Thinking of an "up"grade to a Conti

Kraft

sorry bro borrow ur thread. not enough post to start a new one.

im currently driving a wrx but insurance is a killer! 7.5k for renewal due to my age!

anyway i'm thinking of changing to an early 90s bmw 3 series coupe. saw a few on sgcarmart.

what do i have to take note of when buying a 10+ year old bmw? are these cars advisable to be driven up north, i.e overheating issues, catching fire, etc?

$7.5k premium?

how old are you? so high risk?

E36 3 serie coupe most available would be the 318is Coupe.

comes usually in manual.

Very driveable but a bit rough.

Stable on the road, like most BMWs.

As long as well maintained, no problem.

Very little electronics so no worries about that.

Parts are fairly cheap and available easily

I used to own one many years ago.

Sold to exporter.

try to buy from direct owner on BMW.SG

Dealers will bxxxxxxt you 100% just to sell that car.

below that magical 26 mark where all drivers are deemed young and inexperienced even though i've driven over 100 000km!

i saw one on sale for 35.5k on sgcarmart and went to check out the bm forum where a guy posted that his friend sold to the dealer for only 19k!

actually, its not only about experience, it,s also about aggression.

although again nothing is 100% , generally younger folks got more aggression.

or at least thats how insurance companies view it.

anyway, my advice is, to take advantage of buying such cars, fork out cash and just buy directly from owner. Yes go BMW.SG and cut a deal direct with owner.

when i bot mine years ago, i paid $3k above paper value directly from owner and covered with 3rd party FT insurance for only about $700 a year.

Rationale is this.

If total crash, I take back paper value so effectively my risk is only $3k ++ a bit admin. I drive it for a while and if I dont like it , I scrape it, my loss is just depreciation of the paper value + the $3k premium i paid.

I used this approach to buy my first 4 cars.

All full cash and all no more than $2k-$3k above pure paper value direct from owners

You could say I was buying in those cars at dealer prices!!!

I saved a fair bit of money and still got to change cars every year.

However for this "strategy", one must be willing to fork out the cash and still drive a second hand car. Thing is most people who fork out $30k - $50k cash usually buy a $60k - $100k car.

This strategy may not work nowadays due to change in the vehicle tax system.

Last time 80% OMV system was perfect for this strategy, if you have cash.

Good luck in your search. Do avoid licence plate 2250 318is, it was black in color last time. Very thrashed up, probably 200,000km by now but dealer adjust the speedo to read 60,000++

That's true. Infact every brand has its own feel. Some say some Subaru model feels like european minus the brand.

Chrysler 300c is developed based on Merc late 1980's E-class. Use same chassis and susp.

Relax it was just a tinker. Shuld see that in a light context [:)]

Who say cannot? Didnt I say: if can afford why not, if cannot why force?

Btw Casio doesnt mean any less accurate than IWC [:p]

It was just a tinker but up to you to believe.

I find you say "Once you drive a conti, you wouldn't want to switch back" is a bit of a sweeping statement

Why wont switch? I knew someone who recently bought 25mio bungalow who comfortably drive jap mpv.

I also have councelled a man whose BMW get pocessed because he wanted to prove in vain can afford big conti car. When times come either back to basic or switch to economy model is entirely ok.

I am not against conti hor. To the thread starter I mentioned be prepare for higher cost but if can afford everything why not.

Thats because reliablity is not very good for older conti.

http://www.reliabilityindex.co.uk/tophundr...128339010848601

OFFICIAL: YOU CAN'T BEAT JAPANESE CAR RELIABILITY

Japanese manufacturers have dominated a poll of the Top 100 most reliable used cars over the past decade.

Keep that in open mind [;)]

I would put my head on the chopping board to say the present feel of a japanese car is very much different from an european car.

This does not include crysler, dodge and jeep. Crysler is really plain american trash, which is even worse than some japanese 1.6L cars. This includes the 300c and the crossfire.

Maybe you had a bad experience bro, but i have tried my friend's Chrysler SRT8 and it is really a monster sedan capable of so much power. The 300C is good too, really value for money, great engine (3.5l V6) and it felt really good at high speeds. On the road, felt like a road bully, hehe... real road presence. None of that sissy cab-forward, front wheel drive sh1t. I guess I'm more the "American" cars type of person. Dodge and Jeep are part of the Chrysler group. Maybe I should drive a bus.

