Picanto 3rd Gear September 21, 2008 Share September 21, 2008 a certain taxi company is imposing a $5 surcharge for rides taken during the F1 period. is this greed at work? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched September 21, 2008 Share September 21, 2008 Which company is it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnchee Clutched September 21, 2008 Share September 21, 2008 SMRT is the one started it. Very soon, other will follow. Who knows bus/MRT fares might up during that period too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Clutched September 21, 2008 Share September 21, 2008 That's the nature of business, maximising profits. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched September 21, 2008 Share September 21, 2008 Welcome to the matrix. In fact, this is a big conspiracy. First, they screw the pte car owners, pushing them to take public transport. Then, they start screwing all those who made the switch AND those who are aldy on it. So, in the end, all LPPL and have to suck thumb in the face of all these increases Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear September 21, 2008 Share September 21, 2008 go malaysia during F1, spend money there. watch F1 on TV either that or hunker down at home in SG. eat at nearby kopitiam, watch F1 on TV. or simply screw the F1, go cycling, fishing, jogging, hiking etc etc. dun complain gahmen wanna fleece us. they cannot fleece us if we RESIST being fleeced. honestly, i dun give two hoots abt F1 though i'd very much like a media pass to go n shoot. of course i'm not in a position to get one anyway, i went marina square few days ago. like a bit less crowded than when i last remembered. looks like F1 doesn't work out for everyone Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 21, 2008 Share September 21, 2008 actually this is fr the organizer who agreed with the cab companies. this is more to draw the cab to the place, else nobody will wanna go all the way out bypass so much customers. without enuff cabs, those spectators will also suffer. so not really an issue as long as u got moola. b as understanding as my kuayteow frienz who told me this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Route88 2nd Gear September 21, 2008 Share September 21, 2008 Tats wat i intend to do too. F1 is for tourist Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear September 21, 2008 Author Share September 21, 2008 SMRT is the one started it. Very soon, other will follow. Who knows bus/MRT fares might up during that period too. i think its ok to impose a F1 surcharge for cabs. but $5 is a bit too much. there are heartlanders that will attend the race. they just assume that all spectators are loaded with $$$. this is simply not true. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sturtles 6th Gear September 21, 2008 Share September 21, 2008 I would think 5 bucks is quite a lot for a precedence. Maybe a 2 dollar surcharge could be good. Afterall, a local customer from f1 probably will not want to go to bugis or chinatown, but to yio chu kang, tampines, etc, and the taxis will earn the milege. As such, the companies could inform their rental customers to take note the f1 venue would be a cash cow, and they would go there without an increase in price for the consumers. Imo, its just a semi-logical, but not thoroughly thought out implementation. But point scored on their superiors' assessment list nonetheless. I would think they are only following the example of the public transport system under raymond lim by this semi-logical argument that erp improves sales. My foot. No offence to my dear bro Apollo, but to your kuayteow friend Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronnchee Clutched September 21, 2008 Share September 21, 2008 Dunno how they formulate this $5. I thought whichever the increase in fares, need PTC (Public Transport Council) for approval ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_b20 6th Gear September 21, 2008 Share September 21, 2008 maybe the taxi driver drive like F1 driver also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear September 21, 2008 Share September 21, 2008 This is a well-known fact liaoz.. They got the balls of Lewis Hamilton but not the skills.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear September 21, 2008 Share September 21, 2008 frankly, if i am local, i wouldnt be taking a cab right after F1 race with so many spectators fighting for cabs (there will be reportedly 100,000+ spectators on raceday). i would walk to the nearest MRT station, take a train towards the direction i want to go, and alight at the best possible station to catch a cab. it would be crazy to take a cab anywhere near the track with so many ppl and traffic will be a nightmare that night. Have you ever tried catching a cab after football matches during Malaysia cup times at National Stadiium? And that was only 50,000 people.... now you have double that amount. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched September 21, 2008 Share September 21, 2008 dun complain gahmen wanna fleece us. they cannot fleece us if we RESIST being fleeced. So u mean u can walk to ur next destination if the price of public transport increases, or u dun need any fuel for ur car when the tank is empty? It's going to affect everyone of us, in 1 way or another Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beng2 5th Gear September 21, 2008 Share September 21, 2008 You cannot compare with Malaysia. Sin has world class transport system ok Speaking of surcharge, now that crude prices have come down, have they removed the fuel surcharge? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marquee Clutched September 21, 2008 Share September 21, 2008 I can agree that trying to catch a cab after a major event can be a nightmare. However if our authority has done and meet the World Class transportation standard then such problems should not exist. Raising the flag down fare is simply lame excuse and certainly no guaranteeing of solving problems. During the opening at Beijing Olympic, all spectators were given free rides to town via public transports. They were fast and efficient. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear September 21, 2008 Share September 21, 2008 Or worse, got into a cab and then get stuck in massive jam. Lan lan... either got to get out or stay with cab fare... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...