Air con matters

Magiclamp

4-5 months ago, I went to my usual aircon mechanic to change a cap for the refrigerant gas container (I using R 12 for my COE car). (He told me there was a leak in the cap 6 months earlier when I went to him to top up the gas.) After changing the cap, he topped up the gas and the aircon was still not cold, so he told up the oil for the air-compressor. Subsequently the aircon was ok, but not as cold as before.

Feeling my old car aircon should be ok, I drove with ease and comfort was a few months. But the aircon started to be 'not ok' a few weeks ago. I went to my mechanic last friday. He poured some water on the compressor and said the compressor spoilt. It was hot and water was boiling on it. He said that it is not supposed to be hot when the aircon is running. He said when the compressor is hot, the gas cannot go in as there is a auto mechanism to shut off the aircon. But when going at high rpm on expressway, the aircon can work a bit, but still wont be cold. He said need to changed the whole compressor which will cost more than $200. I think excluding labour.

So now, I am wondering if my mechanic telling me the truth. But he did show me the refrigerant gas level via his guage. It showed 70%. He said when the aircon is working, the level should be 30-40%.

Any truth in his words? I am really not a expert in aircon business.

[gossip]

problems are

1. pipe leak - was this fixed?

2. compressor failure -how does one pour water over it to test?? i really wonder.

since it is not misting inside the car, believe the coil is ok not choked.

but not sure if ur compressor is kicking in or not... i.e. soleniod problem.

ok, i ask ah liang my kwayteow mee friend. he say

tat sud b a pipe leak else u wun hv to refill the compressor oil

also u need to check if the radiator fan has kicked in a while later when aircon switches on

this means tat the returning liquid is moving and also cooled down before reaching the compressor

if u hv not repaired the aircon before, he assumed the aircon filter also neber changed? if it is filthy it will get choked and stop returning liquid just like filter kena kidney stone. this can b one cause of the problem

a complete repair cost is really more then wat u hv been quoted. it sud include replace filter, replace the expansion valve, remove all gas, clean up the coil, replace the compressor, recharge all gases.

dun worry, ah liang sell kway teow mee and he no scare u anyway. best u use search function n read more, it's explained all over previously. go ask more vendors.

and oh.. do come back and tell us wat happen.

I am sure R12 is not available for local sale in Singapore for quite a some time already.

You can check if your gas is sufficient through the sight glass which is normally on the dryer for R12 sys.

If you see that it is cloudy, the gas is insufficient.

But base on the description it sounds possible for the comp. to be faulty.

But I suggest you do check if the condenser fan (if yr car has 2 fan)is working.

4-5 months ago, I went to my usual aircon mechanic to change a cap for the refrigerant gas container (I using R 12 for my COE car). (He told me there was a leak in the cap 6 months earlier when I went to him to top up the gas.) After changing the cap, he topped up the gas and the aircon was still not cold, so he told up the oil for the air-compressor. Subsequently the aircon was ok, but not as cold as before.

Feeling my old car aircon should be ok, I drove with ease and comfort was a few months. But the aircon started to be 'not ok' a few weeks ago. I went to my mechanic last friday. He poured some water on the compressor and said the compressor spoilt. It was hot and water was boiling on it. He said that it is not supposed to be hot when the aircon is running. He said when the compressor is hot, the gas cannot go in as there is a auto mechanism to shut off the aircon. But when going at high rpm on expressway, the aircon can work a bit, but still wont be cold. He said need to changed the whole compressor which will cost more than $200. I think excluding labour.

So now, I am wondering if my mechanic telling me the truth. But he did show me the refrigerant gas level via his guage. It showed 70%. He said when the aircon is working, the level should be 30-40%.

Any truth in his words? I am really not a expert in aircon business.

Gossip

FYI on how aircon system works :

http://www.bee-cool-aircon.co.uk/questions.html

aircondiagram.gif

Check either the TEV (Thermal expansion valve) or the Filter Dryer is choked. To check the amount of referigent inside the system, have to connect the LP (low pressure) and HP (high pressure) gauge. Look at the LP gauge, healthy system should be ard 3 bar of pressure I guess, cant remember the exact figure. Long time never service an A/C already. [laugh]

It seem everyway, there are people/mechanics/salespeople trying to make you spend unnecessary money.

The aircon compressor will alway be hot. Try touching the black compressor at the back of the refrigerator. That why I am doubtful of pouring water to test the compressor conditions. Now I am afraid the water will also drip into your alternator, etc...

Try getting 2nd opinions elsewhere, and even have to change compressor, start a new relationship with another mechanic. Die die dun let the usual mechanic earn the money.

My apologies, but I am alway suspicious when I have to fork out money.

