Typhoonz 4th Gear October 3, 2008 Share October 3, 2008 I'm thinking about taking up a Diploma in InfoComm Technology but divided between the 2 institutions. Anyone has taken up a course or currently studying there please offer your advise. Kam siah ... Thank you... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yaloryalor 5th Gear October 3, 2008 Share October 3, 2008 Few of my friends taking/ took the dip course (BA & HRM) at PSB. According to them, so far so good. For PSB there is advancement if you complete their dip, can enrol into their advance dip or degree courses. Not too sure about MDIS. Compare both I personally feel MDIS more commercialise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear October 3, 2008 Author Share October 3, 2008 I was reading through the MDIS webby and conclude that they are like what you said commercialised and they have quite a large number of foreign students as compared to PSB... The course duration for both institution also differs... MDIS is 1 year and PSB is 18 months... Curriculum wise both are about the same... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahhuat 1st Gear October 3, 2008 Share October 3, 2008 is PSB gahmen linked? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear October 3, 2008 Author Share October 3, 2008 I should think so... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W2wwong Neutral Newbie October 3, 2008 Share October 3, 2008 I have known of pple who took diploma courses with PSB and although they may 'seemed' to be a statuory board, their diploma cert was not recognised. what wld be more important is whether your prospective employer recognises the cert, which can sometimes be down to luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic October 3, 2008 Share October 3, 2008 (edited) PSB no longer government linked. Sold to TUV SUD, a german company. Now known as TUV SUD PSB Pte Ltd. The Academy I not so sure though. Edited October 3, 2008 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear October 3, 2008 Author Share October 3, 2008 Huh? So now they are more of a private school machiam like Stansfield? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W2wwong Neutral Newbie October 3, 2008 Share October 3, 2008 i guess so. think it wld be more appropriate for you to look at the syllabus, talk to friends or relatives who have taken studied the course or from the school. i took the adv dip in mass comm from mdis abt 10 yrs ago. course content wise, not too bad. but the running of the course left much to be desired. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear October 3, 2008 Share October 3, 2008 PSB same leh ...feel that last time was better... now $$ talks.... course fees increase...re-exam fees and everything increase after moving to new campus.. and um..MDIS seems better...PSB oso harder to pass exams... was told ...requirement for passing exams at PSB is same as degree elsewhere... ...no wonder me take forever to clear my BA dip ... and half my old class has since dropped out ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear October 4, 2008 Share October 4, 2008 What are the awarding institutions? The private schools only matter to a certain extent. I'm thinking about taking up a Diploma in InfoComm Technology but divided between the 2 institutions. Anyone has taken up a course or currently studying there please offer your advise. Kam siah ... Thank you... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear October 4, 2008 Share October 4, 2008 Being in the education line for donkey years, the word 'recognize' irks me tremendously. If u gonna ask PSC. They will say that say that as long as the institution is accredited, they will take the degree prima facie, i.e. at its face value and whether the content is compatible to the job in the civil service. Unless u are gonna work in the CS, else screw this recognition bit. BTW, MDIS is NOT RECOGNIZED by the gahment. My wife has a degree from Bradford... nope, it is worthless. I have known of pple who took diploma courses with PSB and although they may 'seemed' to be a statuory board, their diploma cert was not recognised. what wld be more important is whether your prospective employer recognises the cert, which can sometimes be down to luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ilix Neutral Newbie October 4, 2008 Share October 4, 2008 I did my degree with PSB. Was not bad. Am thinking of doing my CFA. Pity PSB doesn't provide such courses. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W2wwong Neutral Newbie October 4, 2008 Share October 4, 2008 I'd understand if Govt doesn't recognise MDIS but i tot Bradford is an accredited Uni? seems really depends on your luck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear October 4, 2008 Share October 4, 2008 Any idea where can we check which Uni is recognised by gahment? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nkps 1st Gear October 4, 2008 Share October 4, 2008 I'm thinking about taking up a Diploma in InfoComm Technology but divided between the 2 institutions. Anyone has taken up a course or currently studying there please offer your advise. Kam siah ... Thank you... my take... go for whichever is cheaper and easier to get that toylet roll. afterall, a toylet roll is a toylet roll... only 1% different if u ask me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear October 4, 2008 Share October 4, 2008 Check out with PSC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear October 4, 2008 Share October 4, 2008 Does not depend on luck... it is simple not recognised by gahment. Many private schools here are simple BS. Gotta do your due diligence. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...