Help: Heel spur treatment

Albeniz

Dear all,

Looks like age has really caught up with me.

Have been bugged by heel pain for close to a year. Consulted a Chinese physician and he told me it's heel spur (骨刺).

Went for a few sessions of bone setting (推拿)and there was quite a significant improvement initially. But after a while, the treatment seems to have reached a saturation where I can't get any further improvements. I could still feel the residual pain, especially after a walk.

Has anyone here encountered a similar problem, is there any treatment I could seek?

唉...不认老都不行了.

Shoes are alright and I wore slippers and sandals too.

Has anyone here tried 马光中医? Any comments about this TCM?

Will acupuncture help?

acupunture doesn't work for this, tried. ma kuang is also more ex and not very effective i feel. the most useful jab is a steriod jab to the affected area, but it is very very painful.

I used to have the same problem as you in my left foot.

First, I change my business shoe to DR. Martin cos it offer cushion on my heel as I walk a lot.

By the way, I weigh around 90 kg. So a good pair of shoe is very important. Invest in a pair which have air cushion and cost more than 100.

Second I went to weekly foot relexology which the guy help me to push and smoothe the pain. After about constant 2 months visit and shoe change, it has been resolved.

Cheers.

This condition is called Plantar Fasciitis. I got it before and take months to heal.. and and I have even visted an orthopaedic surgeon before. Dun waste $$ on seeing a doctor.

Doctor's advice given to me which I found it useful:

1) Do lots of stretching exercise. Visit http://health.yahoo.com/musculoskeletal-tr...se--tr5853.html.

2) Reduce your weight.

3) Most importantly is to wear shoes with good in soles.. dun wear slippers even for a short walk around neighbourhood. The doctor may advise you to custom make a pair of in soles that fits you and that is not cheap, I did not try that.

Edited by Pizza88

I had this bone spur problem years ago. When I got off the bed, the moment my foot touched the floor, I felt pain. After I had the foot x-ray, it was diagnosed as bone spur.

I visited a TCM clinic in AMK where they used a tool to 'smash' the spur into tiny fragments. I also sought acupunture and after a recommendation I visited one at Rochor. Eventually the problem disappeared.

I had this bone spur problem years ago. When I got off the bed, the moment my foot touched the floor, I felt pain. After I had the foot x-ray, it was diagnosed as bone spur.

I visited a TCM clinic in AMK where they used a tool to 'smash' the spur into tiny fragments. I also sought acupunture and after a recommendation I visited one at Rochor. Eventually the problem disappeared.

David... you have correctly described my symptoms. I feel a sharp pain in the morning, especially when just getting out of bed.

I went to a Chinese physician for bone-setting and he tried to rub away the spur with his bare hands. I am interested to try the spur-smashing tool in AMK. Would appreciate if you could kindly PM me the location.

I tried one session of acupuncture at Ma Guang and it alleviates the pain for that moment. The pain came back when I reached home.

From the Chinese physician point of view, some said it is a sign of weakening kidneys. [sweatdrop] But 3 physicians I sought told me 3 different opinions and I don't know who to trust. [confused]

acupunture doesn't work for this, tried. ma kuang is also more ex and not very effective i feel. the most useful jab is a steriod jab to the affected area, but it is very very painful.

Just tried acupuncture at Ma Guang. Consultation fee was $12. 45 minutes of acupuncture was $20 and 2 packets of plasters cost ~$12. Total fee I paid for the 45-minute session was ~$45. [sweatdrop]

Pain reduced during the acupuncture but returned when I arrived home.

I try to refrain from going for a steriod jab as I am quite sure it has some side-effects.

PS: Can Lala81 please come in to give some comments too?

Thanks Pizza88. Will try to invest in a good pair of shoes.

Looks like I have to stop my regular walks at Orchard for the time-being.

Second I went to weekly foot relexology which the guy help me to push and smoothe the pain. After about constant 2 months visit and shoe change, it has been resolved.

I have been going for weekly foot reflexology over the last 2 months.

Looks like I have to cut down on my walk for the time-being to enjoy its benefits.

For the spur-smashing treatment - I can't remembered the name of the shop but I will go there and find out. I do remembered how to go there.

The address is BlK 422, AMK St 42. The shop is just about a 1 or 2 shop away from Phoon Huat(selling baking needs). The treatment I recieved there is -they used a wooden tool to knock and rub hard at the feet. How the bits of the bone discharge from the body? Through urination. So you need to drink lots of water.

If I also remembered well, bring your X-ray along for them to see.

For the accupunture, I will check out the name and location at Rochor.

I also got the same problem. My doc diagnosed that all the years of jumping around wearing boots carrying fullpack, with little cushion to the feet during army daze, contributed to this problem. That's why lots of NSmen in their later life get this problem.

Also contributing are the increased body mass of reservists! [:p]

ANyway, my doctor explained the various treatments as described in the posts above and also a cheap and quick fix as an alternative.

What's that?? Simple - just go to any sports goods shop and buy a pair of gel heel soles for your shoes. About $10-20 only.

You can use them with all your shoes. I have been using these for the past 3 years since I first went to the doc, and I don't feel the pain anymore! Of course may need to continue to wear these gel soles for a long time - but it's ok, as actually its quite comfortable to walk with this cushion anyway. I should have bought them during NStime if they existed at the time! [nod]

Rising Sun Reflexology Therapy

BlK 422, #01-2528

Ang Mo Kio Ave 3

Tel 64586388

Its listed address is AMK Ave 3 but the entrance of the carpark is on St 42. You can go via AMK Ave 3 or Ave 8.

Sorry to dig out an old thread.

My FIL in his 70's is having pain at his ankle, flat foot. I am not sure if he is suffering from Plantar Fasciitis or Osteoporosis or ??. He is diabetic. His older brother have brought him to Chung Hwa Free Clinic where the TCM physician said acupuncture won't help. His son-in-law have brought him to TTSH where I am not sure bone density test was carried out or any x-ray being done. Currently, he is overseas but my FIL wanted us to bring him see a specialist asap.

Thus, I would appreciate if someone can recommend me a specialist (who is ethical & charges reasonably). TIA

My condition is currently under control and I cannot feel the spur pain now.

I tried the combinations listed in this thread, all at the same time. So it could be a combination of the treatments added together.

1. Weekly foot reflexology (until today)

2. Rising Sun Reflexology Therapy at AMK.

3. Chinese medical hall at Blk 603, Clementi West St 1, #01-35.

4. Chao Kang at Bukit Timah Shopping Center level 1 (look for Physician Yang, he is good at bone setting. The treatment duration at each session is very short but effective, many who equate fee charged to duration of treatment may find it relatively expensive). I used to have a back pain too, physio-therapy at hospital didn't help (over 1 year) and I went to him and got the problem solved after 2 sessions only. When it comes to bone-settings, his treatments worked for me, but my mother didn't find his treatment as effective. For me, I also went to him for the heel spur treatment. I remember his shop is not open on Wednesday and closes at about 6pm daily.

5. I stopped wearing business shoes which gave me the spur problem and changed to Reebok shoes and added the thick in-soles support.

-----------------------------------

I crossed Ma guang out for my treatment. Not too effective in my opinion.

Do practise extra care as your FIL is diabetic. Better to inform the doctor/physician before they proceed with any treatments.

Is Heel spur same as plantar faciitis?

I have been going for regular foot reflexology regularly to ease the pain.

Mine is like the dull ache being describe. Can even feel the small lump at the part. Was told surgery may not work effectively too.