Working in Brunei

Raining

plse lah...S'pore u also comprain Boring...

there's no place Boring unless u want it to be...

when retirement pple want to take it easy but hv the time to do the things they like. unless u tell us when u retire u still want to cheong KTV, GL, HC then lipsrsealed.gif

Hi Bro, i never work in Brunei b4, but my brother does, he work with Shell, salary is damm good thumbsup.gif

car there r very cheap, petrol dun say, i think, i1 L is only 80 cent, makan , housing is excellent thumbsup.gif

but entertainment wise thumbsdown.gifbigcry.gif, after 8pm , almost all places closed. its like ghost town, very quite,

U can give a try , if u really want to earn BIG money, That is the place thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif don't think so much,

grab the offer n go wave.gifwave.gif finish d contract, back to sg, can buy IS 200 inlove.gif. Trust me angel.gif

Talk about uneventfulness, I share with you a story about an engineer friend I met up there. He always complained about boring so I brought him to swim in the club with my Brunei friends. The locals there don't swim hence the whole pool is all to ourselves with some angmohs. I brought him to Shah Bandar for a hill climb and run he didn't like it. I asked if he likes golf, he didn't like it. I brought him to a drag race (cars) he didn't like it. Then I knew he likes night life which he always almost waited me late when I return to the hotel and induce me to talk about my outing which frankly I was not prepared to share with him.

If you are only into night life then the life is not for you there. But, if you like sports, outdoors, a little booze and 'action' you must be networking well.

The oil town is called Seria. Understand that the CEO reports directly to the Sultanate hence the place is quiet, peaceful but near the border to Miri. A great many of the chinese residents have migrated to Canada and Australia but some have also returned. While in Miri please behave yourself caused night life may be rough like in JB.

If your office is in town, its Bandar or Gadong that you would be stationed. Its a small place therefore if you are sociable, everybody knows everybody.

Shell is the second biggest employer next to the government. Enjoy! [:)]

Hi sis optik, sori if my word offended u, i observes that u like to label our mcf members with Names

that r not really good, sori again, they r just to cheer up their own and other members morng dull mood

the r just joking onli, so no need to call them jokers, c'om, no joke no fun right, 4 ur info, i'm not on their

side or what, just neutral , no hard feeling ya flowerface.gifsmile.gif

I just came from a year working in Brunei.

Lifestyle there is very relax and took me awhile to adjust back to the Singapore pace of working.

Indeed it will be very hard to push the Bruneians to work hard. Not an easy task and guess we cannot bring our Singapore work culture over there or you will be very frustrated [dead] .

For drinking, there are several hotels that provide booze. D'Anggerek Hotel in Brunei do serve booze if you need some drinking to relax. Quite a new setup which is quite popular and crowded.

Otherwise, you can head to the Malaysian border town (kuala lula) to buy you liquor. Quite cheap. more cheaper than DFS. to bring liquor into Brunei just need to fill in a orange form at the custom. However, do keep the orange form as custom might check on you anytime in Brunei to see if the liquor you have is legal or not.

Drop a PM if you need a guide. I still goes there once a month (at least) to monitor on my "slow" project........

plse ... come to forum, prepared to give must also prepared to receive feedbacks/comments/views etc correct or not ... i won't be offended.

as for my labelling, i only do that to my frens whom i know & yes these 2 fellas happened to be my FRIENDS. if they get pissed, they will equally shoot me back.

ask a qtn....so eng eng cheng cheng how come no one consider retiring there sly.gif

I do have friends' parents retire there. To retire, you need to consider medical facilities too. Hope I answered your question.

but their sultanate is not dressed in white right? and they don't go around squeezing their peasants for moolah.. [:|]

Edited by Shull

tks, thumbsup.gif now got more choices beside thailand and malaysia

yup medical facilities is indeed a major headache. the prices @ hospital are heaven & earth btw foreigners & locals sweatdrop.gif

Agree. Medical expenses for the local are heavily subsidize. Even when they go overseas for treatment, the government will pay for their airfare, accomodation and medical treatment. Even another member of the family can accompany the person over for treatment (also fully-paid for).

That is why it is very difficult to obtain a Bruneian citizenship.......

When you withdraw money from the ATM in Brunei, you may get Singapore dollars [:)]

Ciggies used to be very cheap like B$1.50 a big packet [sweatdrop]

Pertol (B$0.70/l) is cheaper than mineral water (B$1.5/l) [nod]

Fresh degree holder can expect B$2500-3500 from the govt and min. B$3500 from Shell/BLNG [scholar]

Food is very cheap if you cook at home [flowerface]