IS NISSAN SUNNY FL N16 REALLY A LOUSY CAR???

Niteek

Fuel pump is suppose to pump petrol from the tank to the engine lor. Anyway, it shouldn't spoilt so fast one. Do you always wait until the tank is empty or the reserve light is ON before going to pump petrol?

Usually I drive at least 100km after fuel lite on and top up around 43 litres. So far mileage 72k with no fuel pump problem. Fuel pump is something that will last a long long time.

Edited by Dumb

Yups, y u think we still bringing in? Just tat those buying e new ones r doing number retention, u tot those r old cars [laugh]

Its meant as a cheap reliable Jap car, not as a main bread & butter model anymore. IMHO, its a better alternative to a China car.

Second this. It quite a reliable car. My cons only apply to poor FC for AT and behind leg room abit inadequate. smile.gif

Agree with this. FC is terrible. Legroom is nightmare with someone like me with long legs and height of 1.85 metres. I sprained my back the last time I drove a Sunny. [bigcry]

Wah Piang, Lucky you are not taxi driver. if not i think u up lorry liao. This is the first time I heard pple drive car sprain the back except taxi/ bus drive

agree with u [laugh]

in actual fact, my opinion is all cars in singapore are good cars.

it's just dat wat u wan in a car? dun tell me merc, bmw, jaguar have no problems? they hv their fair share of problems too!!!

if u compare:

sunny vs altis - altis of cos consumption is better

sunny vs civic - pick up n power civic is better

sunny vs avante - avante rear legroom is better

sunny vs mazda 3 - mazda 3 has a sporty lookm not like ah pek

sunny vs lancer - lancer i think is cheaper

jus to name a few comparison

well, people still buy china cars, y? cos they r improving too n offer super high specs for super low prices, value for money.

in the 70s, they say take sand-paper n sand off the body colour/paint of a datsun (old name for nissan) and u will see milo/ovaltine prints on the metal sheet.

in the late 80s, when they complain about hyundai (korean) cars, the answer was "it's like that one"

well, the world is evolving very fast n technology advancement is scary. toyota is world number 1 n hyundai is world number 5. so how?

I like my Sunny SS.

Bought in 2006, previously driving mazda.

My current Sunny SS clocks on average 12km/l for the past 35000km. Stable at speeds up to low 100+. Extremely cruise-like between 80 - 95 km/ hr

All my servicings have not brought up any major problems.

Only bugbear is the rooftop when it rains. Then again, if ppl want to spend money to soundproof the roof, this problem will be gone.

[smash]

if you say super low price, yes. china cars are cheapest in any class. But that does not mean their TCO is the cheapest.

I believe if a QQ and Spark bought on the same day and sold 3 years later, Which will command a better price and lower depreciation? those higher specs (u mean bell & whistles?) don't account for anything.

Value for money?

Seriously look at a china car and its competitor. the built quality is heaven and earth. The price difference aint that much. If you take TCO into the equation. China car are NOT value for money.

What about reliability?

Does anyone know how QQ will fare after 3 years? Picanto is reliable. is QQ?

Yes the world in evolving fast, China will catch up but need many more years to catch up in car quality and technology. Until they become the chinese hyundai, why waste money on sub standard product.

The savvy car buyer shouldn't look at the sticker price alone. Those that buy china car are just thinking of the lowest sticker price and nothing else.

Am I wrong? just take a look at how well chinese car sales are doing. If they are so value for money, many of us will own one liao. laugh.gif

Edited by Osiris

when picanto was out initially, who dare to buy? if hyundai has not taken over kia, who trust kia?

come on, touch your heart n say, take away the chery on the qq, put on toyota, the q to buy will b worse than hello kitty!!!

sillyporeans love brand, to them brand means good???

like i said, even merc or bmw also have their fair share of problems.

resale value? who has resale value now? we r at the mercy of the gahmen hands, on to up or down on car taxes n COE premiums/quota. tell me how much can u fetch for a 3 year old nissan latio? how much the owner paid 3 years ago??? [laugh]

if u compare in absolute value of money, qq going for sub $30k, at least the most the owner will lose is [laugh]

at the end of the day, it depends on wat the individual wants, brand? ride? performance? quality? or money in pocket [laugh]

its a free world, choose yourself [laugh]

Edited by Walterkoh

qq put a toyota badge people also don't buy. those toyota diehard see the quality will faint on spot. laugh.gif

the only way to sell is keep the design and replaced everything.

It has nothing to do with brand. Even if qq put lexus badge, the bread and butter saloon uncles will not buy a china car with lexus badge with such standard. Some COE car have better built quality

Nissan was no 1 because sunny was a value for money car back in 99/00. now it is an old car. changes in car design and technology made this car lose appeal liao.

the rest of their product now can't sell as well.

March, dated design lose appeal, compare to jazz.

latio - looks not mass appealing despite great interior

Only Tan Chong is still pimping the old granny sunny which is a very old car liao.

MPV - no small size one with sweet spot pricing to compete with wish/stream

So yes, nissan is getting lousier with poor product mix that doesn't appeal.

I agree with you every brand got quality problem. but what's the % per 1000 cars? surely toyota got less % than Chery.

I also agree buying car depends on wants.

If we talk about china car, let's face it it's all about money in pocket. what i am saying is just a little bit more at the sticker price, they step away from hawker center to reliable restaurant std. I also think the TCO in the long run may be such that restaurant is cheaper than hawker center.

Really depends on what you are looking for. My current ride is a Sunny 1.6 manual which is an OPC. When I am looking for my car, FC is not a major consideration since it is a OPC car usage is low.

What I like about the car is,

1) Relative affordable for a Japan made car, especially for 1st time buy where price is a major consideration. If you have deep pocket, it most likely you will not consider the sunny.

2)Feel stable at high speed i think due to its weight.

3)Was given 3 years free maintenance including materials and labour. For the 1st 3 year I did not spend a single cent on servicing. Even my faulty reverse sensor was repaired FOC during 1 of my servicing.

3)Interior material is relatively good. not too sloppy.

Now 3+ years later, I am considering to change to a normal plate car and most likely will change my sunny because my requirement has change.

1) Need a car with good FC.

2) A car with good leg rooom at the passenger side.(Sunny is lacking in this area)

3) Big booth space car (Too many baby stuff to carry)

So really there is no really a bad car but only a unsuitable car.

Sounds really like a cheapo car for cheapos man! [thumbsdown]

Never liked the Sunny cuz I think it's a sloopy japanese job! Blurh!!! The fuel consumption is extremely bad and the acceleration really cannot make it for a 1.6 lit. Interior is just bland!

sunny price is still expensive compared to china cars. i doubt its an alternative that china car buyers will consider.

Actually, in terms of looks, most china cars look better than the Sunny. The Sunny's look is quite dated. [:/]

Actually, i quite like the FL Sunny look.. the front has abit of the R34 rectangular lights [laugh]

Drove the manual one before and its actually quite rev happy for the first few gears, but nothing much left for the 4th and 5th.

Could feel alittle of Nissan's racing heritage. [laugh]