Wah, so many opc cheat every month

Booboon

my estate, this is a Malay Wish driver who always drives her car around 9am to nearby shopping centre. About 600m away. Also did not display any coupon.

Like that sure 1 day get caught and then KPKB.

Call LTA. Only when they send send their man ambush his car sure catch if not how LTA know who to catch? So short distance very safe one.

[rolleyes] i just realise something...LTA released figures of OPC cars, there's 33000 of them in 2007!

http://www.lta.gov.sg/corp_info/doc/MVP01-...type%202007.pdf

I seriously believe out of the 33000 OPC, at least 5% will cheat. Thats 1500+ vehicles travelling on the roads...And only how many kenna caught? 110? Thats pathetic...the other 1390 must be laughing their heads out!

33000 is a big number, imagine how they have contribute towards congested road everyday but cheating you and me.

Call LTA I think Mr. Tan is incharged the last time I informed them of the OPC car moving around with tampered coupon.

[rolleyes] i just realise something...LTA released figures of OPC cars, there's 33000 of them in 2007!

http://www.lta.gov.sg/corp_info/doc/MVP01-...type%202007.pdf

I seriously believe out of the 33000 OPC, at least 5% will cheat. Thats 1500+ vehicles travelling on the roads...And only how many kenna caught? 110? Thats pathetic...the other 1390 must be laughing their heads out!

a bit sweeping statement hor?

To all,

You can do anything you want but don't get caught. Don't tell me no one here ever cheated parking coupon, drove higher than speed limit, didn't signal while changing lane? Come on la... We are not saints so don't criticise others.

Live and let live. If they want to risk, let them be. They are the ones facing the consequences if they were caught. If one feels short changed, then join them by buying opc and cheats.

honestly, to drive during restricted hours (knowing very well the consequences) require balls of steel.

Reply in general:

they take the risk, they'r ready to face the music. tat's it. as simple as that.

I agree with you. I myself did things "illegal" like speeding before. In the eyes of law, speeding is illegal, but i still do it because if i'm caught, i'll pay the fine.

does that mean that if i speed at say 120km/hr, MCF critics will quickly call the TP and simultaneously record a video of my speed?

u guys won't.

why aim OPC then?

cos they benefited something u guys don't. the 17k savings + road tax rebate.

tat's where the seeds of "jealously" and "envy" are sown.

Think about it.

Edited by Friendstar

I feel it's ok to report cheats instead of closing eyes in a "live and let live" manner. But then coming to forum and simply b*tching abt it is just so so lame.

In all objective sense, speeding poses a higher public safety risk than driving OPC without coupons. laugh.gif People who have time on hand should be video-taping speedster instead. But we all know envy is a stronger motivator than risk. sly.gif

It is not jealously or envy. Why an OPC cheat usage is same as per normal plate yet pay lesser + road tax? This is not fair.

yes yes ... it's not jeelousy or envy... it's the 'sense of justice' right?! [sly]

Honestly speaking, does anyone of us here have a 'sense of jusice' to

1. report parking coupon cheats?

2. report speeding cheats?

3. report illegal parking cheats?

Are any of those situations above "fair" to the average law abiding car owner?

So what makes OPC cheats so special?... ahh... $17K [idea]

That means that the core unhappiness here is: "bloody hell!! This clown already got to own a car for so much cheaper liow still wanna cheat!!... wtf *take out handphone/camera*"

So... just how much of a 'sense of justice' are we talking about here?

I'm not 'bashing' those who want to report OPC cheats, but lets also recongise what's the motivation for what it is and not try to glorify it ok?

If it's any consolation: if/when OPC cheats are caught, it definitely can negate that $17K savings liow. [laugh]

Edited by Scoots

Honestly, I do feel it is unfair for OPC to be implemented and misused.

I have seen countless OPCs on the roads when they were not supposed to. Furthermore, they occupy precious residential parking spaces just for some rare occasions when they need to send friends home or go shopping.

I have also seen FT in OPC sending husband to work at 8.30 am on a Tuesday morning.

In addition, I have also witness a few incidents where OPCs performed road hogs, illegal U-Turns, driving in excess of speed limits, etc.

I would like to own an OPC as a second car but under such circumstances, I would rather defer and monitor.

Edited by Caparo

Honestly, I do feel it is unfair for OPC to be implemented and misused.

Agree

I have seen countless OPCs on the roads when they were not supposed to.

Am I correct to say that you have verified that all these "countless OPCs on the roads" do not have a valid coupon?

Furthermore, they occupy precious residential parking spaces just for some rare occasions when they need to send friends home or go shopping.

Are you implying that it's wrong for OPCs to be parked?? Or that the above scenerio is a 'crime' that only normal plate cars can perform? (actually what IS the problem with parking/occasional use.... etc)

I have also seen FT in OPC sending husband to work at 8.30 am on a Tuesday morning.

Same question: with or without valid coupon?

In addition, I have also witness a few incidents where OPCs performed road hogs, illegal U-Turns, driving in excess of speed limits, etc.

Err... strange. All these that you have mentioned are not traits of OPC only leh. There also bikes, cyclists.. and yes, normal plate cars too. Surprised?

If you know they are without a valid coupons, they are called OPC cheats. Your blanket usage of the term 'OPC' and the kind of arguments you put forward shows that you are already prejudiced towards OPC [shakehead]

Edited by Scoots

I would say is jealousy.

You see... some people buy 'monster' vehicles - OPC and drive during the night/weekend/ph, and they tends to be so damn ya ya.

Whenever i see OPC 'Monster' vehicles, i will look down on them.

Oh come on, -$17, whats the big deal, afterall, is a discounted vehicle.

Then somehow, i feel that i am jealous la.

I also can buy OPC but i dont want the coupon to restricts my transport.

To be fair to everyone who pay the actual amount, TP should put in more efforts to issue summon, or rather fine them jia lat jia lat.

If government can banned smoking at most of the corners, why they cant corners OPC vehicles?

They should implement digital payment and detection. Once OPC owner paid the day coupon through digital form, and detect they are driving on the road, then nothing will happen.

On the other hand, if they did not pay, and the detection detected the OPC on the road moving, instantly fine them jialat jialat.

keke

I am more annoyed with people that have no brains when parking illegally. Small narrow road still want to park at the side and expect people to squeeze pass you for your convinence? [hur]

As for OPC, just let them be, it's their own decision. Not all OPC drivers are like that.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have seen countless OPCs on the roads when they were not supposed to.

Am I correct to say that you have verified that all these "countless OPCs on the roads" do not have a valid coupon?

I do not see any coloured coupons on the screens

Furthermore, they occupy precious residential parking spaces just for some rare occasions when they need to send friends home or go shopping.

Are you implying that it's wrong for OPCs to be parked?? Or that the above scenerio is a 'crime' that only normal plate cars can perform? (actually what IS the problem with parking/occasional use.... etc)

My point is for the Government to remove OPC totally, if one does not have the means and needs to own a car then one should just forget about owning car in Singapore.

I am not a rich but I made calculations and amendments before owning a proper car since 12 years ago.

Without OPC, insurance premiums MAY come down (most unlikely). Roads MAY BE safer and less congested.

Same question: with or without valid coupon?

I waited to fetch my brother to work daily and I have seen them without the coupons in most occasions

Edited by Caparo