Atrecord Supersonic September 18, 2008 Share September 18, 2008 Just like to hear any opinion: Is it ok to buy an used hyundai atos? it's a 2001 prime model, manual. mileage 170k+ anyone know whether the car has ABS? are there many such models on the road now still? also, likely to still have parts for the car or not? just want peace of mind in case needs to change anything if i should drive it for the next 2+ yr... tks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear September 19, 2008 Share September 19, 2008 wah..i think u better off getting a coe swift, starlet or corolla. 170k is very high mileage and this car is very uncommon on the road these days. how much does it cost actually? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smartmax85 Clutched September 19, 2008 Share September 19, 2008 i dun see much atos on the road now(in fact i have not seen 1 in a longgggggg time). but mileage 170K quite high liaoz. get a jap car would be better eg. nissan , toyota =) dun have to worry on spares or reliability Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fongs Neutral Newbie September 19, 2008 Share September 19, 2008 (edited) No ABS. It's a no frill small hatch. I think the current Picanto uses the same or similar variant of the ATOS engine. If you avg 170k over 7yrs, it's ard 24k per yr or 2k per mth. Well, consider "high mileage" in SG context... Not many such models on the road liao. But i know of someone who drove her ATOS till 10yrs up. Still runs well and she was so sad to send it for scrap. But again, 2nd hand's like tat. Depends on yr luck sometimes. Parts, mayb can try scrap yards. Just IMHO. Oh.. something to add. I've driven a rental ATOS ard 3yrs back. Runs ok and being manual gear, power is acceptable with 4 on board. Juz the aircon not very strong. My paxs behind comprain very hot. Mayb it's juz tat rental car not so good lor. Edited September 19, 2008 by Fongs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoh Neutral Newbie September 19, 2008 Share September 19, 2008 Suggest you to get a COE corolla(92~94) instead. These cars are built to last... Much much better than Atos prime in every aspect. Stability, ride comfort, space, safety, power etc all better than Atos. Talking about corolla spare parts? Its everywhere... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullbig Clutched September 19, 2008 Share September 19, 2008 I used to own a red ATOS..also second hand bought in 2007...just got rid earlier this year... spent almost 3K overall and still breakdown.... Was told by Hyundai and ComfortDelgro no more parts in Singapor liao...very tough to maintain...despite cheap due to the $101 COE thingy... My view : Get a Picanto is better.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnhr Neutral Newbie September 19, 2008 Share September 19, 2008 Hi, don't buy if u buy , sure regretpart no longer av,my fren trade in for Kia rio, the sales don't want to take in, totally out dated car, honestly no safety aspect at all, very light som more, buying is really regretting Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 19, 2008 Author Share September 19, 2008 alamak... dun sound too good. am looking for a cheap car, and this one is another $101 coe car, hence attracted me. asked komoco too, and they confirmed that they had scrapped many parts, so not many spare parts available - but of course in unfortunate event needs change, will likely go for recon'ed parts instead... my usage is v v low, maybe only abt 10-30 km a day at most. is if safe to go for it and hope no prob crops up? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic September 19, 2008 Share September 19, 2008 You should let us know what is your budget so that forumers here can provide a good suggestion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fongs Neutral Newbie September 19, 2008 Share September 19, 2008 What price are they selling tat make it so attractive? How many owner? Your low usage doesn't necessary mean car will not give problem. Alot depends how well previous owner(s) have maintained it. Actually, another avenue for parts... Boleh land! I think there shd be still a good no. of ATOS running on their streets. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 19, 2008 Author Share September 19, 2008 selling at $13700. parf when scrap is $8055, so depreciation is ~$2.1k. am thinking of short-term (~2-3 yr) use so no need long commitment, and looking at depreciation of ~$2k a year. for coe cars that run till 2016/7, is it risky to buy now in the sense that when it comes to nearer that year (even if say 2013-5), will there still be parts? even for 1996 nissan march, sunny, corolla, etc...? tks... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedyruby Neutral Newbie September 19, 2008 Share September 19, 2008 Although there's a risk factor sourcing for parts, you can still easily get the replacement parts from Malaysia. I have seen alot of Atos in JB (Old & New facelift). Even the first batch of Atos (launched in SG 10 years ago) is less than 5 years in JB. Like wise for the old KIA Rio, Mentor & Spectra. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear September 19, 2008 Share September 19, 2008 what is the paper value of the car now...seem it pretty near its paper value with a depre of 2.1k??? if it is near paper value then no harm...if cannot make it then scrap it losing a little money... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davetan86 Neutral Newbie September 19, 2008 Share September 19, 2008 bro why not get a hyundai getz 1.1m? it has better FC and decent performance. Parts are easier to get also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoh Neutral Newbie September 19, 2008 Share September 19, 2008 Atos spolit in spore... Car not able to move... How? Tow into malaysia? Take bus go malaysia buy parts come back spore fix it up? You'll be buying more panadols dude... Best Bet, get yourself a picanto or hyundai getz 1.1. Depreciation around 2.5K ~ 2.8K. Newer car less problems. Furthermore, annual depreciation of about 2.8K vs Atos 2.1K. Monthly differences only 58 bucks. I don't mean to be cruel... BUT if your Budget really so tight, you will be better off taking buses & MRTs. No offence bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 19, 2008 Author Share September 19, 2008 i see... but i hardly go JB... on paper value, if scrap now, should get ~$10100. abt getz... dun have so cheap mah... if got cheap i sure get Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic September 19, 2008 Author Share September 19, 2008 but those newer cars mean have to hold on for 4-8 years then the depreciation is ~$2.8k right? if for some reason need to let go of the car in 2 years, sure bleed like crazy? if got around same time picanto or getz then I'll surely consider. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear September 19, 2008 Share September 19, 2008 should also consider 3 yrs old Perodua Kelisa. No frills car, but still better than public transport. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...