Used Hyundai Atos - can buy or not?

Atrecord

The engine vibration is a perfect example. Before the accident the engine is very smooth, no vibration at all. After the accident the engine vibrates on and off. This issue can't be rectified so just live with it lo. Not really a real problem, I would say it's just the well-being of the car, not as good as before.

Quite true hor....

I just realised that my daily consumption is around 65 km per day for 7 days...Sunday with family being the worst....Almost 100 km every Sunday...dizzy.gifdizzy.gifdizzy.gif

thanks...

yup, more coe march than swift or atos.

went to view a march on saturday. it is more spacious than atos for sure. but for a car that is 12 yr old, the price is 16.8k. with a life-span of 8 yr+, it works out to be ~2.1k per year, far too high for my liking given the age.

think i'll take the risk and go for the atos on account of the low depreciation. keep fingers crossed that it'll not give me prob given my low usage.

many thanks for the advice.

i know that my usage is really low, but i have to send my 2 young kids to childcare daily. while it's not v far away, it's in some obscure corner where it's v inconvenience to reach by bus and to take cab every day is not worth it. the other benefit is that i also get to drive to work instead of relying on bus... hence the decision to get a car albeit a real cheap one.

Just like to hear any opinion:

Is it ok to buy an used hyundai atos? it's a 2001 prime model, manual. mileage 170k+

anyone know whether the car has ABS?

are there many such models on the road now still?

also, likely to still have parts for the car or not? just want peace of mind in case needs to change anything if i should drive it for the next 2+ yr...

tks.

If you're looking at low depreciation, you can check this out.

Try to knock about 2-3k off the selling price, and you'll have a winner for depreciation.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/main/info-2AoWdyOE-1373.html

Do not take a long loan though. The interests will eat into your savings.

Not enough cash, then better not buy a car.

tks for suggestion this proton wira. proton certainly has no worry abt lack of spare parts, but it could be in JB...

also, the depreciation is not really that low leh. ok, it's not an extremely old car so it deserves more - but i am looking at very low depreciation.

besides, proton cars may be worse off than korean? at least that's what my mechanic says. I'd personally seen this (classic): an ex-colleague bought a new wira from C&C in 1999. He went to view car just before 3-yr warranty of the wira was up, and traded-in once up becos his wira had:

- one side mirror held in place by masking tape

- number plate loose. kick only one side fell off

- engine rattling

- one window cannot move anymore (lucky it's up, not down)

he's a salesman (high mileage), but a family man, so never chiong one... the corolla he changed to was in good condition after 5 yr...

Edited by Atrecord

No ABS. It's a no frill small hatch. I think the current Picanto uses the same or similar variant of the ATOS engine.

If you avg 170k over 7yrs, it's ard 24k per yr or 2k per mth. Well, consider "high mileage" in SG context... [;)]

Not many such models on the road liao. But i know of someone who drove her ATOS till 10yrs up. Still runs well and she was so sad to send it for scrap.

But again, 2nd hand's like tat. Depends on yr luck sometimes. Parts, mayb can try scrap yards. Just IMHO. [:)]

Oh.. something to add. I've driven a rental ATOS ard 3yrs back. Runs ok and being manual gear, power is acceptable with 4 on board. Juz the aircon not very strong. My paxs behind comprain very hot. Mayb it's juz tat rental car not so good lor.

I am still driving my 9 years old Atos. The main concern with Atos is, it uses a water heated throttle body assembled on top of the engine body by having heated water in cooling system bypassing it via the top mini L shaped flowpipe, and it is intended for winter driving purpose.

Sample of water heated throttle body

throttle-body.jpg

The reason why Air-cond is not cooling is mainly caused by 'thick' water flows slower via trottle body flowpipe and also Atos uses a small heat radiator. To maximize the heat radiation, the car should change for new distillated water & coolant every 2 service. This service is call radiator flush service.

Besides radiator flush service, the driver should know the condition of the radiator and cooling system. Is the water in cooling system filled with rusted particle? The rusted particle in cooling water will cause the inner wall of flow pipe of the throttle body to thin and eventually burst.

Edited by Jollybee

I am still driving my 9 years old Atos. The main concern with Atos is, it uses a water heated throttle body assembled on top of the engine body by having heated water in cooling system bypassing it via the top mini L shaped flowpipe, and it is intended for winter driving purpose.

You mean you still driving this car atos now? [:/] I think i saw one atos on the road before 1-2 years back, after that dont see any more liao?! I remember this car consider quite popular back then, saw quite many on the road. Even able to rent this car in some car rental companies back then.

Edited by 13177

This car model was very popular in Korea when most high school students were driving it. It is very fuel economy with 6.4 litre per 100 km. Should be great fun driving it in cities like SG and HK, provided the car in tip top condition.

Although the car has not much resale value, but it has great recond value. Reasons being,

1. The car body is made with good quality steel. Rarely you get rusty bulge underneath the body paint unless the car body is damaged during collision.

2. The car accessories such as power window, door hinges, seats are made of quality and durable materials.

3. The car arms and bearings made of superior thick iron, able to withstand impact from bumpy and unsealed road in less developed nation.

4. With the replacement of i10 model, the smallest Hyundai engine i10 comes with 1300 cc able to fit into Atos.

This car can last at least 20 years if maintained and modified well.

Sample of water heated throttle body

The reason why Air-cond is not cooling is mainly caused by 'thick' water flows slower via trottle body flowpipe and also Atos uses a small heat radiator. To maximize the heat radiation, the car should change for new distillated water & coolant every 2 service. This service is call radiator flush service.

Besides radiator flush service, the driver should know the condition of the radiator and cooling system. Is the water in cooling system filled with rusted particle? The rusted particle in cooling water will cause the inner wall of flow pipe of the throttle body to thin and eventually burst.

Can the heated water be by passed using a connector?