Malaysia: Hotel Equatorial Malacca

Chengtl

I'm the one who started this thread and since then, I've been to Malacca 3 times! The most recent one was 2 weeks ago. Stayed in both Equatorial and Holiday Inn, both are quite good but the rooms at Holiday Inn are slightly better cos the hotel is newer I guess?

Carpark - The basement carpark at Equatorial looks older but is still safe - saw many SG cars there. There are 2 carparks in Holiday Inn, 1 open space and 1 basement. Somehow, Holiday Inn's carpark made me feel safer cos there were security guards patrolling.

Location - Holiday Inn is next to the Jetty. For shopping, gotto cross 2 roads to the nearest mahkota parade. Not sure if mahkota parade is still operating or not cos it looks empty and deserted from my hotel room and I din go there the last time round. There's a disco at the Jetty known as Arena, with live band playing mostly english and mandarin hits - not bad but the chicks not that great. Ha! Equatorial is just next to the Pahlawan shopping centre.

Hotel Facilities - As mentioned, both are quite good but Holiday Inn just edges it cos it's newer. I like the live band at Equatorial lobby night lounge - the filipino band can even sing mandarin songs. There's 1 super cute waitress at Holiday Inn serving breakfast - too bad too shy to catch her name.

Shopping - I can think of Mahkota and Pahlawan on top of my mind, to me both are ok but for the details i need to check with my female companions. Ha!

Makan - There's one dessert shop along Jonker street that serves great chendol with very fine ice and generous servings of gula melaka. They also serves malaysian curry mee and assam laksa but both are so-so. There are 2 chicken rice stalls along jonker too. The one that looks very grand - Gu Cheng Ji Fan is actually so-so niah. Even our hawker fare tastes much better! The other one - can't rem the name, is much better.

There's also a nyonya restaurant Makko which serves great nyonya dishes. Try the prawns with stinky beans, assam fish etc....the chendol here also very nice.

Jetty - This was a lively place when I was there end of last year but when I was there 2 weeks ago, it was like a dead building. You can try the massage there - got loads of PRC chicks but I think the standard drop liao. Erm....this is not a sleazy joint so dun get the wrong idea... :p Used to have a karaoke there too, very happening but not too sure still there or not.

Although, there's nothing much to do in Malacca as compared to KL, I still love the town cos it's a good place to relax, eat, enjoy a good massage and of cos shop. Generally, much much safer than JB or KL and is also easier to navigate, at least for me. Will go again in a few months time.... :D

PS: There's also a new shopping centre AEON in JB. Not bad too.....and quite safe.....

Are u sure safe?

Hotel Equatorial Melaka...

been there...good clean safe hotel... [thumbsup]

i actually got to park my car just adjacent to the main entrance...

made me feel like VIP!...heheheh... [drivingcar]

made small talk with the guys manning the area...got good vibes...

benn to the Zone...both in JB & KL....

a bit old...but otherwise...generally safe lah... [flowerface]

i think..so long we go about low-key...we'll be all right lah.

i used to park in Avenue K in KL...but never actually felt safe parking there..

cos i've seen a tow truck managed to go in & pulled a Wira out! [shakehead]

go figure! [lipsrsealed]

i asked the guard there...

he said...Repo men at work...

they paid him RM10 to pull the car out.

Edited by Whattafarck

Makan - Chicken rice shop got 3 on Jonker St. The oldest shop is wif 2 shops together & this is the best. If u 1 2 avoid tourist crowd, there is another shop in Melaka Raya opp Public Bank. Owner of both shops are brothers. Beside chicken rice, u can try out Satay Celop. Most famous & crowded is Capitol. Sauce is potent. Beside Capitol, u could also try out McQuek, which is near Melaka Raya.

Shopping - Mahkota is still opened. But crowd got pull away by Pahlawan.

Live Music - Beside Jetty, on Jonker St., look for Ringo Cafe. The live singer is the boss. The atmosphere is dependant on crowd. If the crowd for that nite is party animal, then u will have a lot of ppl dancing.

