Air con matters

Magiclamp

Paid $450 for the job. Aircon seems ok now. But will try it out for a while. Ah huat said if anything wrong can go back to him. Nice fellow. [thumbsup]

Hope the aircon take tahan for another 3 years till i scrape the car.... [:/]

Went to visit Ah Huat just now. As usual, a nice guy. He did a quick diagnose and sum up the following:

Compressor weak

Condensor leaking

Some other pipe or valve also leaking

Fan coil ok

Was quoted $455 for a change of the whole system, including labour (except fan coil), provided if he can find the condensor, if not will be anothe 100 plus more....

Wow, real big time for me...

So now my pocket going to burnt [bigcry]

================

Another alternative is go back to the old days & just install a big fan on your dashboard. [laugh]

Maybe u can consider NOT running your AC on MAX cooling all of the time.

I usually set to just a cool & comfortable temp & my AC usually lasts for many years without much trouble.

Only now I have an Optra with a different type of AC so the temp is set at the lowest(coldest setting) all the time as it makes no difference. I just control the coldness with the fan speed.

Edited by Pisces69

Now the aircon super cold. The temperature control chip was removed by the previous owner. So now the aircon always in lowest temperature when turn on. I don't know whether the compressor as will as the other aircon parts will be able to take it and tahan in long term.. [shakehead]

Think can't find the chip liao... Ah huat also don't have a solution to it...But if hot day.. the aircon is good and nice... But cold day, then I need to off it cos very cold...

You might wanna get a new thermostat installed. Otherwise, the compressor will always be running.

I've heard of aftermarket thermostats that can be installed and some even come with a small 2digit LCD so you can select your desired temperature. Have got a friend who installed it in his coe eg5 as well. Check with reputable car workshops. they should be able to advise on this.