Wbucket Clutched September 17, 2008 Share September 17, 2008 Like to check on views of bros here about treating female friends to meals. Say, if 2 people (a guy and a gal) met for a meal. Guy would usually pay first, right. Then gal keep quiet and like nothing happened. No mention about the cost of the meal, what-so-ever. Have any bros encounter this before? My take is I don't mind treating, but being quiet about it and like nothing happened just gives me the feeling that I was taken for granted. I have heard from female friend said before, when a guy ask her out, he is supposed to pay for everything because she wouldn't have need to spend money if the guy never ask her out. My first impression is "WTF". ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calefare Neutral Newbie September 17, 2008 Share September 17, 2008 I personally wouldn't mind. But if you're so peeved about it, just comfort yourself that you know her character with just one meal lor. Consider cheap and no more next time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged September 17, 2008 Share September 17, 2008 I Have no problem about that. If you really expect her to ay for her share, you will have to tell her when you got the bill. Just tell her the amount of her share. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged September 17, 2008 Share September 17, 2008 well...for me dis is old fashion.nowadays all dis girls r independent.most earn their own money.so....not sure abt others...but for me...so far de girls i've encountered will offer to pay.some even insisted they treat me.so i will offer to go dutch...or if they still insist on footing de bill...i'll treat them de next time. but...those r frens la.if out on a date...i cant comment.cos de last time i went dating is b4 i married my wife.so by den also...we will go dutch.cos "confirm" already mah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear September 17, 2008 Share September 17, 2008 A decent woman will say thanks for the treat and in future outings, offer to treat you something too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Akula Turbocharged September 17, 2008 Share September 17, 2008 I would insist on paying the meal, expectimg just a word of thanks......If she's insisting on paying her share, then would suggest she pays the next time. This way will get a second date. You mention being quiet, no mention abt cost of meal and nothing happened, did she not even mention a word of thanks??? If not even a simple thank you then consider it a cheap lesson to get to know ur friends better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wbucket Clutched September 17, 2008 Author Share September 17, 2008 So you pay for all your female friend's meal when you dine out with them? Like this very shiong lo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic September 17, 2008 Share September 17, 2008 Regardless of gender, I think it's only polite to offer to pay for your own share. It's very bad to keep quiet. I have not come across such females. All the ones I had came across offer to pay for their share of the meal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wbucket Clutched September 17, 2008 Author Share September 17, 2008 Ya...nothing, we continue eating and chatting. That's why I can't get it out of my head. It is second time liao, and I fear it would continue like this if I don't voice out. Like kanna carrot head like that. However, the meals ain't ex la. Just the carrot head feeling, can't shake it off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear September 17, 2008 Share September 17, 2008 I too seldom come across such females as described by TS..so far perhaps only one example in my life... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wbucket Clutched September 17, 2008 Author Share September 17, 2008 Yeah... Usually if this happens, like first time dinning together without others, I would immediately stamp "failed" and move on. This one isn't like that at the beginning. She would offered to pay her share usually and 1 time even give me an option to either treat meal or dessert, while she treat the other option. Now beginning to like her liao, then like this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear September 17, 2008 Share September 17, 2008 Stop going out with her in future then. This has got nothing to do with pettiness but if a gal always like to take advantage, this kind of person not even worth it as a normal fren...let you treat or nvr offer to go dutch nvr mind...at least shld have basic etiquette to thank you for the treat... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wbucket Clutched September 17, 2008 Author Share September 17, 2008 Maybe my recent hair style look more like carrot head... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wbucket Clutched September 17, 2008 Author Share September 17, 2008 I see your point. O well... [inline animate_emoticon%20(50).gif] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic September 17, 2008 Share September 17, 2008 So at first her offers are for show only lah. Or maybe u bring her to places she dun enjoy dining. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blue2 1st Gear September 17, 2008 Share September 17, 2008 earlier repy dun y no appear...anyway... u 1 2 chase her mah..... so some gals are like that 1...must guys to blanjah mah... they does not 1 the tar bor to leow kui mah.... everytime char bor paid majiam white face la.... on serious noted if u beginning to like...dun take this as an excuse to not continue to purse her... mayb as time goes by...she will pay for it... mayb she got other good points... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peqasus 1st Gear September 17, 2008 Share September 17, 2008 then u must chart ROI liao. When touch 1st base by date # aka ensure commitment through equal commitment. if nothing then mayb taken for a ride liao. i guess can set up a more positive culture. Eg hey this meal on me, movie popcorn on u etc. no doubt lose a bit but hey it's a virtuous cycle... nex time, hotel on me, me on u Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wbucket Clutched September 17, 2008 Author Share September 17, 2008 First time Ajisen, I double-triple-whatever confirm that it is ok for her, then we order food one. Second time is a place she brought me too. Anyway, what logic is it that if she don't enjoy, she don't need to pay or like what the rest of the bros say, at least a word of thanks... Btw, me just frustrated. No venting anger on you all, hor. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...