

Oh no, these are weights not leg warmers! [laugh]

Same thing though, weight is a big enemy of performance, you should shed weight, not put on more [laugh][laugh][laugh]

On 6/25/2010 at 4:22 AM, Topgun said:

Talk to Peter of AS. He actually doesn't recommend doing a remap for 159 even though he's selling the stuff [rolleyes] He reckons not worth to burn the money. He would actually recommend just putting in the Novitec air filter. IMHO, if you can spare the couple of hundred more, the BMC CDA is a worthwhile upgrade. It's got a very addictive intake sound.

You must have the right expectations, don't hope that it'll give a sky and earth difference.

For small gains, even dyno won't give exact results (or more like the expected results you want) cos you cannot expect the same environmental conditions (just too many factors involved) when you dyno 'before' and 'after' the car.

i wonder if i can still hear the intake sound when my exhaust sound is aldy quite loud.

  On 6/25/2010 at 4:50 AM, Chrispie said:

i wonder if i can still hear the intake sound when my exhaust sound is aldy quite loud.

Yes, the 2 sounds are very different. You can discern engine sound from front and exhaust from the back :D

On 6/25/2010 at 5:01 AM, Topgun said:

Yes, the 2 sounds are very different. You can discern engine sound from front and exhaust from the back :D

ehhem.... ermm... sorta... haha.. last time i tot i could.. but now hor.. dont know why but exh note getting louder. Even at high rpm, when initially the engine note will take over at ard 4500rpm, it no longer does so. During last breakfast run, when car was consistently at 5-5.5k rpm.. the exh drone was very significant. I know coz my ears can only hear sound coming from the back..

Just a reminder:

1) Passport with at least 6-month validity

2) M'sian white entry-card

3) Touch n Go card

4) 3/4 tank petrol & check tyre pressure

5) Walkie talkie

[:)]

On 6/25/2010 at 3:58 AM, Uninitiated said:

Ohhh I see. Thanks! Shucks. Shall stop thinking about this. Gonna burn lotsa cash.

Some people mod just for the sake of mod-ing. No need to have any performance gains ... (me included). Backside itchy ... must mod one.

Anyway, one must know what you are getting in a modification, For air-intake, I am mod-ing just for the induction sound and not more power.

Agreed in the tuning, I don't think I will take this route. Waste of $$$.

  On 6/25/2010 at 5:03 AM, Chrispie said:

ehhem.... ermm... sorta... haha.. last time i tot i could.. but now hor.. dont know why but exh note getting louder. Even at high rpm, when initially the engine note will take over at ard 4500rpm, it no longer does so. During last breakfast run, when car was consistently at 5-5.5k rpm.. the exh drone was very significant. I know coz my ears can only hear sound coming from the back..

That's because stock engine and intake sounds are quieter than your exhaust. In any case, when cruising you'll hear more of the exhaust drone than engine sound.

But when you step on it, guarantee you'll hear both in all their glory :wub:[drivingcar]

On 6/25/2010 at 5:14 AM, Topgun said:

Just a reminder:

3) Touch n Go card

4) 3/4 tank petrol & check tyre pressure

5) Walkie talkie

Can any kind soul help me "buy" a stack of white entry card?

Just a reminder:

3) Touch n Go card

4) 3/4 tank petrol (optional) & check tyre pressure

5) Walkie talkie

Edited by Chrispie

  On 6/25/2010 at 5:21 AM, Matt156c said:

Can any kind soul help me "buy" a stack of white entry card?

I usually will just ask for them at the kiosk lor. Depend on luck, sometimes they will 'give'. Can pass some to you if lucky on Sunday :D

  On 6/25/2010 at 12:33 AM, Chrispie said:

but if its like my friend's evo, from 280-450bhp, that one any idiot also can feel lah... and it cost only 1k.

Can't really compare NA and TC... TC a lot easier, even for Mito.

  On 6/25/2010 at 1:34 AM, Darryn said:

HIP HIP HOORAY!!

The gents did the country proud! Should have attacked more against Paraguay, but still....go through the world cup UNBEATEN!!

Great stuff...

BTW...second time in world cup lor...they were in the 82 one as well...three games, three losses though....

2nd time?? I didn't know they were in 82.. wasn't born yet (forever 25) [rolleyes][sly]

Finishing on top of the Italians (the football team) is an achievement indeed when they were written off. In fact, taking a lead as well against the Italians. [thumbsup] I just hope the Real men can do it next year and kick the crap of the the northern hemis guys! [:p]

  On 6/25/2010 at 5:20 AM, Matt156c said:

Some people mod just for the sake of mod-ing. No need to have any performance gains ... (me included). Backside itchy ... must mod one.

Anyway, one must know what you are getting in a modification, For air-intake, I am mod-ing just for the induction sound and not more power.

Agreed in the tuning, I don't think I will take this route. Waste of $$$.

Worse are those who don't know what they are doing and mod until worse performance than stock [knife]

  On 6/25/2010 at 6:04 AM, Mojoe said:

2nd time?? I didn't know they were in 82.. wasn't born yet (forever 25) [rolleyes][sly]

Finishing on top of the Italians (the football team) is an achievement indeed when they were written off. In fact, taking a lead as well against the Italians. [thumbsup] I just hope the Real men can do it next year and kick the crap of the the northern hemis guys! [:p]

Heh...sure oh not? I went to one of the qualifying games for the 82 world cup...must have been in '81...the All Whites were play I dunno who...was at QEII park....