Albeniz Turbocharged September 2, 2008 Share September 2, 2008 Dear Starlet folks, Would like to find out from you guys if you have tried using thinner engine oil on older engines. If you have used a thinner oil, did you experience a significant improvement in FC? Have you experienced any bad side effects when you use e.g. 5W30 compared to the thicker 5W40? Thanks for sharing. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear September 2, 2008 Share September 2, 2008 It mostly depends on what condition is your "old" engine. Mine 196k km Honda engine still can use w20 oil without any oil consumption. Fc is abt 0.5km/l better than w30 and abt 1+km/l or more compare to w40 oil. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kazuo Neutral Newbie September 2, 2008 Share September 2, 2008 mine 400k km leh... can or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear September 2, 2008 Share September 2, 2008 i'm using 5W30 mineral. very slight decrease in FC. about 5-10% better. nothing to shout about. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeronleow Neutral Newbie September 2, 2008 Share September 2, 2008 I have the same ques oso. I thought of changing to W30 and Robo even recommended me Redline full syn but my mech says that my con rod bearing already going soon so if I use anything thinner my engine will damage. I am currently running on W50 consumption is about +-11km/L. Siong man! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear September 3, 2008 Share September 3, 2008 we don't need any syn oil... that's what i thought initially. but after research on BITOG and speaking to experts, it does seem that the key is to change oil and filter regularly. harsh driving conditions, change more often. synth oil may cause more problems because it has cleaning agents that can wash off carbon deposits that are actually stopping the leaks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged September 3, 2008 Author Share September 3, 2008 synth oil may cause more problems because it has cleaning agents that can wash off carbon deposits that are actually stopping the leaks! This is true. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear September 3, 2008 Share September 3, 2008 This is a wrong notion, you are masking a problem with another problem. Why would you choose a oil with less cleaning agent instead of superior cleaning properties. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear September 3, 2008 Share September 3, 2008 it's not a wrong notion - unless you sell synthetic oils. because we are driving engines that have seen 200-300k service. and chances are previous owners did not take very good care of the engines. and we do not want to fix anything that ain't broken - not for the next 3 years at least (when COE runs out). why knock on trouble's door when trouble doesn't want to look for you? that said, i'm a firm believer in synthetic oil, especially for newer cars. on earlier cars that i owned with less than 60,000 miles, i only used Grp IV PAOs. but for our application here (Toyota Starlets), i do not think synthetics are necessary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeronleow Neutral Newbie September 3, 2008 Share September 3, 2008 Hmmm but abit tempted to try Redline but now hearing that I abit scared. I remember I read from another source that the best oil for Starlet is 10W30. Can I use it in my situation where my con rod bearing knocking inside my engine. Yesterday I realised my water pipe oso leaking and my reservoir is totally empty. Problems after problems... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 3, 2008 Share September 3, 2008 Because they're going to scrap the car soon bro. It doesn't make economical sense. If they were going to keep the car for even 10 years, they would prolly fix up all the problems and use a high grade engine oil. I kinda regret fixing up both of my last two cars properly before selling them. At least it didn't cost me that much as I did much of it myself. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeronleow Neutral Newbie September 3, 2008 Share September 3, 2008 Bro I gotta say actually most of the guys I personally know here are planning to renew their COE, including myself Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 4, 2008 Share September 4, 2008 If thats the case then I think you guys should approach a reliable mechanic to get this done together (for a discount of course). 1) Get the engine compression or leak-down tested to have a rough idea on the state of the piston rings. Change only if necessary. 2) Change the front main, rear main, front cam and rear cam seals. 3) Change the oil pump. 4) If auto, change the gearbox filter. 5) After these run with a 30wt oil. You'll think you're driving a brand new car! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgpauto Neutral Newbie September 4, 2008 Share September 4, 2008 Was not driving a Starlet but did not have any problems at all using thin oil on my old car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear September 5, 2008 Share September 5, 2008 sounds like a complete rebuild! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Trex101 3rd Gear September 5, 2008 Share September 5, 2008 it's not a wrong notion - unless you sell synthetic oils. because we are driving engines that have seen 200-300k service. and chances are previous owners did not take very good care of the engines. and we do not want to fix anything that ain't broken - not for the next 3 years at least (when COE runs out). why knock on trouble's door when trouble doesn't want to look for you? that said, i'm a firm believer in synthetic oil, especially for newer cars. on earlier cars that i owned with less than 60,000 miles, i only used Grp IV PAOs. but for our application here (Toyota Starlets), i do not think synthetics are necessary. If that's the case, i would suggest you buy those 15w40 diesel engine oil by the pail. 20L for like $35-40. These type of oil, value for money and is best suited for your application. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear September 5, 2008 Share September 5, 2008 Not yet More can be done for a full rebuild. But those won't cost too much unless the rings need to be changed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear September 5, 2008 Share September 5, 2008 these lao pok kars can be renewed as now paper can exchange for $$. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...