Driving Instructor Quality

Albeniz

Under the "complaints" folder of MCF, many forumers have shared with us their personal unpleasant road encounters like:

-Not signaling while changing lanes.

-Reckless driving

-Dangerous driving

-swerving into others' lane suddenly with no regards to safety.

-speeding

etc.

We seem to see more such cases today than years back. It sets me thinking:

"Weren't the drivers taught the proper way to drive when they took their lessons?"

I went to a driving center website and took a look at the requirements to qualify as a driving instructor. I was surprised that a young man who passed his test for 3 years could become a driving instructor. And they welcome fresh poly grads (~20 years old) to apply also.

Does these young people have enough experience to teach?

Edited by Albeniz

Only teach drivers to follow the rules. What experience?

Real world driving they got to learn themselves.

Just like our first class education. Does your teachers prepare u for the real world when u go out to join the workforce?

In my opinion, driving is not just about teaching the students a set of rules to follow.

It is important for instructors to share their driving experience and inculcate good driving habits/practice to the students.

It would be difficult to expect this from an inexperienced driving instructor who is still quite new on the road himself.

From arcade, psp, xbox, wii u mean sly.gif

Last time, I wanted to take class 2 licence, went to lipsrsealed.gif DC & see the instructors. Had a talk with 1 of them, doesn't inspire much confidence to learn from them.

Well, inside circuit, what experience needed....... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

crank course, 'S' course, round & round the control circuit......etc.

Tell the diploma holder with 3 yrs experience to go to old upper thomson road and take corners or chio Nkps to race to JW...... [sly][sly][sly] ..... oops... [lipsrsealed]

2yrs back, i wanted to take class 2 so i went to check it out. after tokg to that instructor, i dropped the idea plus i didn't get approval to take it tongue.gif

my class 3 took decades ago fm pte. even then the instructors at ubi is not what you seen nowadays.

All tax-see drivers are above 30, and yet a number of them drive like you-know-how..

So I believe it got to do nothing with age and experience when it comes to teaching..

During my secondary school, encountered a few fresh-graduated teachers who teach much better than those experienced teachers.. Very much like the Chen Hanwei's Fang LaoShi(Not sure you got watch or not) style.. laugh.gif

2yrs back, i wanted to take class 2 so i went to check it out. after tokg to that instructor, i dropped the idea plus i didn't get approval to take it

Class 2 directly? Or do you have class 2A already?

-Reckless driving

-Dangerous driving

-speeding

etc.

You can't blame the instructors. How about blaming the TP testers who passed the students?

Under the "complaints" folder of MCF, many forumers have shared with us their personal unpleasant road encounters like:

-Reckless driving

-Dangerous driving

-speeding

etc.

We seem to see more such cases today than years back. It sets me thinking:

"Weren't the drivers taught the proper way to drive when they took their lessons?"

I went to a driving center website and took a look at the requirements to qualify as a driving instructor. I was surprised that a young man who passed his test for 3 years could become a driving instructor. And they welcome fresh poly grads (~20 years old) to apply also.

Does these young people have enough experience to teach?

You want to teach also can because they accept PART TIME

primary/secondary school teachers i dont know their real life exp, but poly lecturers usually come from industries, so they have the revelant exp... [lipsrsealed]

Don't even need to involve poly lecturers... just the students' own parents already have good life experience to share... but you think the kids listen?? What more do they listen to their teachers or lecturers? [sleeping]

And so, history repeats itself [laugh]

dont sink the boat with 1 bamboo leh, not all kids are like tat.

What I m saying is poly teach industry courses, so if the lecturers do not have the revelant exp, when the student ask tutorial or during lectures, the lecturer just read from the book, how boring can it be?

Anyway the topic is about Driving instructors Quality, whether the instructor has the revelant exp or not, I dont think the driving centre will bother, cos they train the instructor to make sure student pass the test. If the student want more after getting the license, they can take the defensive driving with the DC, then more exp instructor comes in.

to pass the test doesn't depend on the instructor exp.

2yrs back, i wanted to take class 2 so i went to check it out. after tokg to that instructor, i dropped the idea plus i didn't get approval to take it tongue.gif

my class 3 took decades ago fm pte. even then the instructors at ubi is not what you seen nowadays.

Ya most of the instructors i came across got some kind of attitude especially when i was taking Class 2B years back.

Check for oncoming traffic a few secs more kena shout "Oi! see here see there so long for what! u tink at airport wait for relatives ah!"

But subsequently taking Class 2A and Class 2 the instructors are rather bo chap... Whereas Class 3 still ok la 2 person in the car only so talk cxxk sing song alot. Class 4 and 5 even more relax, the instructors all hokkien hokkien and wanna sleep wanna sleep.

Personally i feel that all these instructors also working nia, very routine everyday teach the rules thats all, signal 3 secs mirror blindspot gradual lane change, doubt anybody will follow that la...