Comments made by SG PM on F1 very sadden and unappreciative

Help1

[rolleyes] i disagree with you bro. this is taking the news report out of context and commenting on something that you probably have no clue about.

his job as PM is to make sure of the well-being of the country; not to "enjoy" the race - that's the job of the fans and consumers. on top of that, he qualified his statement by saying that other business leaders enjoy F1 and this created the opportunity to network (aka make more money)

can u imagine if he made some smart comment about Renault or Ferrari, or even to say "the race was exciting". the journalists will shoot more questions which are more technical - then how is he going to answer? he probably was talking to some state or business leader during the race and wasn't paying close attention.

PR statements are all planned. he's trying to tell the journalists that he's not knowledgeable in this area, so they won't get an answer if they asked.

'I've been watching it on TV the last couple of nights, not watching the cars, but watching the skyline, to see whether the skyline shows up and we see Singapore showing off its best,' he said on the sidelines of the race before he handed the trophy to winner Fernando Alonso.

PM Lee added: 'It is is a valuable buzz, publicity for us around the world, which will benefit us in many ways.'

'You'd be surprised how many of them have a special interest in F1. And they were telling me how impressed they were with the arrangements and with the race. It was something different, a night race, and it adds something to the sport, and would put Singapore on the map.'

"I' ve been watching it on TV the last couple of nights, not watching the cars, but watching the skyline, to see whether the skyline shows up and we see Singapore showing off its best"...abstract from ST and this is what i heard last night during the interview

there is no need for him to make any smart comments, the best approach is not to comment anything if he is not knowledgeable, just say that the whole event is very well run and organised, very successful and perhaps as a caring host wish the drivers had a safe race and as a leader, proud of singapore is on the global map...not something like "...not watching the cars, but watching the skyline...."

OT abit. anybody noticed that our Mr Lee seem to lose weight??? hmmmmm stress over his mum or ???????? Not a v healthy sign for us.

Both the mum and dad bah...MM Lee is indeed old...anytime man...

f1 can terminate the contract and pay the penalties, they have the financial power and if things dun look good, why not, bernie is a no-nonsense guy...

but anyway given the facts that everyone is giving the [thumbsup] on the 1st night race by Spore, is a good indicator that F1 is here to stay unless cost over the yrs shoot up and it is too uneconomical to sustain anymore, contract may cease with both parties agree

There isn't anything wrong for him to talk abt exposure for SG, but to completely exclude comments abt the excitement of the race itself just only give the F1 organisers and foreigners impression we are only interested in benefits for the country and there is no passion in the race watsoever...on one hand it maybe good to be 100% frank and upfront of what you really feel, but on the otherhand you have to excercise political correctness in wat you say and do in front of media to the world wide audience...just imagine the millions of views worldwide watched it and gets the impression the F1 is no big deal to SG and we only want it for advertisement sake? All along I knew this was what they wanted when they brought in the F1, but I think it is at least expected of them to be a wee bit more politically correct.

I agree, no doubt it's the truth and it's good to come from that point. The drivers/team may not be so song about it. The way how Singapore organize the first night race is simply amazing, i am surprise the amount of work being done in a short span of time. Kudos for the Project Management Office of the Singapore F1 night race! [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

we are lucky and fortunate to have foreign workers to build the F1 facilities so fast and so efficient...so we must thank them for their tireless 24hrs works round the clock....and hope their employers reward them 1 way or the other....

for this they should address the issue, but then street race sure bumpy due to regular road usage...relay near the race unsure any complication but i think definitely dangerous cos oil will seep out of the newly laid bitumen...anyway let the race facility management who are the subject matter expert to deal with this next yr...so long they dun introduce humps that we see everyday can liao, surely f1 cars fly up to "singapore eye" or landed on "merlion" head [laugh][laugh][laugh]

city skyline? got lar, harbourfront lor, the cable-car points, low-level vivo city lor, not enuf got lots of keppel cranes with lights on....impressive liao.. [laugh]

also there is naturally skyline too..our commercialised mt faber lor... [thumbsup]

actually i felt our skyline should have been better litted up. other than Maybank building, the other buildings, namely UOB, OUB and republic plaza looked really dark. Victoria Concert hall was also dim NTUC building was quite ok.

anyway, with the fences all around, it was tough to see where the cars were.

They should put 4-digit numbers on the F1 cars. [laugh]

For those who crash, that number confirm a lot of ppl will buy. [laugh]

cannot lah.. later the other cars that pass by slow down to record the number how? traffic jam again...

not speculating, i tot is is more of common sense [laugh]

And for 1 perseon that hole themselves up at home, there may be another one that went out for the very same reason.... this will be speculation [:p]

really? hmm.. then again, neither of us will know for sure.

but one thing i do know, certain top hotel very near the F1 does not have tt high an occupancy rate [rolleyes][rolleyes]

i don't like to rely too much on speculation, or "common sense", and not even the media. inside info is good [sly]