Babyt 4th Gear September 27, 2008 Share September 27, 2008 why....so boring? i keep seeing the cars speed pass and going round and round and thats it??? i dont know how to appreciate... why i see the seating galleries showing on tv so sparsely occupied? ppl went home early? or no one buy tix? but i tot is 99% sold as per tv? why tv keeps boasting sg can build the facilities in 10mths while eu countries may take 2 yrs...lol ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evoluzio Neutral Newbie September 27, 2008 Share September 27, 2008 What you saw was the practice session. The drivers weren't exactly racing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched September 27, 2008 Share September 27, 2008 I guess the whole event is over-hyped by the gahmen lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gantan88 Clutched September 27, 2008 Share September 27, 2008 What do you expect out from a car racing event. Of course is car going round and round lar. F1 car cannot drift, cannot go up and down like rally cars. If u watch live on site, worse, the car just zoom pass, you only hear the sound. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skyum 1st Gear September 27, 2008 Share September 27, 2008 i am no F1 expert.. They are not racing because it's practice session. So i guess they are finding their way around a brand new coourse in brand new setting. Also they do not start together and everyone is also trying go as fast as possible without wanting to bother who is behind chasing or in front blocking... I guess when you are down at teh grandstand watching, all you will see are cars flashing by..round after round. you just need to enjoy the atmosphere create by the fast car and noise, take photos or video clips, see the fringe activities. You may not even know what's happening elsewhere on the track ..not even reply of crucial overtaking or accidents..unless there are TV screens on site. If they are doing a live telecast of the race, watching it at home maybe worthwhile..as you can experience various views minus the actual live experience. Anyway, these are all the things that we are doing to make us more vibrant including hosting of Asian Youth Games, Youth Olympics etc.. More will come by once we can prove ourselves.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_liang Clutched September 27, 2008 Share September 27, 2008 Brother when you are down there it is different. Car going at more than 300 km/h on the straight and 200 km/h on the bends. You can't see the speed on TV. People go there for the sight, sound and smell (fuel). The bloody engines are louder than a jet plane. Imagine me staying around little india still can hear the FI engine roaring, wait till all 20 cars roar together. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Velocityz Clutched September 27, 2008 Share September 27, 2008 I am not a total F1 fan but I went to watch the practice session 'live' yesterday because I just happened to get tickets from a friend and I want to hear the actual sounds 'live'. I found out TV can never replicate the 140 dB sound of the engines nor can you actually see the rotors lighting up red-hot at high speed braking. As for the empty seats, most of the multi-day ticket holders either gave away their Friday tickets to friends or did not go at all or left early; actual qualifying and race are on Sat and Sun. For those who missed the 'live' event, there's always next year Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thelord Neutral Newbie September 27, 2008 Share September 27, 2008 Ya lor, for me i would rather watch TV, still can see on board cam, can see different shots and different parts of the tracks. Got replay for buangs somemore! Few hundred bucks for the tickets its abit expensive.. I wonder is it only me, i see so many pple around me get free tickets from their bosses.. So good. Last night 2am travelled on Lentor and the street lamps only a few lighted up, must be F1 consumed to much power liao haha. Spent billions to built the temp track, last only a few days only... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear September 27, 2008 Share September 27, 2008 For the uninformed, there are multiple big screens all over the track ... at least 1 big screen in front of each grandstand. So, for those who just want to have funm, hear the engine, smell the brakes/tyres burning.... a walkabout ticket is all you need. Waht's more, you can party at the padang, hear the engine and watch the race live on large screen. But for the enthusiast who follows the race, nothing less than pit grandstand will do. It is where the start/finish is,... and where you can see the pitstop of each cars, and of course the parc femme ... podium to celebrate together with the winners .... and there are 3 large screen right in front of you to follow the race if you are lost. Certainly, nobody said F1 is going to be cheap when you have 20 cars that cost at least 100mil each, and drivers who are paid an average of about $5-10mil a year. The fact that you have the opportunity to be part of the race, is something to savour. Better than watching Cote D'Ivoire vs Saudi Arabia in a World Cup group match in South Africa in 2010. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched September 27, 2008 Share September 27, 2008 Ya lor, for me i would rather watch TV, still can see on board cam, can see different shots and different parts of the tracks. Got replay for buangs somemore! Few hundred bucks for the tickets its abit expensive.. A few hundred bucks to see cars whizz by ... too ex for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged September 27, 2008 Share September 27, 2008 why....so boring? i keep seeing the cars speed pass and going round and round and thats it??? i dont know how to appreciate... why i see the seating galleries showing on tv so sparsely occupied? ppl went home early? or no one buy tix? but i tot is 99% sold as per tv? why tv keeps boasting sg can build the facilities in 10mths while eu countries may take 2 yrs...lol errm, not all ppl dunno how to appreciate F1. F1 is a mega-event, like a party in most countries.. Guess we dunno how to appreciate yet bah. The sounds, the cars, the hype, its great actually at least for me.. Coz I like the sound, the fast cars.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear September 27, 2008 Author Share September 27, 2008 f1 is mega event to the riches... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sfhuang Clutched September 27, 2008 Share September 27, 2008 f1 is mega event to the riches... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic September 27, 2008 Share September 27, 2008 why....so boring? i keep seeing the cars speed pass and going round and round and thats it??? i dont know how to appreciate... why i see the seating galleries showing on tv so sparsely occupied? ppl went home early? or no one buy tix? but i tot is 99% sold as per tv? why tv keeps boasting sg can build the facilities in 10mths while eu countries may take 2 yrs...lol erm...this is like asking why pay $$ to see a live concert when watching mtv on TV will do. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged September 27, 2008 Share September 27, 2008 Certainly, nobody said F1 is going to be cheap when you have 20 cars that cost at least 100mil each, and drivers who are paid an average of about $5-10mil a year. wah, wu yang boh? one racing car 100m each meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Circuit Clutched September 27, 2008 Share September 27, 2008 if u wanna see car whizz pass only and hear the sound... can jus take mrt to city hall.. stand at road side and see ...free :P that wat i see at prac run... a lot people at side of fence. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear September 27, 2008 Share September 27, 2008 why....so boring? i keep seeing the cars speed pass and going round and round and thats it??? i dont know how to appreciate... why i see the seating galleries showing on tv so sparsely occupied? ppl went home early? or no one buy tix? but i tot is 99% sold as per tv? why tv keeps boasting sg can build the facilities in 10mths while eu countries may take 2 yrs...lol fainted.... got super large tv for the stand people to watch.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear September 27, 2008 Share September 27, 2008 no, no ,no only cost 50 sing dollar only ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...