Albeniz Turbocharged September 2, 2008 Share September 2, 2008 Was watching the Channel U news a few minutes ago. There is a tour agency in Chinatown who cheated customers by receiving cash but issued fake air-tickets. The customers only managed to discover this fraud when they were at the airport. Besides losing the money, some customers have left their passports with the lady boss. Apparently, this China-national lady boss has fled back to China with the money, leaving the husband in Singapore to take the rap. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear September 2, 2008 Share September 2, 2008 good.. pls arrange her for an interview next year, we need to recruit her for the marathon in london orhlimpig Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeff49er Clutched September 2, 2008 Share September 2, 2008 This is what foreign talent bring - the art of deceit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged September 2, 2008 Author Share September 2, 2008 (edited) According to the news, many of her customers were from China. They trusted her as she was from their homeland. Very disappointed to see such unscrupulous cheats preying on helpless fellow country folks in a foreign land. They are supposed to help each other. Edited September 2, 2008 by Albeniz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroom_007 Neutral Newbie September 2, 2008 Share September 2, 2008 Bad experience with Travel Agent at People's Park Centre.. The travel agency is one A__le Holidays located at People's Park Centre and the manager is one Mr B. Two weeks I went to the said agency to enquire about the tour package for two pax to Koh Samui. The manager who attended to me then recommened Nora Hotel, however I told him that I want a hotel with more ammenties and 'beach resort' kind of hotel. I then requested for 'Nova Samui' resort and he then showed me the resort's website on his computer. After browsing the said resort website, I then told him that I liked the Nova Samui resort and to proceed with the booking. After I paid the the deposit and signed the documents, I left without checking the documents. Few days later one of the agency's staff called me to proceed down to their agency to make full payment. After I make the full payment the manager then told me that he will email the e-tickets and the hotel voucher to me. i then signed the acknowledgement receipt for my payment. Little did i know that i had actually signed for a different hotel, namely Nora Chaweng Hotel, than the one i had requested, quoted and assumed i had paid for. i guess the mistake that i had made was to sign without reading the acknowledgement slip. i had trusted Mr B to make the necessary arrangements for me. But i guess trust was an issue at the agency or does not exist at all in the company's policy. Imagine our disappointment upon our arrival at the hotel to see that the hotel resemble at best one of the notorious Hotel 81 or Fragrance Hotel that u can rampantly find here in Singapore. we decided to explore the hotel more before blowing our top. and horror of horror, what we see is what we are actualy getting. small 4 storey hotel which is dusty(due to the recent opening and post renovation), with no room service(we arrived at 10pm and thus were hungry and tired), a dirty pool due to the nearby spa which is still undergoing construction. this was far from the "resort style holiday" dat we were anticipating for weeks. So upon returning to Singapore i went back to the agency to seek for an explanation. No explanation, no apology, in turn we were showed an arrogant attitude and a refusal for a refund of the difference in price. we were even asked to seek redress from a "higher authority". the manager who had made the booking for us admitted in the mistake but just blamed it on "human error". what's worse they kept on harping on "customer service" but the manager, whom we later found out was the "owner" of the said agency, showed little or no customer service at all. a total disgrace for someone in the tourism and hospitality industry. Word of caution for holiday makers, do book with NATAS and CASE TRUST agencies to avoid disappointment during your stay. FYI: the price difference in the 2 hotels were approximately $120++ per pax Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limhm Neutral Newbie September 2, 2008 Share September 2, 2008 This is what foreign talent bring - the art of deceit Ya man...Yday I was jus saying tt I had no gd impression of PRCs in every way...I m right lor...She even cheated her own PRCs...Retribution for PRCs... But poor S'poreans... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vooth 2nd Gear September 2, 2008 Share September 2, 2008 There are black sheeps everywhere, locals and FTs included so no need to discriminate.