Alfa Romeo 159 Successor

Skinky

good lah.. jz in time for me to change by then.. haha.

but hor.. the headlights remind of the current 3 series. And i do not really fancy the headlight having the cover.. current 159 is more distinctive i feel.

Edited by Chrispie

The exterior looks good man.

I also would like to see

1. Dual clutch gear box

2. Restyled interior to give it more modern look

In 3 years, just nice, about time to think about changing car. Cool !!

The 159 only came out 3 years ago and they are already talking about a successor? The 156 lasted for more than 8 years. Hmm...That can only mean one thing: Sales of 159 is not up to expectation. Sigh...

But it's good if they are going to revert back to the RWD philosophy. Dump the GM crap and go back to their italian roots please. 2011 don't seem promising to us here in Singapore. Probably will reach here about 2013 only. They'll probably push the LHD models 1st for the US market. Sigh x 2....

I dun think the pushing out of new model earlier is a sign of sales not being up to expectation ba...probably the trend now is to replace old models with newer models within a shorter time frame...just look at Audi...the previous A4 was in the mkt for not more than 4 yrs and they came out with the new one soon this yr..its actually rather unusual for a model to last for 8 yrs before being replaced..156 seems to be the exception rather than the norm..

confirm will have dual clutch gearbox...some fiat and alfa models will be fitted with this kind of gearbox starting from 2009...by 2010-11, I guess it will spread to most of their flagship models..

good lah.. jz in time for me to change by then.. haha.

but hor.. the headlights remind of the current 3 series. And i do not really fancy the headlight having the cover.. current 159 is more distinctive i feel.

I like the overall shape...oozes sportiness and at same time, a stronger luxury feel compared to their past models..but same like you..prefer the current 159 headlights..its not tat this is bad but just find the shape of the lights not as appealing...the current 159 headlights got this "staring hard" at you look which gives it a rather unique appeal..

I think based on the picture, the headlights seems to be the key change in the facelift.

I feel that for the current 159, what is the masterstroke is the exposed hextruplet headlights. Not just that, you will notice the inner most headlight (the highbeam) has a chrome horizontal flap that runs towards the central shield. That itself is very flattering to the whole frontal too.

The successor is too conventional in a sense.

Edited by Chrispie

You are right. But the 156 and 147 seemed to have led them round the corner. Those two were their best sellers. The 159 was poised to launch them into the US market. Getting GM parts was part of the plan to ease up on maintenance costs. The plan seems to have fallen flat. Can Alfa please forget about the US market? They are dying there and the last the Americans need is a European car with poor dealership history and reputation. Concentrate on the rest of the world and they'll probably do better overall. Continue to push the El Dorado and the rest of us will suffer with them. Give us a good car please. The $$$ will follow naturally.

Edited by Crummytyre

I think based on the picture, the headlights seems to be the key change in the facelift.

I feel that for the current 159, what is the masterstroke is the exposed hextruplet headlights. Not just that, you will notice the inner most headlight (the highbeam) has a chrome horizontal flap that runs towards the central shield. That itself is very flattering to the whole frontal too.

The successor is too conventional in a sense.

The headlights seems indeed the main appeal...but I think alfa want to be a bit more mainstream instead of always catering to the niche mkt which means poor sales...tat may explain why they wanted to be a bit more conventional for future models...