Redsun Neutral Newbie September 24, 2008 Share September 24, 2008 Anyone know is there any place where you can catch some action of F1 for free? One place I know for sure is those office buildings facing the racing circuit and their companies allow they staff to go to their office to catch the actions. Too bad I am not working in one of those building. Is the any other place? There must be some places able to catch some actions ( of course cannot be compare to those seating in the ticket holders area). As the whole area is too big and I don't think the organisers can blocked up 100%. Will the Sheare Benjanmin bridge walkway be blocked off? Or there are threads in this forum discussing about this and where are them in this forum? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear September 24, 2008 Share September 24, 2008 Ch5 live telecast lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg98 1st Gear September 24, 2008 Share September 24, 2008 no free lunch in this world ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear September 24, 2008 Share September 24, 2008 if u really want to watch, stay home. u can't see anything interesting at the track. you just feel the vibes and hear the engine scream, but can't see what's actually happening. if u are as far as the sheares bridge, u probably won't even by able to hear the true sound of F1. the organizers have done quite a good job to ensure that only paying customers can watch (including buildings around the area - SRC, Cricket Club) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged September 24, 2008 Share September 24, 2008 Agree. You either buy ticket (some are selling online) or just watch on TV. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear September 24, 2008 Share September 24, 2008 watch at home lor!!! comfort of your own living room, can on fan on aircon. lie on the sofa lie on the bed best is teebee cover the entire race from pit to corners to straight rd! want sound effect just blast ur hom theatre system! song song gao jurong! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nirxe Clutched September 25, 2008 Share September 25, 2008 Channel 5. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nine_eleven 2nd Gear September 25, 2008 Share September 25, 2008 watch it on tv at home lah... you'll only get frustrated that you can hear the engine scream, but can't see the car....or can see the car, but too far..., can see and hear the car, but because too many people, can only catch a glimpse... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tmfwy Neutral Newbie September 25, 2008 Share September 25, 2008 At least after the race is over, those watching at home can thank the lord, that they can sleep immediately. Not like those, who have to SQUEEZE to get home 1-3hours later.. ;) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear September 25, 2008 Share September 25, 2008 I do wonder at times what is the real deal of watching F1 abt.. the car zoom pass you once every few minutes, and you cant really catch the turns of events at bends far from your view.. you dont know if the pit stop cxxk up.. so at a turn far away, vehicle crashed and race suspended, you dun know.. and after 15min you see no car... abit like waiting for taxi or bus leh.. Prob the only good thing is to hear the engine LIVE and maybe catch a glimpse of the grid gals.. AFTER the event is the worst.. machiam like last time watch Malaysia Cup like that.. go home also damn stressed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beachboys Clutched September 25, 2008 Share September 25, 2008 (edited) its something like.. watching a big action thriller in a THX cinema hall, as compared to watching the same thing on your lcd telly screen~ same movie shots, same movie diagloue, same movie sounds, but hell the entire experience after watching it at the cinema beats the crap of the telly !!! NUTIN comes close to hearing a F1 engine SCREAMMMING past you !!! example: I didn't noe there was backfire (pop-pop) from F1 cars until I was witnessing the Mclaren car here a couple of months back... on TV you can only hear the engine wailing only~ Edited September 25, 2008 by Beachboys Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skinky 1st Gear September 25, 2008 Share September 25, 2008 *rolls eyes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carndablues Clutched September 25, 2008 Share September 25, 2008 NUTIN comes close to hearing a F1 engine SCREAMMMING past you !!! Absolutely spot on, I never realised that sound could be painful until I heard the first F1 car speed by 10 metres from where I was standing...it was an Arrows btw (Anyone remember that team?) But even if you can't see the car when it's at the far end of the circuit, you can hear the noise and the excitement only builds as the noise gets louder and the car comes closer. BTW, for those who are going, I highly recommend you get some form of ear plugs! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged September 25, 2008 Share September 25, 2008 the silly cinema operators didn't think of cashing in on the live F1 telecast by screening in their halls. i would have paid money to watch it on the big screen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beachboys Clutched September 25, 2008 Share September 25, 2008 OT: i will be starting my marshal duties later in the noon today~ will be taking fotos etc with a glimpse of what goes behind the background and around the circuit... Will create a new thread, so watch for it !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear September 25, 2008 Share September 25, 2008 I have a solution for you, Go down to boat quay, go into one of the bars/pubs that screens F1 ... you can have a nice drink sitting down Al Fresco, watching F1 on TV, and hear the engine roar pass when the cars come near Anderson Bridge at the end of Nicholl Highway before Fullerton. That's as good as you are going for the race. Another few places would be 1. Balaclava or Starbucks at Suntec 2. Starbucks at Raffles City 3. Xin Wang (HK Tea Cafe) at Marina Square 4. One Fullerton ... any cafes/pubs there with Al Fresco but i'd still prefer Boat Quay coz its not too near as the noise can be deafening, yet within hearing distance, can watch the race on TV and hear the commentary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dankoo 4th Gear September 25, 2008 Share September 25, 2008 cos I think money from movies goers will be more than those for F1... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear September 25, 2008 Share September 25, 2008 Anyone know is there any place where you can catch some action of F1 for free? One place I know for sure is those office buildings facing the racing circuit and their companies allow they staff to go to their office to catch the actions. Too bad I am not working in one of those building. Is the any other place? There must be some places able to catch some actions ( of course cannot be compare to those seating in the ticket holders area). As the whole area is too big and I don't think the organisers can blocked up 100%. Will the Sheare Benjanmin bridge walkway be blocked off? Or there are threads in this forum discussing about this and where are them in this forum? At home lor, they showing on tv. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...