Altivo 3rd Gear October 3, 2008 Share October 3, 2008 Nope... last time i saw such stuff was during NS. I personally encountered a cook who stood on the counter and cussing my BMT mate with all kinds of expletives while waving his oversized ladel. VERY SCARY LOH. Now, the aunties will greet you "Good morning/afternoon" etc. Then after serving you the portion, they will still ask if it's enough. Wah lau.... machiam like school camp! The best thing of all is after eating, you can simply "chuck" your used utensils into the tubs and another "platoon" of aunties will washed it for u. No wonder our soldiers are getting soft! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roborovskii 4th Gear October 3, 2008 Share October 3, 2008 I know someone who cried when handed his metal tray on his first day. He said felt like going to prison. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear October 3, 2008 Share October 3, 2008 Wah last time kah kee wash one leh... The metal tray is also a standby bed thing that my PS loves to catch us for... Those oily stains in the corner... Tat pai tio one... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear October 3, 2008 Share October 3, 2008 aiyo... your friend too stressed leow. hahahaha in prison, they are given plastic tuperware leh. On a seperate note, i feel SAF should seriously look into the nutrientional value of the food which their cookhouse is serving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear October 3, 2008 Share October 3, 2008 (edited) exactly, i went with my parents together to Tekong Chalet on the first day on enlistment for my younger bro 2 years ago. As part of the orientation activities, we were allowed to have a "last meal" with my bro . The dinner was chicken rice and some fruits. Yes, the recruits were no longer using the mess tray but what shocked me most was that they didnt even had to wash the plates after eating. Wow..... i know SAF has been trying to streamline the training routine so that more time and effort can be focused on mastering soldiering skills but come on, washing plates is a kind of personal discipline training to me. Similar to the polishing of boots etc! Edited October 3, 2008 by Altivo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Typhoonz 4th Gear October 3, 2008 Share October 3, 2008 Now even their ali baba bags also got wheel liao... Sigh... Zho simi peng ah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Denosha Neutral Newbie October 3, 2008 Share October 3, 2008 That's crap lar. I also went through polytechnic. Didn't do much sports except for the occasional badminton game. Failed NAPFA (static all 5 pts but 2.4km not only fail but din even finish, i got problem with running) then went into PTP. Starting my 2.4km was like 16+mins. By about 4-5mths, i managed to run under 9:45 get gold. It's all a matter of training. And i believe the training back then was even more jialat than what the recruits go through these days. During my IPT (yes, i got prob with running again, hurhur) at Maju camp i saw those super fresh new recruits from infantry moving around doing exercise, etc. Was like very different from my BMT. Much less shouting, much less tekaning. Then they do pull-up also much less strict (one recruit playing the fool in front of the sgt also din even get a scolding, wtf) and less reps. I still remember during my bmt it was always at least 2-3 sets of 12 before every meal. Cannot do also must assist until can do. These kinda cases IMO really is some underlying medical condition not so much training too jialat that they cannot take it. Like many of the bros here have also said, so many thousands of young men have gone through the same thing (or much, much worse) and survived. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jonbummer Neutral Newbie October 3, 2008 Share October 3, 2008 there never will be a independent investigation lah people will have to look at WHY the MC is nicely in the cupboard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianyou83 Neutral Newbie October 3, 2008 Share October 3, 2008 he got MC on sunday for 2 days.I don;t know he book in on sunday night or monday night. If book in monday night....then you are right that he does not have the chance to see MO after breakfast before his misfortune death! If he booked in Monday nite, meaning the unit already know he is on MC for sun and mon, if I am not wrong, SOP states that if u r attn C on the day b4, you will be automatically on light duty for 3 days... I think Mindef should chk which day he book in, if on Sunday, then no fight liao...if monday night, then someone muz answer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scoots 3rd Gear October 3, 2008 Share October 3, 2008 Ya lor ... lame. I was in the 5month BMT for obese enlistees and am still alive leh. None of my company mates ...err...expired ... as well. And now they are looking at Polytechnic, being a commonality, as a possible root cause of the problem??!! I have an even more convincing commonality: ALL such deaths are male. So maybe that's the root cause hor? So we should stop having NS for males and then there will be no deaths already .... *sigh* Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear October 3, 2008 Share October 3, 2008 u win liao lah.... people blame poly, blame food watever, u blame the sky..... I think it is because of the thinning ozone layer and unusual climatic changes. When we exercise, I believe we are actually breathing in more toxic gases then before. The death was probably a consequence from the cumulative effect of such gases Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 3, 2008 Share October 3, 2008 SOP...b4 any physical activity, conducting officer/specialist will ask who is not feeling well can fall out and seek medical attention..., so we r not sure whether such process has been carry out b4 the PT..... In theory, my friend in theory only...... but in practical...... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...