Advice to get rid of door dent on my Civic courtesy of Wisma Atria

Earthforge

I need to get this off of my chest and also ask for advice from the brothers here.

I got the dent two nights ago on my 3 month old Honda Civic. Was my first time parking at Wisma Atria. I was preparing to leave the place and drove to the exit on Level 5. It was a left turn before descending the ramp. I was paying attention to the front of the car as I could see that the middle high curb/divider had claimed many a victim. However, due to inexperience, I did not pay attention to the rear of my car as I turned. All of a sudden I started hearing the sound of something rubbing on metal, and at this point looked back and to my utter horror saw that my left rear passenger door was stuck on the black and yellow stripped rubber shielding that covered the corner of the wall. I tried reversing and moving forward without any initial success, meanwhile, 2 vehicles appeared behind me. Eventually so that I do not block the traffic, I stepped a little harder on the accelerator and reversed back. I proceeded to leave the accursed place. I eventually reached a petrol station and got down to inspect the damage, fearing the worst. Unfortunately, my fears proved founded; there was a shallow but significant size dent in the middle of the door. Additionally, there was a 10 to 12 inch

Edited by Earthforge

u better check carefully.. KM pricing is like BM.take down 1 bolt is one price, put back is another price and it keep stacking up. $250 sounds dirty chirp but guess is before GST.

for KM, respray is inhouse plant at Ubi. not bad, considered they actually hv a inhouse spray paint shop.

if u can get a lump sum final price, then go for KM lor.

for lye, can bargain one but their price dun give u much leeway also hor. otherwise got other dent repair shops.

Hi bro, need to see the picture to have a feel of the real damage to your door.

However, if it is not obvious, suggest probably leave it as it is lor. juz use wax to wax any scratch or paint marks...

You may want to check if Kah does the painting themselves or sub-con out one?

I think the warning by Lye pertaining to off colors arises becoz a white car looks different when newly painted than some months/years down the road. Hence, it is not a matter of have the right "color tone" by agent.

One solution could be to go for one good grooming to really polish clean the other white panels.

If its a gentle 'dent', meaning there are no 'sharp' creases, you can safely 'push/hammer' back the dent from inside the door. Maybe a final polish will return the door back to its old glory.

Best it not to 'repaint' the dented parts as the color and shinnyness will be very obvious after a few months of sunlight and washing at that part.

Good luck, I feel your pain. I remember my new car with a nice rim was scratched at the curb at my own carpark, on the second day. Lucky for me....a $200++ to change the rim and nobody the wiser!

no matter how 'good' the painter job is......doing a partial paint job on a small part of the door will never be good enough.

The only way is to paint strip the entire door and repaint it fully!

i second this.

scratches, dents, etc are part and parcel of driving. Might as well accumulate more and then do one shot. it's really much cheaper.

Tho it's true that scratches, dents, etc are part and parcel of driving.....it's also true that we have take care of the car to ensure that the scratches do not turn into rust.

First of all, congrats to u for leaving a battle scar in that infamous CP! [:p]

i was also one of them [:/] , thus the next time when I was there, I did a wide turn when going down, so this will also save u another heartache in future should u encounter this type of scenario again.

The price quoted by KM is just for respraying only??? Or a lump sum?

For me, I went to Hup Seng at Sin Ming area for them to do the job. After that, it looks as though there wasn't any damage. Alot of pple can attest to their workmanship.

Just drive over and let them assess for u if it's along ur way.

Maybe you shld upload some pics so that we can have a visual of the damage... [;)]

P/s: You can try asking around other workshops for quotes. Quite a handful does panel beating and spray painting at very competitive prices. Workmanship is quite consistent too... I just repair my 2 left side doors at Sze Kang.

Edited by B0ss

Ah Lye is never cheap but his worksmanship is really good. Anyway, he also outsourced the spray painting part to Phua Spray painting on the same floor.

oh... dunno, i read quickly .... blk 175 5th storey. confirm tio si sin ming autocare. spray paint shop on fire.

after tat have to rush out of jamban becos got 1 kid neber tong 10cts

Tho it's true that scratches, dents, etc are part and parcel of driving.....it's also true that we have take care of the car to ensure that the scratches do not turn into rust.

true la...but I think this rubber rubbing onto the car body should not be deep until bare metal la...

Probably the paint would come off, some ugly lines, but dun think it bare the metal