Beside chicken rice, u can try out Satay Celop. Most famous & crowded is Capitol. Sauce is potent. Beside Capitol, u could also try out McQuek, which is near Melaka Raya.

Havent tried Capitol before, but I tried Ban Lee Siang the other time. For parking, I prefer the latter as there are lots more parking spaces available.

Do they have the same ingredients?

There's 1 super cute waitress at Holiday Inn serving breakfast - too bad too shy to catch her name.

I know who u r referring to! [sly][laugh]

Shopping - I can think of Mahkota and Pahlawan on top of my mind, to me both are ok but for the details i need to check with my female companions. Ha!

I prefer Pahlawan compared to Mahkota as there is more to see at the former. The latter seems like Holiday Plaza in JB. Nothing much to see and walk.

Makan - There's one dessert shop along Jonker street that serves great chendol with very fine ice and generous servings of gula melaka.

I think the stall you are referring to is Stall 88, quite famous from a search on the net.

Havent tried Capitol before, but I tried Ban Lee Siang the other time. For parking, I prefer the latter as there are lots more parking spaces available.

Do they have the same ingredients?

Ingredients are about the same. Grounded peanuts & sugar. For Capitol, the stuff will add grounded peanuts & sugar in the midst of ur meal. It will thicken the sauce. That's why it is more potent.

hi all,

I planning for a day trip to melaka. Early morning start off. This is my first time trip to melaka. Just wonder 1 day is it enough for shopping, makan and some sight seeing only. I just want a short getaway.

been there twice.. i think 1 full day is enough for shopping and makan and sight seeing..

recommend go on friday or saturday so u can catch Jonker St at night.. it is like a pasar malam la..

hmmm.. shopping can go makhota parade.. sight seeing can maybe try Christ Church that region.. and there is a Baba Nonya museum also..

nice food in ole sayang and Bei Zhan.

Any idea where can buy car stuffs beside the usual carefour and giant

Apologies for bumping up old thread,

but since its related so might as well use this -_-

I will be driving up to Melaka this coming thurs, second time there, but first time being the only driver.

Just need advise if one full tank is able to last for the journey to and fro? Will be driving 1.6A civic.

and parking at Equatorial what's the rate? will only be there for a day trip, so will park from morning till evening.

Hope to hear advises .. thanks ! [:)]

I will be driving up to Melaka this coming thurs, second time there, but first time being the only driver.

Just need advise if one full tank is able to last for the journey to and fro? Will be driving 1.6A civic.

and parking at Equatorial what's the rate? will only be there for a day trip, so will park from morning till evening.

Malacca is less than 300km, so a full tank sure can reach

Parking rate by valet i think about rm15

It needs less than 3/4 tank for a 1.6A, can even last you 2 days till your return trip for refill before you hit the highway back.

Car park rate won't be high even in a shopping mall, i have never tried to park in a hotel if I'm not staying there.

Why park at Equatorial, since you are not staying there. You can park any of the shopping centre that is convenient. It won't cost much.

Unless you are driving luxury car, and need some place to park safely or someone to guard for you. [rolleyes]

Does it mean you must use the valet services if park at hotels and shopping centres? Is it ok I park myself and hold on to my keys, give the valet or security some $tips (how much is the standard?) so that they will help watch out?

I will be staying at Malaca holiday inn soon.

Does it mean you must use the valet services if park at hotels and shopping centres? Is it ok I park myself and hold on to my keys, give the valet or security some $tips (how much is the standard?) so that they will help watch out?

I will be staying at Malaca holiday inn soon.

The security has a good view of their open air park. Not so sure about the underground though. For tips either RM10 or 20. Unless you want them to park at the "VIP" lot, maybe you can ask nicely and pay more.

Thanks for the input guys, appreciate it!

Just came back from my trip.. parked at Mahkota parade open space carpark, 11am to 8pm only 10rm..

parking is really cheap and safe. [laugh]