Singapore Armed Forces to introduce new combat uniform in 2009

Brock

Juz got to accept it whether sexy or not. Its for nation cause. Gove won't relent juz becos wifey find it not sexy [hur][hur][hur] its human nature that we are resistant to changes. overtime we get used to it [nod][nod][nod]

I think most of the comments in this thread miss the main point of this new No 4.

It's suppose to conceal the soldier better in a jungle environment, not for some fashion show.

So what if it looks ugly, if it works to save your ass then it's a good change.

Looking at the demo pix release, it does it job well.

I think u are watching too many war movies of the 60s 70s and 80s...

can call me complacent, but wat r the chances of us going to war... so we the men here will have to suffer by wearing this ridiculous outfit on the train, bus n streets when we go back for reservist. damn...

another point is... even if war breaks out, u think like wwII fight in the jungle ah, freaking we'll be fighting FIBUA lah. plus by the time enemy can infiltrate into our land s'pore is gone already!

they claim the new uniform hides the soldier better... wtf? can turn us into a chameleon like the Predator ah laugh.gif as far as i know i can move pretty "invisibly" in the jungle during my army time with my old uniform on. i'm saying hiding in the bushes with "enemy" less than 3m away cannot see me. btw i'm in recce.

my conclusion, the original uniform is good enough, granted the new uniform might be slightly better camouflaged it's a total waste a tax payers money to "upgrade" the entire army's uniform into something so ugly somemore

I think u hv been watching too many movies of the 90s ... although many battles are fought in BUA, the key thing is to overcome the advance sensor technologies ... no more sticking CB leaves on your helmet or simply hiding behind trees or bushes ... most battles will be fought at night where your night vision equipment will come into play ... the new uniform has the capability to distort the wavelengths, hence harder detection ...

Whether we go to war or not is immaterial ... no one wants that to happen ... our strategy has always been deterrence which also means being in the forefront of technology ... you can never put a price on that ...

I think u hv been watching too many movies of the 90s ... although many battles are fought in BUA, the key thing is to overcome the advance sensor technologies ... no more sticking CB leaves on your helmet or simply hiding behind trees or bushes ... most battles will be fought at night where your night vision equipment will come into play ... the new uniform has the capability to distort the wavelengths, hence harder detection ...

Whether we go to war or not is immaterial ... no one wants that to happen ... our strategy has always been deterrence which also means being in the forefront of technology ... you can never put a price on that ...

as i mentioned, i have my doubts abt how MUCH better it is... i'm not denying that the technology works but what i'm saying is it it worth the money in terms of bang for buck... anyways as u say if u talking abt night vision equipment, we not only talking abt NVG but also infra binos leh, wat kinda of stylo milo pattern also no use unless it is aircon n don't rediate heat lor.

plus the uniform is just one thing leh, u have the rifle, sbo, fbo, helmet, etc that will add to the shape, color, silhouette... so will changing the uniform really make a big difference at all, that's my doubt.

lastly it's the color that is damn off lah... bright slimy green... i'm sure they can do better with the color scheme.

I have to agree that the new uniform does look like shiit... [laugh] Anyway i can't be bothered about how it looks becos i am not those who like to wear the no.4 to shopping.

But if it can save my arse in war, i don't mind.

The more its looks like shiit the better you are camouflaged [:p]

If soldiers look like shiit, smell like shiit and taste like shiit, then the enemy won't even know they're there! [laugh]

Edited by Roborovskii

This uniform reduces a soldier's IR signature. This is enough to be a life saver in modern warfare.