True, if you are looking for fuel savings, low cost maintenance and reliability, get a Jap. It will never fail you. Why do you think so many unkle and aunty love Toyota. However there are many out there who are looking for something else in their rides, not just a bread and butter reliable car. Like some of us love those decent reliable women, stay at home housewife who look after our house and kids. Others prefer the super flirty and sociable type who needs to go out every day.

Well, it depends.

I could still c quite a number of Mercedes W124 on the road. These ka could hav been > 15 yrs. In addition, i think i hav seen at least 3 unit of BMW E38 7 series on the road. These 3 E38 is in mint condition.

I never said I didn't believe you. Can you answer the questions I posed to you? Was MM's car bought by himself or given? Also when did this turned into an affordability issue?

All along I'm talking abt the experience of driving a conti as opposed to a Jap car, not reliability nor afforadability. And before you start straying from the point I stated here, I drove a few Jap cars before getting a conti.

Unless you are that person you can never be 100% sure, can you? I remember it was vaguagely reported that the fam buying including a jap mpv. It has to follow certain protocol and I dont think given is the appropriate one. Btw, do u think he has any problem to buy any car he want?

Can you also answer why after conti wouldnt switch?

May I know what jap cars did u drive and what conti u drive now?

Which one do you think gives better driving experience, a Boxster or Nissan GTR?

Dude, seems to me you arguing for the sake of arguing.

People already say it is not affordability issue.

Let me answer the questions you asked Asd78 since i second his general statement and understand what he is talking about. (something you have obviously taken offence of)

After my first Conti (BMW) I havent switched to Japs.

Why? Becos I like the heavier feel and the quality of the materials.

I like the prestige that comes with it. I can afford it.

I have driven Mazda, Honda, Toyota, Rover before my switch to BMW and Volvo.

Now I'm driving an E60 525i

To me the lower range Porsche, Boxster S (987) gives a better driving experience than the highest range of Nissan , the GTR. So what right? becos another person would prefer the GTR over the Boxster for his reasons. But why compare the lowest of Porsche with the highest of Nissan since affordability is not the topic.

Bottomline for me:

If someone die die go buy conti even if he cannot afford, then I'm sorry for him

If someone die die go buy jap even if he cannot afford, then i'm sorry for him

If someone prefers conti and chooses to buy it over a Jap, no issue

If someone prefers Jap and chooses to buy it over Conti, no issue

If someone hits a bad patch in life and from Conti or Jap become carless, no issue

If someone doesnt drive a conti or Jap or any car, no issue

Whats your REAL issue here? That, the moment people choose anything above the basic, he is a showoff? That we must all drive the plainest car to prove that we are humble?

Or that all Conti car drivers actually have less money than Jap car drivers becos they take big loans to buy Contis?

Tell me, I really dont get your point until now.

[dizzy]

p.s. it's a sweeping statement becos you got offended and think that he was putting down Japs and becos you drive a Jap, you buay tahan , right?

to me , it's just Asd78 expressing his preference for Contis over Japs and that he would choose the former as long as he can afford it.

Very simple.

Edited by Throttle2

Ok, this will be the last time I reply u unless u have something more constructive to discourse. Firstly, I have owned accord, corolla, lancer and astra and test drove numerous cars in the market. I still stand by my conclusion, conti make feels better to drive.

Secondly, for the MM's issue. He can buy any cars but instead choose to be driven in a Jap make. So, the crux is did he 'buy' the Jap make because it is better or was he given the Jap make? And you never did say what this Jap make is but I guess it should be Lexus?

If I were gifted a Jap make, of course I would not go and buy a conti.

Thirdly to ans your question, I have never driven the boxster nor the GTR b4 so I wouldn't know. But if someone were to make a gift of either car to me, I would choose the Boxster.

Lastly, go and buy whatever you feel is good in your context and drive with no regrets.

Edited by Asd78

Dont mention Dude, I was simply presenting my thoughts thats all.

Also for the same simple reason why the last casio I owned was about 30 yrs ago.

Not to be mistaken for an issue of time keeping accuracy.

Dude, you are very much mistaken. I have not taken any offence and actually I agree with your 6 bottomlines [laugh]

Since you ask, the point is simple. Why the advice after conti couldnt switch? Is that based on merit and rational or based on feeling? Bear in mind this in relation to thread starter question based on advice on confidence and trouble free operation. Hence my reply on cost and reliabity issue.

Comparing Nissan GTR to Boxter is within the same price range and of sport car category. If you say Boxster is better than I guess those conti established reviewer must be stupid to say GTR is a very good car

PS: what if i tell you I also have a good conti for official duty and no issue to buy and also have a good jap as I acknowledge the merit? [;)]