OT abit, recently went to balance tyres, mechanic try to start my car to shift onto the jack, battery suddenly become flat. Pay them S$10 for jump start, and get AA to change battery at my home.

I have checked and verified that both my aircon and radiator fans are working. As for the aircon filter, I was told my this mechanic before my car aircon don't have any filter (He said old COE no filter. I driving a Toyota Corolla 1.3 XL). I was not sure about this as I find it fishy too. Thanks, I will need to find a expert to find out the real cause. But no lobang leh, hope some bros can help. I staying at Seng Kang area.

I went to Ah Huat of Markcool before (2-3 years back) and he told me to change to convert the whole aircon as locally can't use R12 gas anymore. Was quoted $300 for it then.

ok, i ask ah liang my kwayteow mee friend. he say

tat sud b a pipe leak else u wun hv to refill the compressor oil

also u need to check if the radiator fan has kicked in a while later when aircon switches on

this means tat the returning liquid is moving and also cooled down before reaching the compressor

if u hv not repaired the aircon before, he assumed the aircon filter also neber changed? if it is filthy it will get choked and stop returning liquid just like filter kena kidney stone. this can b one cause of the problem

a complete repair cost is really more then wat u hv been quoted. it sud include replace filter, replace the expansion valve, remove all gas, clean up the coil, replace the compressor, recharge all gases.

dun worry, ah liang sell kway teow mee and he no scare u anyway. best u use search function n read more, it's explained all over previously. go ask more vendors.

and oh.. do come back and tell us wat happen.

But I still managed to find a source for R12 gas. I have checked and the gas is sufficient. Yup, both fans working. In fact the aircon fan was changed 1 year ago.

[reply]I am sure R12 is not available for local sale in Singapore for quite a some time already.

You can check if your gas is sufficient through the sight glass which is normally on the dryer for R12 sys.

If you see that it is cloudy, the gas is insufficient.

But base on the description it sounds possible for the comp. to be faulty.

But I suggest you do check if the condenser fan (if yr car has 2 fan)is working.

Hmmm, TEV and filter dryer. Sounds complicated. I don't think my mechanic knows anything about these. Never heard him mentioned them....

FYI on how aircon system works :

http://www.bee-cool-aircon.co.uk/questions.html

aircondiagram.gif

Check either the TEV (Thermal expansion valve) or the Filter Dryer is choked. To check the amount of referigent inside the system, have to connect the LP (low pressure) and HP (high pressure) gauge. Look at the LP gauge, healthy system should be ard 3 bar of pressure I guess, cant remember the exact figure. Long time never service an A/C already. [laugh]

well, spend $200 have doubts, spend $300 to new gas, hopefully include everything i've stated. change filter, change expansiion valve, empty, vacuum and recharge line. it will b swee swee for at least 5 years.

Just some points i would like to contribute:

1) R12 refrigerant is definitely available in Singapore

2) your toyota corolla 1.3xl definitely does not have an aircon filter

3) Aircon compressors are hot when they're working

Car aircon system is actually pretty simple. Its exactly like the illustration the other forum member has posted.

What you can do:

Check if your aircon piping is leaking

Check if your aircon compressor is working properly - the pressure test when your car is running and aircon is working and compressor has kicked in

Check if your cooling coil is leaking

Check if your condensor is leaking

Check if your aircon valve is working - whether or not its blocked/choked

Not sure if the dryer can be checked

A reputable aircon shop to send your car to would be M@rkcool @ woodlands.

p.s. I used to drive a toyota corolla 1.3xli EE101. And i had aircon problems too for the 4years i had the car. Almost every year. and always during chinese new year when I most needed the aircon :D

I couldn't blame M@rkcool for the re-occuring problems i had because back then i was on a budget and i replaced the aircon system parts, part by part.

And also, i used reconditioned parts.

The only suggestion I have is to send your car to Markcool at Woodlands.

So far I never heard any of the bros complain they con or cheat them.

See Ah Huat the foreman. He is the man to see for your car AC.

BTW I also see him for alternator, radiator, distributor or other minor stuff that can get 2nd hand replacement parts from scrapyard for COE or older cars.

New cars is also not a problem as he is very experienced. [thumbsup]

I went to Ah Huat of Markcool before (2-3 years back) and he told me to change to convert the whole aircon as locally can't use R12 gas anymore. Was quoted $300 for it then.

==================

Ah so u already know Markcool/Ah Huat. [thumbsup] He used to do my COE Corona & the AC was never a problem to me. Cost was always reasonable & work done was always good. [flowerface]

So just go & see him lah.

Maybe u can consider topping-up your gas in JB. They still have it there.