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged September 2, 2008 Share September 2, 2008 i dont think is fake ticket. Most likely their air-ticket already void (or cancelled) by their supplier when they did not make the payment. Fly International Travel Pte Ltd Address: 101 Up Cross St #B1-17L People's Pk Centre Singapore 058357 Telephone: 6438 5900 Fax: 6536 0882 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limhm Neutral Newbie September 2, 2008 Share September 2, 2008 It's not abt discrimination...Anyway, since young till now I had no gd impression of them...this will nvr change in me...Maybe it's oso becos my workpl got too many of them. "Highly educated" ones somemore, all wif PHDs...N sorry lor, I jus dun like them. IMO. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohdj Neutral Newbie September 2, 2008 Share September 2, 2008 u working in astar? tell u a funny event... many years ago....a FT Phd guy bought a jaybee version of a software. installed it in office computer and it didn't work. so he called the LOCAL AGENT for help. The local agent came down saw the software...and sent a letter of demand to the top! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Husky Clutched September 2, 2008 Share September 2, 2008 Wao raoz... win liaoz If I were the local agent, I would give him a long piece of my mind and then go ya kun to drink a glass of barley and cool off. Will be super pissed!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limhm Neutral Newbie September 2, 2008 Share September 2, 2008 U so clever!!! Somewhere there...My pl even more FTs. Hahaha...he damn 2pig!!! Wat a FT to be employed by S'pore! My version... A PRC FT phd woman was speaking in chinese to me tt she wan to get an item to do her research...I was v young then, trying to help...She kept saying," wo yao Bo2 Zhi3." Dun understand wat's bo zhi. So ask her if she knows in English...she got angry n said," Bo Zhi, u oso dun noe. It's so difficult to communicate wif u." Then she stormed away. I was frustrated n angry too...in s'pore, all our subjects r taught in english...n in life science/chemical names, who will learn them in Chinese...I din noe how to talk bk then. I told my boss, a full professor abt tis incident...she said," If u encounter such pp again, tell them to talk to u in English...If they cant, ask their lab pp to explain in english. If still cant, tell them to return to their own country." My boss was super supportive . Aft tis incident, I did wat she said...she's my "leaning mountain" n a v influential prof...I had told many PRCs off if they r rude to me. N the ans for "Bo2 Zhi3" is aluminium foil. N who cares...she had to tell me it's aluminium foil in English then I will help her lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limhm Neutral Newbie September 2, 2008 Share September 2, 2008 Ya lor...there's no medicine for being 2pig lor. Kekeke. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear September 2, 2008 Share September 2, 2008 Tis is funny... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear September 2, 2008 Share September 2, 2008 Quote There are black sheeps everywhere, locals and FTs included so no need to discriminate.... The word "black" itself is discriminatory liao.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeff49er Clutched September 2, 2008 Share September 2, 2008 Quote This is what foreign talent bring - the art of deceit Ya man...Yday I was jus saying tt I had no gd impression of PRCs in every way...I m right lor...She even cheated her own PRCs...Retribution for PRCs... But poor S'poreans... She can run back to China and get "lost" among the billions. Over in Sg, no one is safe hiding. Er ask Mas Selamat, he would know the best Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged September 3, 2008 Share September 3, 2008 Quote This is what foreign talent bring - the art of deceit Ya man...Yday I was jus saying tt I had no gd impression of PRCs in every way...I m right lor...She even cheated her own PRCs...Retribution for PRCs... But poor S'poreans... u mean in chnagi jail, no local rapist? no local murderer? ... umm... durai a local or not huh???..... ..i can only use one word on your opinions about prc..--> extremist... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged September 3, 2008 Share September 3, 2008 Don't be so opinionated. There are good and bad people from every country, every race, every culture. The world is getting smaller. Your attitude is not going to help in the future. You may have met in your course of work, FTs, you do not see eye to eye with due to cultural differences. But a little tolerance and understanding go a long way. Don't tell me all the locals you have met are genuinely nice friendly people? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...