Where to buy Seiko Criteria/Premier Watches?

Dh15

No lah.. seiko is a good watch of coz.. but smtime if prepared to pay 4 figure, maybe can consider a brand with more prestige.

I think for watches, either you go with those below 200 one, if not will be the above 2000 ones. Anything in between is wasting money.. just my personal opinion..

icic...but are the prices cheaper den mustafa? wat u guys do to ur old watches when u change new ones? any place 2 sell the old 1 off?

I respectfully disagree with this view. The thing is, I have watches that are in the 4-5 figure range. All of them are Swiss. To me, the real money wasting watches are $5-10k Swiss watches that run ETA movements.

With Seiko, for $1000, you get a mechanical watch made by an independent watch maker with outstanding cutting edge technology that is far more accurate and long lasting than even the most expensive Swiss watches. Non of the Swiss watches in this range can even come close to boasting these much sought after credentials.

Seiko has everything Swiss watch makers want to be, except the perceived brand prestige. And brand prestige in the watch world is what makes it spin. Prestige = money = more money = even more money = happy share holders.

It's a bit like appreciating cars for what they are. A car connoisseur would find pleasure in both a Ferrari Enzo and a Swift Sport. Different pleasure, but still pleasure. Some days, a Ferrari Enzo is to die for, but most days, a Swift Sport is the perfect car.

how abt east european hand wound watches? i see one shop in bras basah still keep quite a nos of them, beri tempted, not sure if there is any worth to keep them.

Yes, thats why I said Seiko in comparison to swiss watches are extremely good value for money. For me, i buy watches based on their engineering, value to owner (non monetary), durability and accuracy.

Buying a watch for brand prestige? if you got to flaunt it..obviously you havent got it.

Edited by Davidtkl

Well, east European watches do have a following. At this price range, no point talking about worth. They won't be worth much once you've bought one. But if it keeps calling your name, then go ahead and buy one. They're not really known for their fine craftsmanship or accuracy, but they sure look good!

If you're a watch snob, skip it. You'll just keep wishing you bought a Panerai or IWC. But if you're a watch lover who appreciates them for what they are, then they would undoubtedly give you much pleasure.

mustafa dun have the flexibility to readjust the price. their price is fixed most of the time. whereas you can kill price at bencoolen. [;)] i think u recce mustafa first den go bencoolen check? found the one u like den try to kill the price. it usually works as there is quite a bit of competition there. happy shopping. [:)]

Got this brand new Omega watche that my female friend ask me to sell.

How lucky she has rich boyfriends to pamper her with such luxury gifts, but she doesn't like the watch!

Anyone want to buy for your wife or mistress?

Brand new, huge discount from retail!

My friend just want to off load it for cash, any reasonable offer she will consider.

http://www.mycarforum.com/classifieds/clas...eds.pl?id=12704

Hi, wonder anyone here knows where to get the the abv mentioned watches at the best price?

Was thinking of getting the F1 Honda Racing Team watch too. Hehe.

there's a shop called "King Wah" at peninsula plaza level 1... it's a small shop but has a large selection of seiko watches and other japan watches like orient n citizen... prices and be easily 30-40% cheaper than retail n comes with international warranty. only problem is don't let people try on e watch.

another shop at people's park complex top floor... website is www.skywatches.com.sg. nice selection of watches too at good price. I got my seiko orange monster from them because King Wah was out of stock then

I respectfully disagree with this view. The thing is, I have watches that are in the 4-5 figure range. All of them are Swiss. To me, the real money wasting watches are $5-10k Swiss watches that run ETA movements.

With Seiko, for $1000, you get a mechanical watch made by an independent watch maker with outstanding cutting edge technology that is far more accurate and long lasting than even the most expensive Swiss watches. Non of the Swiss watches in this range can even come close to boasting these much sought after credentials.

Seiko has everything Swiss watch makers want to be, except the perceived brand prestige. And brand prestige in the watch world is what makes it spin. Prestige = money = more money = even more money = happy share holders.

It's a bit like appreciating cars for what they are. A car connoisseur would find pleasure in both a Ferrari Enzo and a Swift Sport. Different pleasure, but still pleasure. Some days, a Ferrari Enzo is to die for, but most days, a Swift Sport is the perfect car.

[thumbsup] fully agree with you. For me, good value watch below $1000 (or even below $500), mechanical one with illustrious history has to come from SEIKO. Anything below $10K is crap, just over-priced. It is either below $1K or above $50K watches for me. As I dun bear to part $50K, so it will be SEIKO forever!!!

Note: I am NOT from Thong Sia, SEIKO's agent. (I remeber Thong Sia sponsored one big clock in Botanical Garden nong nong time ago. Not sure if the clock is still there...)

Edited by Kenneve888

hmm.. i'm not too sure abt this though. but i know there's a shop that is buying used 2nd hand watches. but they only buy in BRANDED watches like rolex and tag heuer etc... another place i know that buys old watches is cash converters? haha. but dun expect to have a good price from them ya.

Edited by Redcoloured

eh... from all my mini "market research" so far. bencoolen offer the best price. and dun judge the price they indicate on the price tag. its usually for show only. u have to ask them for actual price. normally its 30 to 40% off the price tag. and as far as i can remember.... they do carry some high ends SEIKO & Citizens watches. but for tag heuer.. hmm.. not too sure they have anot.